RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any heavier riders here use Pro Races ?...(9 posts)

Any heavier riders here use Pro Races ?...MVN
Dec 29, 2003 6:29 PM
I'm doing an individual time trial next month and I'm thinking about switching from Michelin Carbons to the Pro Races for it. I'm 195, not the lightest rider out there I know, but I'm wondering if anybody around my weight uses Pro Races and if so, your experiences with them? Or if not the Pro Races, can you suggest something else for that purpose, for someone of my weight? Don't have much experience with tires, and this will be my first race. Thanks in advance for all replies.

Mark
yes but not for longJS Haiku Shop
Dec 29, 2003 8:04 PM
i'm a little over your weight.

got a set on the new bike. they're not holding up well, don't corner as surely, and don't seem as "fast" as the conti ultra 3000s on another bike. that, plus the 3000s seem to ride better wet, too.

otherwise i've been using michelin axial kevlars for several years.

I was disappointed not only in the ride of the pro race tires, but also in their durability: less than 1000 miles so far and they're sporting multiple tire-width cuts.
re: Any heavier riders here use Pro Races ?...ukiahb
Dec 29, 2003 8:14 PM
I weigh 190, am on my second set of Pro Race's (got 2000 miles out of the first set), did get a terminal cut in one tire, but less flats than I've had with some other tires. The current set is 25c, they ride waaay better than the 23c's I tried first, and I'm happy with them.
I Like Mine...But Buy The Panaracer Stradius ProGregory Taylor
Dec 30, 2003 7:00 AM
I'm 195, and so far so good. They are not, however, "everyday" tires. Pro Race's handle well and feel great, but I too have had issues with cuts. I have about 1,500 miles on the back tire, and have one deep slice from glass (didn't penetrate the carcass, so I fixed it with Shoe Goo). I wouldn't think twice about that, but the front died a valiant death on a trip to France from a casing cut. That one was scary -- I noticed the slice at the end of the ride, after having enjoyed two screaming, twisting, descents down a couple of Cols.

Frankly, the Pro Race's are also pretty dang expensive for what you get. My recommendation -- Panaracer Stradius Pro. Great tire. Light, grippy, good in the wet.
Where to buy? cant find them online (nm)MVN
Dec 30, 2003 2:47 PM
Ask and Ye shall receive.....coonass
Dec 30, 2003 5:15 PM
http://www.bestwebbuys.com/bikes/search?q=panaracer+stradius+pro&isrc=i-home-search
I've been riding them for the last few years and I prefer them over Conti 3k and definitely over Michelins....
Excellent slip resistance on wet or dry roads; rated ~145psi and ride very smooth with low resistance. The Extremes have an even better rating....as soon as I can wear these out, I'll get the Extremes.
http://www.bestwebbuys.com/bikes/search?q=panaracer+extreme&isrc=i-srch-search
http://www.panaracer.com/05lineup/road/eroad_cl.html (nm)coonass
Dec 30, 2003 5:25 PM
Thanks everybody, I appreciate the input (nm)MVN
Dec 30, 2003 9:19 PM
Yes--inflation and width important, but it can workcommuterguy
Dec 31, 2003 8:45 AM
Second time today I am channelling Uncle Al. If you keep the PSI around 95-100, you shouldn't have any problems. I actually commuted over very bad terrain this summer on Pro Races, and (knock on wood) went 1500-ish miles without a flat. No big cuts either. While the only other high end tire I have used is Mich. Axial Pros, I have nothing but rave reviews for the Pro Races--I don't know how a tire could be better. Very fast in the flats, confidence-inspiring in the turns, and incredibly comfortable over rough terrain (again, assuming inflation is consistent with the sidewall instructions).

Oh, I should have noted that my weight (with my pack) varies from 200-220 lbs.