RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Too heavy for Race Lite?(19 posts)

Too heavy for Race Lite?RD-Man
Dec 23, 2003 9:40 AM
I'm 6'3" and weigh about 210-215 (looking to get down to about 195-200 with new bike!). LBS guy says I'm right on the edge of whether I should ride on Bontrager Race Lite wheels. Do you guys agree/disagree with this statement? Nothing like broken spokes to really screw up your ride! Thanks.
And, the reason you want Race Lites is?Mel Erickson
Dec 23, 2003 9:53 AM
If these will be training, training/racing or JRA wheels I would go with something more robust. These would be good race wheels but you are on the edge. How many pairs of wheels do you have or intend to have? How much money you got to spend?
the RaceLite's probably came with your bike, right?PmbH
Dec 23, 2003 10:04 AM
You probably will be OK on RaceLites. I rode them for a year with no problems and I'm 200. But, if you are concerned about them:

Save them for racing, fast club rides, etc. Or save them for after you reach your weight goal. For a second set, pick up an inexpensive and durable wheelset (Nashbar has a wheelset with Shimano hubs Mavic CXP22 rims for $99). It's always a good thing to have two sets of wheels anyway.
WAIT A MINUTEcjwill
Dec 23, 2003 10:21 AM
Hold on 5'-11" ~220 I ride the Trek 5200 "2004" for about 6 months now. "NOT A RACER" I ride the dsame Bontriger Race lites that came stock on the bike the day I bought it.
have not had a Problem Yet! (as with any wheelset you can run into problems) **NOTE** I started riding at 240 a low est.

but I ride that same wheelset today 3 to 5 time a week min of 35 mile a day or longer, in all type of weather. NO SNOW IN SUNNY So CAL.

So the real choice is yours. my shop said they would hold up just fine.

cjsmaw@msn.com
re: Too heavy for Race Lite?Drone 5200
Dec 23, 2003 10:44 AM
I've been on them since March. Started at 205 pounds and the LBS said they would be fine. I've had no problems. Still true. I use the wheels for everyday riding. I don't race. I've gone down from the 205 by about 30 lbs since march.
ThanksRD-Man
Dec 23, 2003 11:07 AM
Thanks for all the responses. I haven't picked the bike yet, but the Race Lites do come stock on a few on my short list. My understanding is that Ksyriums are lighter and stronger. Is this true? (for example, the Mavic Ksyrium Equipe that comes stock on the Bianchi Virata.) Thanks. p.s. Congrats to Drone for dropping 30lbs since March!
Race Litesngl
Dec 23, 2003 12:17 PM
My 200lb - 220lb freind has used the Rolf Pros ( very similar to the lites) for 5 years without a trueing! Based on his results, I would not hesitate going with the lites.
ThanksDrone 5200
Dec 23, 2003 2:35 PM
and good luck to you doing the same!
Does anyone else think this post is funny?Continental
Dec 23, 2003 12:40 PM
200 pounders discussing the virtues of lightweight wheels just strikes me as really funny.
all cyclists compare durability vs. performancePmbH
Dec 23, 2003 12:54 PM
why is that funny?
You really don't get it?Continental
Dec 23, 2003 2:27 PM
210 pounder rides 35 miles 3 times a week. Bike shop wants to sell him bike featuring lightweight wheels. Multiple other 200 pound recreational riders chime in about how great lightweight wheels are. And this is presumably a forum where people can get expert advise. Now that's funny!

If you're a 200 pounder planning to ride 35 miles 3 times a week to lose 15 pounds or so, and a bike shop tries to sell you on light weight wheels, turn around and run out the door. Find a shop that recommends a good 32 spoke 3 cross wheel. But don't take my word for it, get you advise on wheels from Uncle Al, a mechanic at roadbikerider.com. Search Uncle Al's rants for wheels. He cuts throught the marketing hype and gives good advise.
Nope, I don'tPmbH
Dec 23, 2003 2:50 PM
Some people who are passionate about cycling like to talk about their equipment choices... They like to scrutinize each component selection... They like to experiment with various parts to fine-tune their bike... Some people enjoy talking bikes with other people that like to talk bikes. That's my opinion.

