RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


End of the year...Did we reach our goals???(46 posts)

End of the year...Did we reach our goals???biknben
Dec 31, 2003 7:40 AM
It's that time of year again. Get those calculators out.

Did anyone hit some new milestones, personal bests, firsts, reach yearly goals, etc.

I haven't tallied everything up yet but I have a few that I was paying attention to:
Total road miles for the year = 7,760 (new high)
Total MTB miles = 353
Total hours of exercise = 560
Days commuting on bike = 140 (I drove today)
Total races = 23 (1 cross, 6 MTB, rest road)
Total hours of trail maintenance = 10

I had some firsts this year. I had an accident involving a car and broke my collarbone (both firsts). After 15 years of riding, I was due. I made my first cue sheet for a ride. What a PITA that was. I rode Mt. Washington. I joined an actual USCF club which made racing a lot more fun.

At the start of every year I set some goals. I'm not one of those testosterone laden hammerheads. Well, maybe I am but I try not to show it. I set goals and am aggressively competitive with myself. I find self-improvement to be invigorating.

Two of my loftiest goals were upgrading to Cat. 3 and winning an Expert MTB race. Both were within reach if I made steady improvement and got a little lucky. Well, I won an expert race but only one other guy showed up in my age group. That's kinda lame but after looking at the results, I
i did
beat all the other age groups too. That made me feel better about the win. The upgrade had a twist too. I didn't have sufficient points or races to upgrade, partially due to my MTB racing. I tallied up all my races and made a sincere plea to the USCF rep. I addressed my upgrade letter to Santa and wrote, "All I want for Christmas is my Cat. 3 upgrade sticker." Well I received my sticker on Christmas Eve so I'm now a Cat. 3.

So anyone else got something to share? How was
i your
year?
6802 miles but I'm riding today...Dave Hickey
Dec 31, 2003 7:50 AM
My previous best was 5400 miles in 2002. I wanted to get to 7000 but weather, work, and kid's hockey prevented me. I'm very satisfied with 6800+ miles. Some of my highlights:

1. MS 150 in Memphis- I really enjoy out of town bike trips
2. Ride for the Roses- I do it every year but it's still my favorite ride
3. First solo single speed century in November.
4. Buying my dream frame last week. It's a LOOK KG381 Jalabert edition. I've wanted this frame since it came out in late 2002 but I couldn't justify the $2200 cost. I found a slightly used frame for $1000. It should arrive next Tuesday and I'm going to break it in on the mountains of New Mexico next weekend.
Total 1617 miles and I saw the new Trek MadoneDave Hickey
Dec 31, 2003 10:33 AM
I just did a quick 15 miles to the LBS and back.

The owner was showing me his new Trek Madone 5.9 project one. It has the mountains with the lightening paint. Very cool bike. With Dura Ace 10, Bont. XXX tubies and Aurndel cages, it's weighted 15.9 pounds

One of his employees had a black LOOK 486 with Dura Ace 10. Also very cool....
Doh, 6817 miles. Goal next year- proof read posts:-) nmDave Hickey
Dec 31, 2003 10:36 AM
Proof read - me too! My typing stenks. nmTNSquared
Dec 31, 2003 11:01 AM
11 miles to go!!!!PaulCL
Dec 31, 2003 8:09 AM
I'm at 3989 miles. I think. My goal was 4000 miles. I'm pretty sure I'm over the 4000 now since I rode without a computer a few times but I want to see the number before I reset it to zero.

Since it's 50 degrees out today, I'm riding at least 11 miles. I lifted weights this AM so 11 miles will be all that I can get in. As for tomorrow, my wife has already asked me if I plan to ride since she's going to a 10am aerobics class. I said "hell yeah!"

