RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Poll: New year's goals(25 posts)

Poll: New year's goalsLO McDuff
Dec 31, 2003 7:53 AM
OK folks, let's put our money (figuratively) where our mouths are; this is where the rubber hits the road; this is where we run it up the flagpole and see who salutes...

What are your bicycling-related goals for next year? We can check in periodically and let fellow boardmembers know where we stand, er, sit. I'll start:

Yearly total 5k miles.
Iron Horse Classic - road course (http://www.ironhorsebicycleclassic.com/)
Triple Bypass (http://www.teamevergreen.org/triple_bypass.htm)
Bob Cook/Mt. Evans Hill Climb(http://www.bicyclerace.com/)
Boulder Peak Tri (http://www.boulderpeak.com/index.html)
Kokopelli Tri (short course)

Clean up the garage (sorta bike related).
4500 miles nm4bykn
Dec 31, 2003 8:35 AM
re: Poll: New year's goalsbimini
Dec 31, 2003 8:42 AM
Loose 10-15 pounds so the little guys don't drop me on the long uphill attacks.

Finish with the lead group in at least one of our small local road races. These are tough because everyone races together Cat 1 - Cat5 and there a couple of good Cat 1 rider who usally shows up, they fart around with us until the last few miles. I would like to hang on to thier wheels across the finish line in at least one race.

Finish in the top 5 or 10 at a large Cat 5 road race.

Place 1st or 2nd in Cat 5 in a local TT.

Talk my wife into letting me get another bike. I would like to get a slightly used 700 cm TT bike for training and TT.

Don't crash. Don't get hit by any cars. Don't loose my temper with Dickhe@d motorist.
'be groovy and flowing.' nmJS Haiku Shop
Dec 31, 2003 8:42 AM
And post more haikus???????? nm4bykn
Dec 31, 2003 8:45 AM
depends on if i achieve my 04 goal! nmJS Haiku Shop
Dec 31, 2003 9:25 AM
Haikus are stupidshirt
Dec 31, 2003 1:26 PM
Any moron can write haiku
You just stop at
Seventeen syllab
"it's only a flesh wound!" /-J (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Jan 1, 2004 8:52 PM
re: Poll: New year's goalsbimini
Dec 31, 2003 8:43 AM
Loose 10-15 pounds so the little guys don't drop me on the long uphill attacks.

Finish with the lead group in at least one of our small local road races. These are tough because everyone races together Cat 1 - Cat5 and there a couple of good Cat 1 rider who usally shows up, they fart around with us until the last few miles. I would like to hang on to thier wheels across the finish line in at least one race.

Finish in the top 5 or 10 at a large Cat 5 road race.

Place 1st or 2nd in Cat 5 in a local TT.

Talk my wife into letting me get another bike. I would like to get a slightly used 700 cm TT bike for training and TT.

Don't crash. Don't get hit by any cars. Don't loose my temper with Dickhe@d motorist.
Learn to build/maintain bikelc21998
Dec 31, 2003 9:15 AM
I just bought a used Softride frame (Rocket TT7). I need to learn to build it and then I need to build it. Also, lose a couple pounds, do Big Rock Tri, LA Tri, do at least one century and most of all, keep at it despite kids, work, etc.

Happy new year to all.

Benjamin
Boston-Montreal-Bostondzrider
Dec 31, 2003 9:53 AM
Tuff to put it in writing. I've had schedule problems stop me the past two years, and the desire has only grown. I'm a sick man!
My goals had to change a few weeks ago.boyd2
Dec 31, 2003 10:16 AM
Several weeks ago my goals were:

1. Learn to swim much faster
2. Complete an Olympic length Tri
3. Sub 21 minute 5k
4. Finish in the money in a sprint tri.

Then, aroung Thanksgiving, I herniated a disc in my back. I did one about 5 years ago that was fixed by surgery. This one is not that bad yet. It is more of a warning shot.

Now I plan to:
1. Learn to swim much faster. And probably make swimming my prime workout.
2. Start commuting again, at least halfway. My office moved from 10 miles away to 40, and the roads suck.
3. Fix my back.
4. Swim and bike an Oly Tri, if I can convince my wife to do the run leg.
5. Explore road racing as an outlet for my competitive spirit.
6. Start doing organized rides.
7. Get out on my MTB more.
don't forget your triplescyclopathic
Dec 31, 2003 10:47 AM
you'd appreciate them in Vermont, up Midllebury and esp on way back.
re: Poll: New year's goalsFender
Dec 31, 2003 10:17 AM
Stop at every stop sign and traffic light and always wear a helment.
Learn to maintain my bike better and get some milagewitcomb
Dec 31, 2003 12:05 PM
I wish I could figure out how to get my drive-train nice and clean. I'd like to take it apart, degrease everything, remove some links in my chain (2-4) and then get it all back together working well. Make sure it is shifting well and clean. At the moment the shifting sounds like a loud thump, this common with 105? I have ridden my friends Ultegra and it was quick and silent. This is quick but not smooth. I figured it would go away with time, guess not.

I did have goals of doing a tri or two, sadly I have no running experience and don't have time to fit it in. Maybe a short sprint dur will do the job. I would like to be able to get some nice longer rides in though, a century or more would be nice.

I do plan on doing some mountain bike racing and I'm really looking forward to that. I was very disappointed that I never did any last year, but being my first season cycling I'll be happy with my accomplishments.

Well, that should keep me going another year.

