RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


"Single in" Cow-girl Ad Inappropriate IMO(32 posts)

"Single in" Cow-girl Ad Inappropriate IMOpitt83
Jan 6, 2004 6:12 AM
OK, I'm not one to complain about ads, but the cow-girl ad is IMO inappropriate. I know that in my place of work such images aren't appreciated. I know better than to view these when I have a choice. In this case: I have no choice. The image is broadcast whether I choose it or not.

My choice then is to not read RBR while at work.

Doug: Tough job being administrator with a tough crowd like us. But, could another picture which is appropriate for the workplace be considered here? Or another advertiser? Probably beyond your control, but thanks for trying.
Or, quick slacking off at work. nmSpunout
Jan 6, 2004 6:19 AM
pink bikini, white hat, 5'7" & 120 lbs? didn't notice (nm)myette10
Jan 6, 2004 7:02 PM
Maybe Working @ Work is MORE appropriate than-->>ZenJones
Jan 6, 2004 6:22 AM
hanging out at RBR? That is, if your work climate and you are so easily offended.
If it makes everyone feel better....teoteoteo
Jan 6, 2004 6:44 AM
I never see Texas girls in Pink Binkini's and cowboy hats unless I pay a $20 cover and $5 a beer. They do always have funny names though like Savannah and Jasmine and it makes me wonder what happened to good old-fashioned names like Gertrude, Eunice, or Bessie. Just picture that bikini girl telling you her name is Gertrude but that her friends call her Gerty.....
I'm disappointed in you....Dave Hickey
Jan 6, 2004 6:52 AM
teoteoteo, shame on you for even going to those places! Buy the way, when you see "Lexus", tell her I said hi:-)
Ad Revisonteoteoteo
Jan 6, 2004 8:17 AM
Lexus eh? Never heard of her...really. Just for fun I revised ad a bit for the Postie fans out there.
THIS is the offensive add????biknben
Jan 6, 2004 8:34 AM
I didn't realize which add you guys were talking about till now. Good luck finding any site on the internet that
i isn't
offensive.
This is just run of the mill stuff.
That's not offensive...hackmechanic
Jan 6, 2004 9:12 AM
That image isn't nearly half as bad as any you'll see in a Women's fashion magazine telling her to shave this, excercise that, wear these, implant those, tuck them, inject that, just so your catty peers won't ostricise you for wearing shoes the wrong shade of red.

Any woman that finds it offensive should take comfort in the fact that is just shows how stupid men are that we fall for such superfluous advertising gimicks.
Gee. So sad. Maybe you should try WORKING AT WORK?nmKG 361
Jan 6, 2004 6:38 AM
Let's not offend anyone...ban all revenue ads and let this siteeschelon
Jan 6, 2004 6:45 AM
CLOSE DOWN SO THE PEOPLE WHO ARE SO SENSITIVE TO OFFENSIVE CONTENT WON'T GET SO UPSET.
Damn53T
Jan 6, 2004 6:57 AM
I'm in Mass, and I don't see any of these good ads. WTF?
Only available to guys with jobs.cyclingforwealth
Jan 6, 2004 12:50 PM
Why would they waste their time showing ads to the rest of us unemployed bums?
I agree. It's inappropriate for a cowgirl not to wear chaps nmmohair_chair
Jan 6, 2004 7:13 AM
I always like my Cowgirls to wear ChapStick (nm)ZenJones
Jan 6, 2004 7:22 AM
I always like my Cowgirls to use Chop Sticks ...huh???(nm)Frith
Jan 6, 2004 7:28 AM
COWGIRL HAIKUJS Haiku Shop
Jan 6, 2004 12:59 PM
yes she needs some chaps
what is wrong with you people?
love, longing, office

did you see the ad?
J, slumming on Non-Cycling
just to get a look

chapstick? what flavor?
cowgirls with chop sticks? sushi?
J, mind in gutter

village people wish
cowgirl, police woman, nurse
and that leather one

except they're all chicks
paging Spirito, my friend
are you behind this?

offended or not
something special can be said
bikini and hat
bravo!!!_rt_
Jan 6, 2004 1:36 PM
a wonderful post.
such ado about a girl -
she's just a picture.

rt
bravo!!!Frith
Jan 6, 2004 2:58 PM
a girl or a pic.
it is all the same to me
entertaining post!
You could always...PMC
Jan 6, 2004 7:21 AM
You could always disable pictures on your browser while surfing the web at work. It's really not a bad idea if you're worried about offending someone you sit near.