Other personal goals:

Goal: Sub 7:00 3 mile TT. OK, I'm not AaronToy...but I try
Goal: Sub 5:00 hill climb. Its a 1 mile long hill near home that I test my fitness on. Got the sub-5 first time I tried it on my new bike. Since done it several times.
Goal: 6 centuries for the year. Got it. Did three in one week (including a 130 miler in Colorado). I had countless 80-90 milers too.

Next year: 4500 miles. 180lbs or less. Get better looking.

Happy New Year.

Paul
Got it. Rode 12 miles this afternoon. 4001 !! (nm)PaulCL
Dec 31, 2003 3:51 PM
re: End of the year...Did we reach our goals???FTMD
Dec 31, 2003 8:12 AM
Was coming into the year with some nagging injuries, so most of my goals were modest. What I did accomplish:

More road miles than 2 previous years combined.
Mountain biked in a new state - Idaho this year.
First century.
Completed the Monday night group ride with the A pack.
Built up and learned to love a rigid ss mtb.

Next year's goals:

5000+ road miles
10 centuries.
2 Road races
No gears on the trail
Keep my cycling enthusiasm strong yearlong, even if it includes a break or two. I burnt out severely this year in late September.
I'm not big on setting goals but here is what I didbimini
Dec 31, 2003 8:14 AM
Good things:
Rode up a 10,000 foot mountain.
Put about 8000 miles on the bike.
Got my average training / farting around speed up close to 20MPH.
Got my 40k TT speeds up over 23 MPH
Rode in about 8 races, placed 2nd and 3rd in a couple of small oval track Cat 5 races.

Bad things:
Cracked ribs on two seperate occassions. One turning too fast on a sandy corner. The other was hitting a curb at full speed and doing a superman over the handlebars.
Got side swipped by one car.
Had more than one temper tantrum with drivers even though I know better.
Yes, but not the way I wanted.MB1
Dec 31, 2003 8:15 AM
2002 I rode something like 18,000 miles. This year I wanted to ride less-say 12-15,000 miles.

On July 25 I was a few hundred miles behind 2002 when I got hit by a car and broke my kneecap.

No problems reaching my goal then.

I don't think I will make a goal for 2004.
heck no!JS Haiku Shop
Dec 31, 2003 8:18 AM
2003 goals

hard & fast:

Marathon FAILED
Super Randonneur FAILED
24-hour time trial FAILED
Solo double century FAILED
6000+ miles ACHIEVED

surprise outcome:

* bought 5 new frames
* longest geared ride
* longest fixed ride
* first mountain century on double chainrings
* most annual mileage
* first mtb race
* first offroad duathlon
* bike club board of directors
* lead 3 weekly rides (up from 2)
* built first bike from frame and box of parts, including:
--installed first headset (using block of wood & hammer)
--installed first bb
* became 2004 bike club prez
* became a race director (c/c series)
* fostered a few new promising riders
* helped to corrupt a few new ss & fixed converts

...and this year was the first time i felt i could accompany the front of the pack for at least the first 50-75 miles on brevets and double centuries.

though it's been a tough and frustrating year, and lots of my goals have bombed due to my own flagging interest in them (or weakness between my ears), it's also been my most successful, IMHO. and, the end of the year brings a newly realized 2-wheeled/2-legged obsession.

things are looking up.

goals for 2004? "be groovy and flowing."
No! Not the best 1st year.Rich_Racer
Dec 31, 2003 8:20 AM
Well it was my first full year of cycling yet I was really ill for 2 months so lost a lot of time and fitness. I think I've done about 4500 miles but I haven't added it up properly. Got quite distracted by the idea of doing triathlon - still am in fact! But I'm joining a team soon and we'll see if I can go a whole year without serious illness or injury!
2003 -- "A Year to Remember"ms
Dec 31, 2003 8:26 AM
Kind of like Walter Lord's "A Night to Remember" -- the story of the sinking of the Titanic. I started 2003 with lofty goals and a feeling that my riding progression from 2000 to 2001 to 2002 would continue ever upward. Here is what I said exactly a year ago: ms "2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?" 12/31/02 10:23am

My iceberg was a crash on July 3 and a broken humerus. The crash was a major setback, but like the fortunate survivors of the Titanic, I am happy to be alive(and back on the bike).