I personally think it's worth discussing because so many modern lightweight wheelsets are durable enough for 200+ lb riders.

For our original poster, he doesn't want to buy lightweight wheels. He wants to buy a complete bike that comes with the RaceLites, and is wondering if other people like him have had good experiences with those wheels. Seems like something worth asking in a cycling forum.

Still doesn't seem funny though.
Maybe you don't get it....TNSquared
Dec 23, 2003 2:52 PM
I didn't read where anyone in this thread raved about light weight wheels. The question was, I'm buying a bike that happens to come with these wheels and I'm concerned. Will they be durable enough for a heavier rider? The answers have been, yeah, probably they will be durable enough.

I don't think anyone is suggesting a heavier rider should go out of his way for light weight wheels. The shop even warned him, in fact. So cut the guys some slack. They are just offering their opinions of the durability of the Race Lite based on experience.

Based on what I know about the Race Lites, I wouldn't tell this guy he necessarily needs to go spend extra bucks on your "stronger" wheels if he is already buying a bike that comes with the Race Lites. The Race Lite is pretty darn strong and probably worth trying *if* they come with the bike. On the other hand, if he needs to select wheels anyway, then going with the 32, 3x is certainly good advice.
Maybe you don't get it....Louis_G
Dec 24, 2003 8:27 AM
If you're 225 like I am when you're 6'5" you may not get much lighter if you're already thin at 225 with a reasonable % body fat.

So your body is already as optimized as its going to get (within the limitations of someone who isn't a pro athlete or someone with lots of time for working out). What is the harm in trying to lose 3lbs off your bike? Sure as a % of your body weight 3lbs is nothing but it still contributes on long rides (especially long hilly rides) and if you bike competetively or with groups of people that 3lbs might make the difference.
Race Lites = durable but not very lightTNSquared
Dec 23, 2003 1:29 PM
I've beaten the h#ll outta my Race Lites with absolute no problem. However, they ain't that light. Somewhere around 1900 grams, if I remember. They're not boat anchors by any means, but they are hardly true racing wheels.
...bill105
Dec 23, 2003 1:40 PM
velomax circuit comps are lighter (1650g) and cheaper. plus theyre bombproof.
Race Lites = durable but not very lightinsmanblue
Dec 23, 2003 3:41 PM
I weigh 215 and ride the Race X Lite which are about 400 grams lighter. I haven't had any problems at all. I have about 5000 miles total on two sets. I've gone over chuck holes and the wheels don't even need truing. I think you won't have any problems with the Race Lites.
Race Lite experienceDaveLobster
Dec 24, 2003 6:13 AM
I purchased a pair of used Race Lites from an Army Master Sargent who was your size or bigger. They came new on his Lemond, and he had used them for well over a year. He was a serious fitness nut, and he commuted 34 miles round trip virtually every day, in addition to the usual weekend rides. I now have them on my primary training bike for almost a year and they have held up fine. I'm 180-175lbs.

I think the main point that most poster are missing is that these are not fly-weight race-only wheels. These ARE good everyday wheels. They weigh in right around 1750 grams, which is nothing to worry about. Sure, they have only 20 spokes up front and 24 rear, but they are well-designed and really robust.

To your original message: if they come on the bike you want to buy, keep them and don't worry about them. These are very popular wheels, and as you've seen, come stock on a lot of popular bikes. If there were serious problems with them we'd all know about it by now. -Dave
re: Too heavy for Race Lite?Louis_G
Dec 24, 2003 8:21 AM
Sounds like a line of BS to me. I rode the crap out of the lesser Bontrager Select wheels and I'm 6'5" 225. No broken spokes in > 1000 miles of hard riding.