RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anybody ever post on Bikeforums.net?(11 posts)

Anybody ever post on Bikeforums.net?Dave_Stohler
Dec 23, 2003 7:11 AM
I know that there are a few of you (cross-posting and all-makes it pretty obvious), but I'm wondering what you all think of this site?

I guess my biggest complaint about this site is that, while it has nice graphics, and is easy to use, some of the people moderating it don't know squat about bikes. It's really turned into a hybrid and cruiser forum as of late. Too bad, because it used to actually be good.

FWIW, I used to post there, mostly in the road bike and the bike mechanics forums, but recently one certain "busybody" mod has turned into a real b!tch, so I left. I guess she didn't like the way I 'offended' people when I corrected their stupid mistakes. Oh well, no big loss. At the rate she's p!ssing people off on that forum, nobody will be left there soon, anyway.
re: Anybody ever post on Bikeforums.net?eddie m
Dec 23, 2003 10:03 AM
I started a little mini-flame war there one time by responding to someone who wanted to know how to meet women cyclists. I told him women are attracted to the strongest or most competent men in any activity, regardless of meaningless or contrived that activity is. So I told him that, to meet women cyclists, he should become the fastest rider in the group. If he couldn't do that, switch to another activity where he could excel. All the angry responses (mostly by self-described "less attractive" women, or by married men) were pretty funny, but I was actually (mildly) reprimanded by the moderator for my opinion (which is actually supported by well known socio-biological theory).
Link! (nm)PseuZQ
Dec 23, 2003 10:28 AM
OK:Dave_Stohler
Dec 23, 2003 12:30 PM
http://www.bikeforums.net
I can only guess who the mod was (nm)Dave_Stohler
Dec 23, 2003 12:27 PM
YesET_SoCal
Dec 23, 2003 12:58 PM
I often post on the commuting forum there.
Same name, different place.

But I rarley cross-post the same question or issue on many of the different boards I visit.
It gets better:Dave_Stohler
Dec 23, 2003 4:25 PM
a friend who posts on Bikeforums.net has told me that about a dozen people responded positively to my 'goodbye' post there, and the "thread nazi" locked the thread. Then, when several more people spoke up in my favor, she deleted the post! Geez, people in China get better treatment!

I guess the don't believe in allowing people to express their opinions there. Well, no matter-once the new software here gets started, nobody will want to deal with those hypocites, anyway.

i I don' agree with your post. No post for you!!
It gets better:snapdragen
Dec 23, 2003 8:20 PM
Dave,

I registered on bikeforums a short time ago. From the get-go I didn't like the "vibes". Tonight I posted a "How do I get off the membership list" question. I cited my feelings towards the moderators etc.

My post is gone.

She is an odd one.......

Janet
mods:Dave_Stohler
Dec 24, 2003 9:51 AM
There are 12 mods there at bikeforums. Only 2 are wrenches. 2 or 3 are computer geeks, 3 are unemployed, and a few are working menial 'service industry' jobs. The one we are talking about is (drumroll please...) an aerobics instructor! She actually had to ask a few months ago how to change a tire on a bike! Now she gets to chose who can stay and post?
Wow, What a bunch of people to moderate a bike forum!
I think,ET_SoCal
Dec 24, 2003 8:09 AM
A lot of boards are trying to keep it to the topic

Of/About Bicycles

And maybe a few Off Topic issues...

Looks what's happened to Passion? A few years ago it was 95% about the ride.
Now it's a gang-bang of whatever you want to say. Attack anyone you want, they can reply/attack you back.
Look there today - someone attacking the Christian Religion
This week of all weeks...

Usually when I post something (About Riding) it's on the second page in less than an hour.

Although I often find it entertaining, I go there because of the Bike discussions
re: Anybody ever post on Bikeforums.net?aliensporebomb
Dec 24, 2003 10:40 AM
Interesting. I'm joined there but haven't posted
regularly for a while since I was mainly talking about
commuting issues there and haven't commuted during the
snow months. I'll check it out again.