I did not meet my goal of 5000 miles -- the crash put an end to that goal. As of June 30 I had ridden 2677.9 miles notwithstanding very few miles in January and February. Well -- my July and August mileage were even less than January and February. The total for the year: 4051.4.

I did ride the Mountains of Misery with a faster time in 2003, but I was not able to finish the Etape, which was 13 days after my fall. A return trip to the Skyline Drive was postponed from the Fall until this Spring.

I did get to ride in a new place -- I attempted the Death Valley Double in March. I only did 131 miles, but it was a great ride nevertheless. As General MacArthur said: "I shall return."

In 2003, I learned to roll with the punches. My "best" ride was a 90 mile ride across central Virginia that I decided to do at the spur of the moment (my family and I were in Hot Springs, early on the morning of the day we were to return home, I asked my wife if it would be OK if I started home on my bike and could ride until she caught up to me with the car). I rode with a throbbing, broken shoulder after my fall (notwithstanding doctor's orders to stay off of the bike for three months). I did a century completely in the rain. And, at the end of the year, I have begun to commute occasionally even when I have to ride home in darkness.

I still plan to chase the elusive goal of 5,000 miles in 2004. I also plan to chase my elusive goal of riding faster. Otherwise, I "plan" to take things as they come.
Didn't set any, so couldn't acheive them.4bykn
Dec 31, 2003 8:34 AM
I had my best year in a long time, really enjoyed being in the saddle. I may be jinxing myself, but I'm setting a goal for 2004: I'll turn 45 in a couple weeks, so why not 100 miles for each of my years here. 4500 it is.

Ride in Peace(and have fun)...Mike
One of the high points:4bykn
Dec 31, 2003 8:52 AM
After posting a photo of a cold (6 deg F) ride I received a compliment from MB1. Can think of very few people I'd rather receive kudos from. Thanks MB1.

Ride in Peace...Mike
Yes and noSpecialTater
Dec 31, 2003 9:08 AM
Yes in that I've found a passion that hasn't waned like others have.

No in the number of miles/rides, etc. No in that I don't have the discipline I desire to get out of the house at daylight and get an hour in. Or take care of the other things I need to do in order to get rides in. That's a goal for next year. I would guess I've done 2300 miles since buying the bike in March. Plus one road race (well, sort of) and a CX race.
Yes, no, maybehrv
Dec 31, 2003 9:28 AM
Last year, my 2nd riding, I didn't set any mileage goals. That way I wouldn't have to feel like I had to get them in before year end. Trying to be a racer and mostly look at hours anyways. Haven't tallied numbers yet but in the range of 500 - 600 hours.

As a cat 4/5 I raced several cat 3/4 races and my goal was to just finish with the pack : mission accomplished. The joy I felt when I did that you would have thought I won!

I have a goal of top 10 in the Tuesday night crits, cat. 4.
Have to do something like 20 races to qualify for series honors. It's going to be a test of perserverance as much as speed/endurance. I'd like to break the hour in the 40K but that's more of a long term, next couple of years goal, to be realistic. And as I'm fast approaching 50, that goal is going to be harder and harder to come by.

My biggest goal this year would be to do more rides with my wife, who got more into cycling at the end of last year, even thought she's had a new bike for about a year. She's even riding the trainer several times a week now! To have her as a biking partner would be a dream come true. It's great to see she's getting serious about riding, since we have a trip to Italy planned.

Oh, and plan to do my first fixie century this year, too.

hrv
Yes! I survived last Sat’s ride w/you.cmgauch
Dec 31, 2003 9:28 AM
Kudos to you on acheiving your cycling goals - very impressive. Somehow I feel much better now about the beating I took from you guys last Sat.

