RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is it OK? MtnBike Helmet for RoadBiking(18 posts)

Is it OK? MtnBike Helmet for RoadBikingkatooom
Dec 30, 2003 3:53 AM
Is there any safety issue, or is it just styling?
I like the visor on the MB helmet, but never see any on-road riders with MB helmet - will I be ostracized from the peleton?
thx
ditch the visor....scrublover
Dec 30, 2003 4:15 AM
or you'll have a sore neck from having to crane it upwards to look down the road. the less upright road position doesn't work well with most peoples necks if they have a visor on.

many roadie folks wear mtb helmets, and vice versa. i spend more time offroad, but both my helmets are mtb helmets without visors.
... or not ....Akirasho
Dec 30, 2003 6:06 AM
... also depends on your style of riding... not everyone rides on the drops... and the type of helmet/visor...

The MET 5 Element comes with a minimalist "peak" that can be easily removed. Some other lids, however, have substantial visors... you'd have to determine for yourself if it's worth it.

Also note, the MET 5 Element is marketed as a MTB lid... yet it's even showing up in the Pro Euro peloton!

Be the bike.
yep, good pointscrublover
Dec 30, 2003 6:28 AM
both of mine have removable visors. i very rarely find myself in the drops, but the visors still annoy me, even offroad.
Was it AG2r I thought I saw wearing a visor in theTDF?JL
Dec 30, 2003 8:53 AM
It seemed strange to me that noone else noted it. I could have been seeing things, but I swear I saw it more than once. I just can't find a photo.

Anyone notice this or am I nu...well I already know that answer?

John
yes, Laurent Brochard from AG2R, together with ponytail. nmQubeley
Dec 30, 2003 8:25 PM
Don't ditch the visor!gf99
Dec 30, 2003 7:59 AM
Well not all the time anyway. Mine does a nice job of keeping rain off my glasses.
re: Is it OK? MtnBike Helmet for RoadBikingSteve Bailey
Dec 30, 2003 6:49 AM
Of course it's OK, just like Camelbacks and mt. bike shoes and pedals are OK. Use what you like and if it annoy's the roadie fashion cops, all the better.

If I'm doing a multi-day road tour and/or there's a possibility of getting caught in the rain, I'll clip on the visor to help keep the rain off my face. Otherwise it stay's at home. It's generally harder to see traffic lights if you're on an aerobar and/or your bars are set low.

SB
Directly from www.met-helmets.cominnergel
Dec 30, 2003 7:23 AM
What is the difference between a road and a MTB helmet?

One main difference is given by the riding conditions. Off the road you are a lot more likely to have to deal with mud and tree branches for instance. A peak is found on all MET MTB models because it will protect your face against mud projection from riders in front of you and will also help keep branches away from your eyes.
Another big difference is how the ventilation works. On our road helmets most vents are located at the front of the shell, to grab as much air as possible, with big air exhausts at the back of the shell and crossed air channels inside. Few holes on the top of the shell (because the speed on the road guarantee a good ventilation through the helmet), keep the helmet very aerodynamic. On our MTB helmets, the top of the shell is a lot more perforated. This enables the heat coming out of your head to go up by itself (hot air is lighter) and exit the helmet even when the speed is too low to have any air travelling through the helmet.

All that being said, wear what is most comfortable. After all, any helmet is better than no helmet. [but please ditch the visor :-)]
My last two helmetsMel Erickson
Dec 30, 2003 8:00 AM
Have been Bell Influx. I wear them for on an off road but without the visor. I find it gets in the way on the road, even though I do most of my riding on the tops. I don't miss the visor off road either, mainly because I wear glasses in all conditions. Buy the helmet that fits the best, that's your best protection. The Influx gives plenty of ventilation on or off road so no problem there. Most manufacturers have wider but shorter vents for MTB helmets and longer but narrower vents for road but I've found the actual difference when riding to be negligible. A MTB helmet might even have a slight edge on the road when climbing because speeds are slower and temperatures higher.
Contrary opinion on visors--I like 'em.Cory
Dec 30, 2003 9:06 AM
It's individual pref, of course, but I don't buy helmets without visors. For one thing, my commute is into the sun both ways and it shades my eyes, plus it gives a little extra UV protection on the nose for those of us who never remember sunscreen. No safety issues at all, and no difference in neck problems either way for me.
Never occurred to me it might be unstylish, but who cares what a bunch of guys in Lycra shorts think anyway?
Contrary opinion on visors--I like 'em.margoC
Dec 30, 2003 9:39 AM
Just for kicks a couple days ago I took the visor off my helmet. It didn't really help me see better in the drops and the sun got in my eyes. Maybe my visor doesn't stick out as much as other visors.
Contrary opinion on visors--I like 'em.chbarr
Dec 30, 2003 10:53 AM
I only have a problem with the visor "in the way" if I'm doing downhill and trying to tuck, or something like that. Otherwise, I really like having one.


Three things that haven't been mentioned:


  • If it starts to rain, the visor helps limit the amount getting in your face.
  • On some of the trails I ride on, the trees can create a "strobe light" effect. The visor helps limit it.
  • Some places I ride, in the fall, are thick with small bugs. Dipping my head slightly helps block them.


Plus, it's just plain nice to have it to block the sun. Last summer we took a trip to Ottawa, and were riding around (me on my hybrid--does it count for road bikes?). We watched the changing of the guard. I took my helmet off at first, then put it on to block the sun (taking it off again at the playing of the national anthem (following the lead of other hat-wearers)).

Contrary opinion on visors--I like 'em.mapei boy
Dec 31, 2003 11:21 AM
I ride a Giro Eclipse Road helmet, with a nice big visor velcro-ed onto it. Being able to shield your eyes from the sun with a visor makes for a profound difference in comfort and safety. No matter what kind of glasses or goggle you're wearing, when the disk of the sun isn't in your field of vision, the increase in contrast and resolution is extraordinary. You are able to see much better. Even when the sun isn't in your face, the visor helps cut down the glare from a bright sky. Just ask a fisherman why he/she likes to shade their eyes. Just ask a baseball player. As far as I'm concerned, active (as opposed to passive) safety took a big hit when helmets took the place of visored caps in bicycle riding.
Wear whatever works for you...MVN
Dec 30, 2003 10:51 AM
that being said, I like visors. I got a Cofidis Pneumo last year and the visor has helped me out in the rain the few times I've been caught out in it. It also helps with wind deflection (handy for us contact lense wearers). I like it because if it gets in the way, you can push it up and the contact points pivot up for 15 degrees, taking it out of your way. When I found out Giro was discontinuing the visors on Pneumo's, I snatched up another one (2003 model) from Colorado Cyclist for $119. I don't care what the style freaks say, wear whatever works.

Mark
m2¢coonass
Dec 30, 2003 4:56 PM
I only use the visor for rides >35 miles, >90°F and little or no shade.....it does make a difference .....
just use your helmet and a cycling capasterisk
Dec 30, 2003 6:21 PM
I find the cycling cap fits in as a style-police-ok visor. Just throw one on under your helmet and you're good to go.
Yeah, butmapei boy
Dec 31, 2003 11:10 AM
If you put a cap on underneath your helmet, not only is it super-tough to adjust the visor to varying conditions, it also turns your helmet into a vise-tight sweat bath.