RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Leader Bike opinions(9 posts)

Leader Bike opinionshrdcorebikerboy
Dec 31, 2003 9:29 AM
I'm looking for a new frame. The top of the line Leader frame with carbon rear triangle looks awfully good for the money. Any opinions? Is this simply a matter of great bike that lacks the prestige of the bigger names, or am I better off looking for a new Colnago or litespeed for more than double the money?? Budget isn't a huge issue, but it seems sensless to waste money. The only downside to the Leader seems to be the snob appeal of what's written on the downtube.
Only you can decide, but here is my honest opinionMarketing Dept
Dec 31, 2003 11:24 AM
I am a former Serotta owner. It was cool being a member of the Serotta Owner's forum for a few years. It rode like a dream. I can't say enough about the care and craftmanship of Ben's shop.

I currently have a couple of OCLV's and a Litespeed and a Chuck's Bikes Tsunami.

When I sat down to look total miles for the year, I was somewhat suprised. I put more than double the miles on the Tsunami than the others combined.

The OCLV's ride like awesome. I love riding it. But on days when I am going to be club riding (always the threat of a crash) I ride the Tsunami. On days when there is a threat of rain, I ride the Tsunami. On days when I commute to work, I ride the...and the list goes on.

You can not get away from the "Cool" and "Snob" factors out there. But for me, I am so comfortable on the Tsunami, that when I am riding it, I don't miss any of the others. Now, when I am posting pics and talking to others about my bikes, I always mention my most expensive 5500 2004 DA ride first and work my way down the list.

I suggest you try one. Better yet, check our chucksbikes.com. I could not be happier with the ride or the customer service.
second, third, and forth thatJS Haiku Shop
Dec 31, 2003 11:41 AM
chucksbikes.com; fast, prompt service, and products exactly as described, often better than described. prices can't be beat **anywhere**.
Is that a stiff frame? Always wanted one for crit racing nm.853
Dec 31, 2003 12:15 PM
Cut it out!TNSquared
Dec 31, 2003 12:24 PM
MktgDept., Everytime you post a pic, it's a different really cool bike. You're getting as bad as Akirasho. :)

My apologies to the original poster for getting OT. If it helps, I talked briefly with one of the better riders in our area who has a Leader as a second bike. He has been pretty happy with it.
Which Tsunami is in your picturebimini
Dec 31, 2003 12:28 PM
I'm looking for a TT frame with 700 cm wheels. Is yours a road frame or triathalon frame. I looked at the web site and it looked like all the triathalon frames are 650 cm.
Tsunamingl
Dec 31, 2003 2:39 PM
""But on days when I am going to be club riding (always the threat of a crash) I ride the Tsunami.""

I just have to ask... Are you riding your tri bike (using your aero bars) in a group??
A few answers...Marketing Dept
Jan 2, 2004 5:08 AM
For 853
"Is that a stiff frame? Always wanted one for crit racing nm."
Yes it is stiff. However, for crit, I think the wheel base feels a little long. I am at work and I don't know exactly that this is true. I think it may be better suited for road racing.

For BIMINI
"Which Tsunami is in your picture"
It is the butted frame, not the bottom of the line one. It is 700c and the angles are not forward. More like 73/74. I have had 650c with 75-78 degree angles but I keep coming back to the road angle.

I race TT and TRI's on a Y-Foil and the Tsunami is set up to match it to save the Trek for race day.

For NGL
I just have to ask... Are you riding your tri bike (using your aero bars) in a group??

Good question. Yes and no. I will switch out the bars and brake levers (20 minute job) for club riding. I simply plug the bar end shifters into the drops. This is done easily thanks to the removeable face plate on the stem.

The seat post is reversable as well. It is a Control Tech that I run backwards in the tri position.
re: Leader Bike opinionsMShaw
Jan 2, 2004 8:46 AM
I was riding along in the SDBC pack with a guy on a Leader. Said "its a bike." They seem to ride OK.

My little brother has a Tommaso that I convinced him to buy off ebay. He seems to like the ride. AL frame with a Carbon rear end. As a bonus, the Tommaso built into a good looking bike.

Mike