Being a slacker, I really had only 2 modest cycling goals for this year, and achieved them both:

- I completed my 1st double century: 209mi w/a 16.5 mph average (12:40 riding time, elapsed time approx 14:45). I was part of a 4-man team & we raised about $20g's for a friend's daughter who needed a bone marrow transplant.

- I finished 2nd in the mtn bike portion of a team triathlon my dentist & hygienist asked me to participate in. The event is a big deal to them, and I wanted to do well for them.

Next year's cycling goals:

- Drop 10 lbs (ideally from fat).
- Commute by bike more often, and not just to the bus like normal. I want to ride all the way to NYC at least 2x/month.

Happy New Year to all!
I did well, but my goals were low.boyd2
Dec 31, 2003 10:02 AM
My goal for the new year last year was just to do more running races and MTB races. In the spring I did my first mulit sport race, an off road du. I immeaditely went out and bought my first roadbike. Why didn't I do that 15 years ago?

After that my goals changed quick:
1. Do a sprint tri. (I did 2 and finished well both times!)
2. Do a solo century. This may not seem impressive to most folks here, but it was a big deal for me.

Now the goals for next year have fallen into place! See post above.

BTW. Kudos to BIKNBEN for the trail maintanence goal. I have a large piece of property that has a 1/3 mile or so of popular singletrack that connects nearby parks. I am constantly out there and I really appreciate others that do the same.
You were doin fine on Sat...biknben
Dec 31, 2003 10:44 AM
This may make you feel even better. After packing the car I went down the street to Joe's and nearly feel asleep on his couch. That was a tough ride on some demanding terrain.

I got an e-mail from Kevin two days later. He said he was still hurting. :-)
I'm a glutton for punishment...cmgauch
Dec 31, 2003 11:35 AM
...but it does make me feel better to know I was not the only one suffering.

- Chris (aka wheezer)
Great year..........Len J
Dec 31, 2003 10:32 AM
Went entire year without crash.

Rode every single weekend at least once. Amazing considering all the reain we had.

Did a little over 4,500 miles riding only on Sat & Sun due to business travel. Not bad with weather.

Rode my first (and 10th) fixed gear century (thanks to MB1.

Rode a century fixed on the anniversary of my wreck. Yea Hah.

Other than MB1's century, did not ride an organized century, yet did 19 of them total.

Wasn't as strong as last year (due to riding constraints and accident recovery) but may have enjoyed it more. Sacrificed fitness for getting to ride with & know riding buds. Life is choice.

48 years young and still loving life, it don't get better than this.

Len
BarelyCHRoadie
Dec 31, 2003 10:33 AM
My goal for this year was 4,000 miles, which I reached at the end of November. Then I tore a ligament in my thumb mountain biking on Nov 30, and my December mileage total is 0. But the cast comes off on Jan 8! God I miss the bike...
Met my goal, ended on a down note.wookieontherun
Dec 31, 2003 10:45 AM
Well, my goal was to make 11,000 miles this year. I really wanted to make the push to show im really serious about my riding. I really worked my ass off, ,many times doing two rides a day to get to that point. I'm pretty proud of myself for that.

The down note is this. Unfortunately my cycling continues to aggrivate a long standing medical condition of mine (don't really want to go into it) After seeing 3 different doctors they all agree, I need to stop my cycling. Coming to grips right now and learning to deal.

:-( Wookie.
let's see....TNSquared
Dec 31, 2003 10:53 AM
I bought my first road bike since childhoon in February. The many benefits I've realized from that investement definintely made it a great year. Better health, much self discovery, new friends, this board, new responsibilities, new goals - I haven't had a single decision affect my life this much since I asked a certain red-head from AR to marry me.

I didn't lay out goals at the beginning of the year, but I did post the following goals back in September.

