RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


anyone want to buy a CF fork real cheap?!?(27 posts)

anyone want to buy a CF fork real cheap?!?Frith
Jan 3, 2004 12:49 PM
minor cosmetic blemishes... just kidding. I snapped this fork less than an hour ago. Thankfully I'm alright and so is most of the rest of the bike.
Let me start by saying it was completely my fault. I was starting from an intersection and was having trouble getting my cleat engaged (new pedals). My foot flung forard into the front wheel and the fork snapped intantly sending me flying.
What, if anything, should I expect from giant as far as warranty? I know this is user error but would a stronger fork have held up to something like that? It seemed to snap VERY easily. My foot is not the least bit sore and my front wheel is fine except for 1 bent spoke.
I've heard giant's crash replacement policies leave alot to be desired... i think i'm about to find out first hand.
boxing week blowout special!Frith
Jan 3, 2004 12:53 PM
here's another pic. both fork legs snapped instantly in slightly different places.
I'll even throw in a free spoke!!!Frith
Jan 3, 2004 12:58 PM
This is the extent of the damage to the wheel. Still almost perfectly true. Wouldn't you think a 2mm spoke would snap before a fork?
Interesting and a little scary. Glad you're ok, but that fork...rwbadley
Jan 3, 2004 2:13 PM
in my opinion should not have snapped so easily. Granted you may have come out of it with more damage to your foot... but I am certain this fork can be lumped into the 'scary light' category.

Let us know how the folks at Giant respond. I was considering a go at one of those tcr composites...now I'm not so sure.
JRA???Akirasho
Jan 3, 2004 1:06 PM
... that's amazing... looking at the photos, I'd expected a major encounter with an immovable object... it's amazing that you weren't hurt!

I have no idea on Giant's policy... I suspect that if you go through your LBS... it'd be much smoother.

Change your story and hope no one at Giant frequents these boards!

Be the bike.
re: anyone want to buy a CF fork real cheap?!?4bykn
Jan 3, 2004 1:21 PM
Forks, carbon or not, are not designed to resist impacts like that. Read your warranty and see what Giant says about crash replacement. I wouldn't be surprised if Giant (or any other bike manufacturer for that matter) would call this abuse and say "sorry."

Be thankful you weren't injured and sadly chalk this one up to experience. I'm sure also I don't need to tell you this, but replace the spoke immediately! After you get a new fork you don't want to be just riding along and have your front wheel disintegrate at 30mph.

Ride in Peace...Mike
... I was just thinking...Akirasho
Jan 3, 2004 1:37 PM
... and we all know how dangerous that can be... that Easton is running a special on their forks...

http://www.eastonbike.com/COMPONENTS/comp_forks.html

Bring in a fork... any fork, working or not for instant credit (credit varies per fork... but as you'd expect, the biggest "discount" is on the most expensive fork) towards a new Easton...

Be the bike.
Easton dealCritLover
Jan 3, 2004 1:46 PM
Is that deal still on? There was a link with info a few weeks ago, but now it's gone. I have a Time fork I'd like to trade in - easier than selling. Any info or experience on what kind of discount they offer?
... you're making me work!!!Akirasho
Jan 3, 2004 2:19 PM
... ok, this is from the fine print from their full page ad in the current issue of VeloNews Vol. 33 #1

THE FINE PRINT: Just take your old fork(working or not) into any participating dealer and get an instant credit of $100 toward an EC90 Aero or SLX fork, or $50 credit toward an EC90 SL fork. No rebate forms to fill out- instant credit is given at the register at the time of purchase/trade. EC90 forks come with 1" and 1 1/8" steerer tubes (except the SLX which only comes in 1 1/8"), 1" forks are for non-integrated head tubes, 1 1/8" forks are compatible with 1 1/8" integrated or 1 1/8" standard head sets. Weights shown are approximate. All forks come with 300mm steerer tubes.

... another addy...

http://www.veltecsports.com/forkitover3

The ad says that the offer is over on April 1, 2004

FWIW, they're saying that the EC90 SLX would cost $299 USD...