It's also more difficult in passing for your boss to see you're looking at bike stuff if your screen doesn't have bike adds flashing all over the place ;-)
what you guys talking about?landru
Jan 6, 2004 7:32 AM
and how come I don't see it? huh?
I've never seen it...DERICK
Jan 6, 2004 8:21 AM
and I visit here several times a day every day. could these adds be regional?
Even if I were offended, I wouldn't be offendedCory
Jan 6, 2004 8:40 AM
I can't find the disgusting ad in question (and I've LOOKED, too), but if I did, and if it were offensive to me, so what? Who am I that I shouldn't be offended? And why should I think my feelings were of general interest? If you don't like the ad, don't buy the product, but don't expect society to fix it for you.
How's THAT for libertarianism, Doug?
What cowgirl ad? If its a hot babe bring it on -nm-tmotz
Jan 6, 2004 9:05 AM
Are you a goverment worker????? nmthe bull
Jan 6, 2004 9:35 AM
Better not go over to the racing board...PseuZQ
Jan 6, 2004 10:04 AM
Otherwise you'll see a woman with a bare midriff admonishing you to see a doctor for your constipation.

(BTW, I see your point. I think my firewall is blocking the ad you referenced.)
It's just that someone else in my area is VERY sensitivepitt83
Jan 6, 2004 10:22 AM
She's a real stickler about this type of thing. She's also in a position to do me some career harm. So, I want to be very cautious not to offend. She wouldn't say anything, but she'd take a mental note and be sure to use it later.

Personally, I'd buy teoteoteo a beer or 2 and enjoy the show.
Geez, could we try a little harder to be offended...Giant_Tom
Jan 6, 2004 10:43 AM
I can't believe so many people go out of their way to be offended these days. It's a picture of a woman, not naked, it's not going to hurt you, it won't hurt your feelings. I wouldn't even remove that pic "for the children" it's so harmless.

Besides, you should be working, not surfing the internet!
Ha Ha - Anyone responding here needs to WORK!hrv
Jan 6, 2004 11:14 AM
Those responses re: maybe you should be working instead of posting -- too funny! Isn't that what 90% of us do here, post instead of work?

Yeah, if my boss/female co-workers saw some stuff like that over my shoulder I wouldn't feel comfortable either.

hrv
in a word - "money"gregg
Jan 6, 2004 12:29 PM
RBR needs the money and unfortunately, we aren't in a position to be too picky about who we take money from.

Compared to what we've had run on MtbREVIEW, the single cow-girl ads are quite tame. We've had one advertiser in particular, really push the limits.

If we could only get more bike industry advertisers, that's my beef. I don't mind animated gifs from Competitive Cyclist since they are at least bike related. And I'll take a Bike Tires Direct popup over classmates any day. But in the end, we need the money from all advertisers on our site.

-gregg, Site Manager

gkato@roadbikereview.com
oh, but the nip..._rt_
Jan 6, 2004 1:38 PM
i mean tree, ad for lights was such a conversation starter!

;-)

rt
Just looking for something to complain about?one_speed
Jan 6, 2004 2:49 PM
I can't understand how someone would find that offending. You see much worse on TV any night of the week. If you really find that "offending," you need to crawl out from under your rock.

No, I don't love the ad, seems pretty lame, but it's hardly like the woman is naked or even wearing a skimpy swim suit.

Have you ever seen yourself naked? What's the big deal?