1) survive my first cyclocross races - so far, so good. 3 down, 1 to go, and I'm still alive and kicking.
2) lose 15 lbs of gut and become a better climber - climbing better? somewhat. lost 15 lbs? ha! not with all the darn holiday snackin'.
3) re-visit Mt. Magazine, AR and kick its @ss - Hey, Mt. Magazine, Who's Your Daddy?!!
4) develop better handling skills, road and off-road - ummmm...........
5) involve myself in the local club more than as a dues paying member - effective Jan. 2004, I'll be the newsletter editor (replacing JS Haiku, no less)
6) be a happy, considerate rider who gives motorists a good impression every time - working on it still, but for the most part I've learned to chill and ignore the many unsolocited opinions offered from passing cars regarding my sexual orientation (I mentioned self discovery, didn't I?) :)
7) avoid staying up all night to re-read the latest Excelsports catalog for the 20th time - *WARNING-SYSTEM FAILURE!!!* who was I kiddin'?
8) somewhere, sometime, beat J to just one stop sign - H#LL NO! I never had a finishing kick as a runner, either.
9) meet up with some other RBR'ers for a group ride - not yet, but maybe MB1 is about to fix that this spring!

Awesome year. Glad to have found cycling and the group on this board.
kinda sorta..dotkaye
Dec 31, 2003 10:54 AM
Wanted to improve my bike in the Boulder Tri to 1:10 from 1:15, instead improved from 1:15:14 to 1:15:06. Oh well.

Good things:
first century, Triple Bypass, a bit ambitious but it went fine;
first AG place and first AG win in triathlon.

Not so good:
torn calf muscle in early season, so I couldn't run for two months;
absolutely no improvement on the bike this year, for the first time since starting to take it seriously in 1999. Hum.
re: End of the year...Did we reach our goals???rollinrob
Dec 31, 2003 10:59 AM
This year I started off wth very modest goals, I thought I would do about 2500 miles. This is my 1st year back on the road bike after a 10 year hiatus. I got my bike, a voodoo rada with a Ultegra triple on Christmas. I put about 500 miles on it before I realized that it was to big. After bidding on countless frames on ebay I managed to win two on the same day in early March. I won both a IF steel Crown Jewel with Ultegra and OP rims and a Waterford 2200 frame that I put all my old components on.
The last 9 months have been nothing short of bliss, alternating rides on each bike I have managed to put about 3800 miles on my legs. The best ride I did last year was the Tour de Tahoe in June, the 100 mile version. Not bad for my 1st year back. Next year I want to do 4500 miles and start to do some group rides and more organized centurys.
With the knowlegde and insight I have gained from this board I do not think that I would have been able to do it. So I want to send a "thank you" to everybody who has posted and kept this board so full of great information for the new cyclist. Next year I also hope to contribute mor to this awesome, helpful board.
Happy New year everyone.
Rollinrob
8,450.04 mi, riding today12x23
Dec 31, 2003 11:02 AM
60* outside and almost no wind. I had a knee scope in November which killed my goal of 9,000.
Mostly yesboneman
Dec 31, 2003 11:04 AM
MILEAGE-
Goal of 5,000 mile and made it to 5,250 miles riding 233 days of the year so I'm quite happy with that although it would have been a lot higher were it not for some physical ailments.

ACCIDENTS
Had two big crashes, a complete endo after hitting a pedestrian and another crash after hitting a car and destroying my custom steel bike. Also got doored for the first time ever after 40+ years of riding including Boston and New York.

Had a full on physical this year. Interesting stuff. Blood tests were good (hemocrit was 47) although I was told to cut back on the beer after a couple of touches of gout in my foot(my father's got gout and it can be genetic). It's absolutely the worst thing to have in your foot if you're a cyclist. Lung capacity and strength were way above my age group which isn't saying much but it's all nice when you start sliding into the second half of your century on Earth.

BIKES
Good- Purchased a C40
Bad- Totaled my Corrado custom steel frame
Net- Even

Next year-

I'll be happy with 5,000 miles and only hitting the pavement a couple of times. I prefer road rash to aching shoulders and hand/finger/thumb sprains.