Be the bike.
trying to sell 300g CF fork to guy who just snapped one?cyclopathic
Jan 4, 2004 6:53 PM
yeah, you'd have to work.

BTW the reason Easton runs rebate they had issues with quality EC forks and got negative reviews.

Be the fork
would a steel fork in the same situation?colker1
Jan 4, 2004 7:13 AM
yes.. i have an agenda here.
oh yeah, it'll snap like toothpick toocyclopathic
Jan 4, 2004 6:56 PM
granted you'd have to dip it in liquid nitrogen and use sledge hammer :)
As a kid...divve
Jan 5, 2004 2:55 AM
....I've bent and broken probably almost a dozen steel forks. That was in the day when they had road bikes but no MTB yet:)

Steel isn't stronger as far as I can tell. It just fails differently and less catastrophically. My forks always began bending either at the lower crown/steerer level or right under the lugs where the prongs went in.
there's alsocyclopathic
Jan 5, 2004 8:18 AM
a question of longevity: two of my riding friends had CF fork desintegrate after 3-4 years of use. Granted they are not featherlights and ride loaded bikes on bad roads, about 40-60 centuries a year in addition to commute and some longer rides.

Steel forks = safer, plusher, heavier, more durable. Stronger? maybe
re: anyone want to buy a CF fork real cheap?!?Gripfer
Jan 3, 2004 1:49 PM
This one scares the #$%T out of me as I have that exact bike. IMHO that fork should not have snapped like that from that type of impact. If you were still trying to get into your pedal you couldn't have been going much more than 10 mph. Seems like you could break the fork over your knee if thats all it takes.
"Forks, carbon or not, are not designed to resist impacts like that" ?? Let's see, a soft object (foot) at low speed without enough force to break a single spoke snaps both legs of the fork. Seems that the two fork legs were weaker than one spoke. Try that with a steel or aluminum fork and see what you get.
Please let us know what Giant says about this. I may be dying to know.
I'll be sure to let everyone know what it says...Frith
Jan 3, 2004 1:59 PM
The more I think about it the more I start wondering if I'd be sitting here with a broken foot had it been a beefier fork? What if a branch were to fly up into your spokes at a decent speed? broken fork? broken neck?
The problem is when I present my case to giant they'll do what's in their best interest and say it was your fault and while this is true it doesn't address the real issue...Regardless of who's at fault should that fork have broken that easily???
The advantage of carbon is...TFerguson
Jan 3, 2004 3:57 PM
that it can be laid up to provide maximum strength in specific directions.

The disadvantage of carbon is the other directions.

TF
Thats why they lay carbon in a criss cross pattern.. duh! { NM }gspot
Jan 3, 2004 8:16 PM
re: anyone want to buy a CF fork real cheap?!?bsimone
Jan 3, 2004 8:46 PM
In my experience working at a shop in which we sell Giant, their warranty is excellent if the error is on their end. I do not see, however, how any manufacturer is responsible for consumer mishaps.

I ride the TCR Team Zero. The fork is full carbon and comes to about 314 grams with uncut steerer. I've put it down pretty hard a time or two, never had a problem. Good, reliable, and light bike (dependent on component selection of course).

