RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions on Bob Anderson's "Stretching"(9 posts)

Opinions on Bob Anderson's "Stretching"Free2Pedal
Jan 7, 2004 12:34 PM
This book was recommended to me and I picked it up. I think its a great book, but I'm having trouble with some of the stretches and I have some questions.

1. Passive stretching vs. active stretching

Over the past 3 years, I've been in physical therapy 3 times. Once for an ITBS knee problem and twice for neck and back pain. I was taught mostly passive stretches by my PT's and was told that they are safer to do than active stretches. 90% of the stretches in Bob's book are active stretches. Should I have any concerns about doing active stretches? What about when I've got an injury? I worry that an active stretch (which tightens some muscles while stretching others), might make an injured muscle worse.
Also, please post some we resourcesFree2Pedal
Jan 7, 2004 12:36 PM
A long time ago, someone posted a link to a great stretching website. I lost the link and couldn't find the site. If you have links to good stretching sites, please post them. I'd like to find a variety of stretches for the same muscles, since not every stretch in Bob's book is working for me.
www.howtostretch.com (nm)Alex-in-Evanston
Jan 7, 2004 12:56 PM
Also, please post some resourcesgiro_man
Jan 8, 2004 7:36 AM
I found http://www.netfit.co.uk/netfit.htm to be a comprehensive resource for stretching and workout exercises. The illustrations are helpful for self instruction particularly for a "newbie" like myself.
Used them a lot...worthless for me.peter in NVA
Jan 7, 2004 2:22 PM
Ran for 20 years and never could loosen up my running muscles. His book has been out more then 25 years. I believe stretching can't loosen tendons, and thats where most of my problems were. In fact, I think I did more injury stretching cold. Not till I switched to cycling did I find warming up for 15 minutes to be the key.
My main problem was ITBS and I never found a way to safely stretch that big long muscle. I never warmed up running, ...wished I had.
Whartonsgtx
Jan 7, 2004 2:52 PM
This method works for me (I guess you would call it "active"--it involves doing ten 2-second holds,
vs. the old slow burn method, which I always hated). Been using it for three years now and for the first time in 20 years of riding/running I don't feel the need to start slow/warm up and I have NO knee pain/twinges, etc. Hopefully they'll come out with a new edition with better illustrations. But basically my routine takes me 8 minutes before and after riding. I'm totally out of shape these days but honestly feel great riding (until I hit a hill that is...)

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0812926234
Whartonscollinsc
Jan 7, 2004 3:32 PM
I have that book, what is your routine?
Whartonsgtx
Jan 7, 2004 3:41 PM
I don't remember the numbers, but I picked out about eight stretches--all legs, definitely quads and hams. Does the trick for me. If you did all the ones they recommend for cycling it would probably take an hour. At the time I started my quads were super tight and my knees were driving me nuts--fixed me up pretty quick. It does take a while to get the hang of some of the stretches, and it does take 3 weeks like they said to get fully addicted and into the groove. I probably did 'em every day for two months and it made me a lot more limber. Now I only stretch before/after rides. It's great because you start your ride with your muscles already warm.
re: Opinions on Bob Anderson's "Stretching"ortman
Jan 8, 2004 9:27 AM
Anderson's book is fine for a basic stretching guide. The stretches are almost entirely passive, not active. Active stretching requires muscle contraction by the muscle group opposite the one you're trying to stretch. For example, to actively stretch your hamstrings (back of thigh) you can lie on your back, hold one leg perpendicular to the floor with both hands by grasping around the back of your thigh, and actively attempt to straighten your leg at the knee. Hold for a couple seconds and do 10x. As mentioned by a poster, a good way to warmup is to ride very easily for the first 10 min. or so of your ride. Also, stretching is best done when warm, after a ride or other activity. Good luck!
Oregon P.T.