I'm off to the pub to cut back on beer drinking.
First Year on the roadPatrick
Dec 31, 2003 12:05 PM
Let's see...

1. Bought a road bike (good move)
2. Spent (1) evening a week rock climbing at Quincy Quarries
3. Spent (2) evenings a week riding
4. Rode club rides most Saturdays
5. First Century this year, Woo-Hooo!
6. First lead climb on Rock (5.8)
7. First lead climb on Ice (4+)
A very good year for a 47 year old

Cheers All!

Patrick
Ahh, that dreaded gout..hrv
Dec 31, 2003 12:53 PM
Yeah, gout in the foot is not a cylist's friend, is it?

I had an incident last summer that seemed to last for at least 3 weeks. Foot swelled up 2 sizes. What saved me was getting a pair of Shimano cycling sandals, with cleats. Was good to go! Needed a new pair of cyling shoes a little while later, got a size large, just in case. Fit pretty good, even without swelling, plenty of room to grow.

hrv
170 miles short.n.m.koala
Dec 31, 2003 12:55 PM
2003=2800 miles. Expect 3500 miles for 04 (nm)c722061
Dec 31, 2003 12:56 PM
Almost...PEDDLFOOT
Dec 31, 2003 1:11 PM
...rode three centuries but did'nt get to 5000 miles as I wanted to.I finished with 4820 which is still a personal record so I feel it was a very good year.
Sort of.Juanmoretime
Dec 31, 2003 1:27 PM
I don't like to set goals on something that is my fun, addiction and exersize. I wouldn't want the goals to interfere with my family and work.

So my goal is to be able to ride and run as much as I can and still maintain somewhat of a normal life.

I did run 1638 miles for the year and biked 3777 miles. Both which are not life time highs although better that I've done in a couple of years.

Next year is more of the same, ride and run as much as possible.

I should be able to get a 5 mile run and a 35 mile bike in tomorrow to start off the year.
re: End of the year...Did we reach our goals???KEN2
Dec 31, 2003 1:37 PM
Goal: 5000 miles
Reached: 5150
Days commuting: 105

I built up a fixed gear bike in April, and the 5150 figure includes 1021 FG miles--love that bike!. The rest are commuting (I have a dedicated commuter bike), mountain, and road miles.
Home renovations got in the way. Wait'll next year nmRoyGBiv
Dec 31, 2003 2:56 PM
re: End of the year...Did we reach our goals???Sao
Dec 31, 2003 4:51 PM
I am always impressed by the dedication of those on this board. My totals are very, very modest in comparison, plus I split my time with running. But it's just numbers so here goes:

2003

- rode 2200+ miles (my avg speed went up by 2mph, so now I'm merely slow)
- ran 600+ miles, including my first marathon and 4 half-marathons (plus I'm 8 minutes away from my half-'thon PR from high school when I was Roberto Heras-sized -- woo hoo!)
- rode a solo century in under 6 hours (SF to Santa Cruz).

Goals for 2004

To reach Juanmoretime's riding/running totals from 2003. Kudos to you, my fellow split-personality.

Next year, I'd like to ride either a weeklong trip someplace new, or do the Tour of Two Forests in Southern Cal, or both.

I just want to do the same, but more. Like y'all.

Happy New Year to all you inspired, crazy athletes.

Sao
Pretty much.PseuZQ
Dec 31, 2003 7:25 PM
2003 Goals:
1) Cal Triple Crown (three double centuries in a year)
2) All five passes at the Markeleeville Death Ride
3) Learn to work on my own bike
4) Camp for rides instead of staying in motels
5) Lose fat and go faster.