Your best bet is to lie through your teeth and hope the bike shop you purchased it from buys your story. Good luck.
yeah my fork was unbelievably strong...Frith
Jan 3, 2004 9:29 PM
until it shattered. Comfortable with that?
The fork on the 'zero' is the same as the fork on my 'one'. I'll have mine replaced (either trough my wallet or giant's)and there isn't anything that will stop me from getting the heebie jeebies everytime anybody so much as sneezes on a group ride.
yeah my fork was unbelievably strong...Bananaman
Jan 4, 2004 8:24 AM
First of all, sorry to hear about your mishap and glad to know you werent injured.
I have exactly the same bike which has made me sit up and think. I've ridden it 5200km in a year which includes going over some nasty holes in the road fortunately without any noticeable effect to the bike.
We know that with carbon fibre frames there is a trade off for the weight saving. The material is brittle and hence behaves badly under sideways impact as in your case. I've seen a message from a guy on this site who submitted a photo of his broken Campy carbon crank which makes me wonder whether carbon is a suitable material in this application. It is extremely light but aluminium is a far superior material in bending (tension) which a crank is normally subjected to. This is the reason I wouldnt choose carbon cranks.
I hope you get your forks replaced and carry on riding.
How cold was the temperature at the time??Dave_Stohler
Jan 4, 2004 10:14 AM
One of the big problems with composites is that they get brittle at low temperatures. You shouldn't ride any c/f at temps below about 40 degrees farenheit.
i've never heard that before.Frith
Jan 4, 2004 11:59 AM
the temp was about 8 degrees celcius which by my handy new-world to caveman calculater is about 47F. I think we're talking about two things here.
1) A very unidirectional cf fork.
2) A rider mistake that could have happened to anybody.
How Giant chooses to see it remains to be seen. I'm not all that optimistic.
And your opinion is based on what?TWD
Jan 5, 2004 9:29 AM
I don't doubt that composites get brittle at colder temps, but 40 degrees F?

So, what are you basing your opinion on?

Just curious, since I have ridden my Carbon fiber (OCLV) mountain bike with a carbon seatpost at temps much colder than 40 deg F. I've ridden it down to -25 degrees F to be exact without any problems. I haven't had any problems on my other bikes with CF forks at temps below 40 degrees F.

Sure, that is only one data point, but if CF was as brittle at 40 degrees F as you imply, it wouldn't be used for any outdoor applications including bike frames and components. 40 degrees F is not at all outside of the normal range of temperatures that riders subject bike frames/components to.

From a liability standpoint, if it was a problem, bike companies would either plaster warning stickers all over the bikes and owners manuals telling you not to ride at those temps or they wouldn't make anything out of CF.

I don't recall seing any warnings of this type anywhere, and carbon fiber is getting more and more popular all the time.

If you can produce some hard evidence to back up your claim, then I will stand corrected. So, until then your recommendation isn't going to keep me awake at night.
Anecdotal evidence to the contrary:4bykn
Jan 5, 2004 2:23 PM
I've ridden my '92 Specialized carbon frame in temps below 20 degrees F with no problems, and last month I rode two hours at 6 degrees with a carbon fork without problems.

I think the temp must be very cold before shattering is a concern.

Ride in Peace...Mike
Not Truenorthcoast
Jan 6, 2004 2:25 AM
Where do you come up with ....c/f composites should not be ridden under 40 deg. F ???

Did you ever consider aircraft or.... the space shuttle???

What temperatures do these c/f composite structures operate in........last time I checked space is a lot colder than 40 deg. F
Steel vs. CF fork....does it matter?TWD
Jan 5, 2004 9:03 AM
I don't think you would be much better off with a steel fork, and maybe worse.

Sure the thought of having your fork disintegrate underneath you isn't a pleasant one.

Does anyone remember in the 2002 Vuelta when Roberto Laiseka was "just riding along" in the Peloton when something off of road (I think it was a steel chain off of a truck or something like that) got sucked into his front wheel and instantly sheered his fork off? I think he was messed up pretty good.

I don't think you would be much better off with a steel fork. A good friend of mine who happens to be a custom frame builder (steel only) was out riding his cross bike last fall when he got a stick jammed in his spokes. He went down really hard. Shattered his right forearm, broke his left wrist, put a hole in his kneecap down to the bone, and some various other damage. In the hospital for 5 days, has all kinds of hardware installed, couldn't walk for a week, home from work for 6 weeks, and has been off the bike for 4 months and counting.

He builds his own steel forks, and runs traditional wheels. He said the stick sheered all but 7 spokes on what I assume was a standard 32 spoke wheel.

My point is that If you get something solid wedged in your spokes with any fork, you're probably going to hit the ground and damage something on your bike.

With a steel fork, you're just going to do more damage to the wheel, and end up doing a superman over the bars. Maybe a CF fork with sheer off, causing you to go down on your face just the same. Which is better? It's six of one half dozen of the other to me.

The reality is that on road bikes you don't get things wedged in your spokes all that often.

I'm not personally worried about my CF fork snapping.