Happy New Year All!
re: Poll: New year's goalsPEDDLFOOT
Dec 31, 2003 1:29 PM
Ride 5000 miles and 4 centuries.One will be a self supported.
re: Poll: New year's goalsMike Prince
Dec 31, 2003 2:41 PM
Ugh. Goals. Anyway, here's what I want to get done-

Fun:
Get my singlespeed build by spring and put more miles on that this year than my geared bike. This will be my first singlespeed bike.

Miles:

5,000 is the goal.

Rides:
Raise $2,000 for the Tour de Cure (www.diabetes.com) and do the century (VA to NC Outer Banks)on the singlespeed in under 5 1/2 hours.
Tour de Mayberry (NC)
Mountains of Misery (VA)
Blood Sweat and Gears (NC)
Three Mountain Metric (NC)
Bridge to Bridge in 5 1/2 hours (103.5 miles, 11k of climbing) (NC)
Others I can't think of now (my legs hurt thinking of these)....

Fitness
Get weight down 15 lbs. by May
Stop cramping on centuries (learn to drink :))
Start riding fixed gear

Other:
Don't ride in one of the rides listed above (pay registration though to support) and be a volunteer at the start or a rest stop.

Happy new year everyone. Don't forget to re-set those bike computers to 0 tonight :)
re: Poll: New year's goalssnapdragen
Dec 31, 2003 3:52 PM
Maybe if I write it down, it'll happen.

Miles - phfft, pick a number. How about 1,500 miles. (Huge for me, I hardly rode at all this year)

Ride the AIDS/Lifecycle (www.aidslifecycle.org) If anybody cares I'm rider 1068

Holstein 100 - ride the metric century this year

Wait patiently for more haiku from J, ride reports from MB1, Geo, and Kai-ming.

Happy New Year everyone!

Janet
re: Poll: New year's goalsukiahb
Dec 31, 2003 10:13 PM
ride about 5000 miles next year, do a fixed century, tour Ireland, repeat the Tour of the Unknown Coast and not be hammered afterwards this time, do the Davis Double, enter the local triathlon, try a Cat 5 race...and clean garage too
re: Poll: New year's goalsstinkfoot247
Dec 31, 2003 10:36 PM
1. incorporate palatis or some sort of cross training into regular training.
2. a couple weeks worth of self supported touring
3. become more involved with the local club
4. Find a chic that's already involved in cycling (proves challenging to convince them)
5. buy a helmet
re: Poll: New year's goalsboneman
Jan 1, 2004 5:07 AM
MILEAGE
5,000 miles, at least. Have made it the last 3 years but except for this year, it's a challenge timewise to fit.

EVENTS- Ride
Etape du Tour
Maybe London Brighton

EVENTS- Watch in person
Tour of Flanders- we shall see. Mike Perry of Maestro bikes tells me it's a brilliant experience but he's been going for years and knows the ropes.
Tour de France- a couple of stages
Road Worlds- Verona
I'd love to see the Track events at the Olympics but it's a little late. I didn't think we'd still be living in Europe.

BIKES
Try not to buy another

ACCIDENTS
Try to hit the pavement only twice and never hit other objects such as cars, pedestrians, etc.
re: Poll: New year's goalsKG 361
Jan 1, 2004 7:50 AM
I aLWAYS TRY TO GET MORE MILES THAN THE PREVIOUS YEAR. i'D LIKE TO SHOOT FOR 5K, BUT AS LONG AS i GET MERE THAN 4500, i'LL BE HAPPY. Opps! Hit the caps lock! =) I'd also like to do more races and to commute more. I did 1 cross race this year and am hooked-I'll try for 2 or more this year.
re: Poll: New year's goalsKeeponTrekkin
Jan 1, 2004 9:13 AM
3,500 miles
Successfully complete 200k, 300k & 400k brevets
Raise $2,500 for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
see http://www.teamintraining.org/hm_tnt.adp
Too many non-bike goals to list without being rude...
2004 goalsrcarp
Jan 1, 2004 7:10 PM
- MS 150
- At least 5 centuries (5 in 2003); at least one climbing century
- At least 2 road races
- Several cross races
- 4500 miles (3928 in 2003)
- Maintain or improve current weight / body fat
- Ride every Thursday night ride when I am in town and consistently finish in top group
- Achieve lifetime personal best fitness level this spring / summer (not a huge stretch!)
- Make new and deepen current friendships with fellow cyclists
re: Poll: New year's goalsMike P
Jan 2, 2004 10:59 AM
Begin adding intensity to workout schedule. For the most part, I have over the last few years been riding what I am going to call my Base period. It's time to break out and start riding a little harder. Build 1 it is!

Continue concentrating on climbing. This ties in with the intensity bit. I mention it seperatly because I enjoy climbing and believe the climbing legs will improve greatly with harder rides.

Work on eating better. I do not eat that bad but there is room for improvement. Get the scarfing of sweets under control.

8,000 - 10,000 miles. I am not going to worry about milage this year, however, I do expect I will end up somewhere in that range.

Rides: 3 State 3 Mtn., Mountains of Misery Century, Cherohala Challenge, 6-Gap Century, Sequatchie Valley Century. Considering Bridge to Bridge Century and Blood Sweat and Gears.

I am going to try to ride more often with local weekly rides. I ride on my own mostly and think this is going to be a tough one, but worth it. I might lead a few rides by posting the rides I enjoy on the local bike club web site.

What else. . . there are other things too.

May 2004 be a good one!
Mike