2003 Results:
1) Death Valley Double, Davis Double, Eastern Sierra Double and the unofficial Mt. Tam Double test ride.
2) I bailed completely on the Death Ride, opting instead to focus on the doubles. Rolled my registration to 2004.
3) Well, it's a start...Made some modest repairs on my own, like a new chain and cassette and new brakes.
4) Did one camp-ride trip in Yosemite. Fun, and easier than I expected.
5) Lost some fat, prolly 8 lbs worth, and I'm getting faster -- even up to today!

Other notable 2003 stuff:

*Not sure what my total mileage was, but over 5K for sure.
*Did a bunch of self-supported centuries. (only one organized). Only started doing these Nov. 2002.
*Rode Tioga Pass. Next time I'm going to Lee Vining!
*Did the double-metric version of the Devil Mountain Double.

2004 Goals:
1) Triple Crown again.
2) Finish the Devil Mountain Double (full double.)
3) Do some rides around Mt. Lassen and Mt. Shasta
4) Markleeville - 5 passes.
5) Do some Brevets. (Don't think I'm up for a 600K, though..)
6) Find the Real Killers
S, you're way beyond 'up for' 600k. trust me on this. (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Jan 1, 2004 8:50 PM
Hmm. Hmmmmmmmmm......PseuZQ
Jan 1, 2004 10:05 PM
Well, not that I checked or anything but there *is* a 600K just up the road in Santa Rosa...and I know the roads and stuff because I train up there sometimes...and I *did* already invest in lights and reflecto stuff...and it's only $20 so it's not like I'd be out a ton of money if I DNF...

MuahahhaHAHAAA!!!!!!!
I didn't break any body parts....Kathy
Jan 1, 2004 9:59 AM
which was in sharp contrast to 2002, when I broke 3 ribs (mtb crash) and shattered my left wrist (road crash). I spent most of 2003 trying to regain my former fitness after spending half of 2002 on the sidelines. My goal for 2004 is to keep improving and do a century by September. And to get back to over 2K miles for the year.

Congrats on the upgrade, and good luck to you in the 2004 race season! Keep the rubber side up!

Kathy
I hope you meant:4bykn
Jan 1, 2004 11:23 AM
Keep the rubber side down!

Ride in Peace...Mike
Yes and no.KG 361
Jan 1, 2004 4:00 PM
I had wanted to hit 4500 miles. Fell short by 40! I had wanted to do a race and that I did-though not what I was thinking of; it wound up being a cross race and that was just too much fun. I'm hooked. I also organized and did my 1st unsupported century that wound up being a really nice ride (thanks to biknben, Miss M, and MB1).
Don't goals have a way of changing!Mike P
Jan 1, 2004 7:24 PM
My goals at the beginning of the year:

8000 mile year.
Ride the 3 State 3 Mountain Century in 5 hours.
Ride the Cherohala Challenge Century in 7 hours.
Ride the 6-Gap Century in 6:15.
Eat healthier.

Easter weekend my goals changed, in a huge way. Cycling went out the window for a while as my oldest son was diagnosed with Leukemia. We went through two rounds of chemo and just this month celebrated my his 20th birthday, in remission. This Christmas seemed to have an extra special glow about it as well.

Anyway, what I ended up with was a great year on and off the bike.
7735 miles for the year.

3 State 3 Mountain in 5:16 - had a good ride for the most part but cramped up pretty bad the last 10 - 15 miles.

Cherohalla Challenge in 6:42 - had a perfect day!

6-gap in 5:45 - Overall a great day but I was stupid on Hogpen Gap, which killed me on Wolfpen Gap but I was able to recover for the remainder of the ride.

The healthy eating thing has sort of happened but I still have a terrible problem controlling myself in the vacinity of candy, especially peanut M&M's. (And curse the b@5tards that did away with the colors).

All in all I feel good about this year and I am so thankful for my family and friends. I hope you all had a great year too!

Mike
It don't get better than that..........Len J
Jan 2, 2004 4:42 AM
congrats on your sons remission.

Perspective is a great gift.

Len