RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anybody tried these tires??(12 posts)

Anybody tried these tires??MVN
Dec 20, 2003 10:15 PM
Nashbar has a sale on tires, and the Maxxis Detonators and Fuse tires are cheap. They may be good trainer tires, but I was wondering if anyone has tried them and if so, opinions?
Thanks
Mark
And while you're at it...Uncle Tim
Dec 20, 2003 11:59 PM
...what's the deal with the Maxxis Hors Catégorie tires that I see advertised for around $20?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

TIA,

Your Unc
Maxxis tires on pro bikes...Breakfast
Dec 21, 2003 6:46 AM
The Maxxie Hors Categorie tires are being used by Team 7-Up/Maxxis and T-Mobile Womens team.

I've seen one of the T-Mobile bikes myself and it had these tires on it.

Mostly, the tire was picked for sponsorship reasons, but Cyclingnews.com had a favorable review.

I bought a few at the $20 price from River City Bikes online and have yet to mount them on my bike (still waiting for my current tires to need replacing).
Maxxis tires on pro bikes...merckx56
Dec 21, 2003 7:29 AM
Pros actually DO use these tires and like them. The 7Up guys speak very highly of them. I am friends with 7up's director, who also holds a pro card, and says that all of his guys like them better than the Ritcheys they rode before. I've been on them for about six months and like them alot. They seem to react alot like Michelin pro race tires. If you hold a Maxxis ans a Michlin next to one another, they look and feel very similiar. They have some new, lightweight tires coming out in the spring. Jeff gave me a pair, but I haven't put 'em just yet. Maxxis (Cheng Shen) makes good stuff at good prices. Dead cost is just under $20 for the Xenith HC tires.
...not really.....Alexx
Dec 21, 2003 8:39 AM
The best kept 'secret' in bike racing is this: the tires pros race on are NOT the same ones you and I can buy at the LBS. Sure, the tires SAY Maxxis on them, but who know whether they are anything similar to the ones on the shelf, or are even MAD by Maxxis. FWIW, most of the 'top' riders in Europe ride on tires made by Veloflex, even though the tires carry a myriad of manufacturer names.
So when I'm riding the tires...merckx56
Dec 21, 2003 9:50 AM
that came out of the back of the team car, that the team director gave me, I'm really not riding Maxxis tires?? US pro teams, such as 7Up (or HealthNet, as they'll be called next year) do, in fact ride the sponsor's stuff. Maxxis is a co-sponsor of the team for pete's sake. I saw an invoice the other night at Jeff's house from Maxxis for about 150 pairs of tires to take to camp in January. It didn't say Maxxis, by way of Veloflex, on it. Maxxis is just a brand name for the manufacturer, Cheng Shen, which is one of the largest tire makers in the world. Top riders in Europe ride what they want, but the American pros ride what the team provides.
I think that's getting to be less and less true,TJeanloz
Dec 21, 2003 11:28 AM
The fact of the world is getting to be that technology, rather than craftsmanship, is becoming the differentiator in bicycle products. It used to be that handmade tires from Europe were the best, and crap tires came out of Indonesia, Thailand, and Vietnam. Now, pretty much all tires come out of the far east, and they are almost universally better than the European ones.

Most pro teams have two criteria for their everyday tires: cheap and durable. Particularly for training tires, you'd rather have something that isn't going to flat than something handmade by an old man in Europe. Special race (time trial, hillclimb, etc.) tires may be the exception.

Overall, the gear the pro peleton is using is more and more the same gear that you find in your LBS.
Is everything not as it seems?Breakfast
Dec 21, 2003 1:45 PM
There maybe some truth in what you say, but the burden is on one such as yourself who makes such an allegation to prove it to us "consumers".

We can imagine there being prototype tires unavailable to the public that pros are using and even rebranding in rare cases simply to get a name/logo on a tire but it is not true that the Maxxis tires used by these teams aren't readily available at dealers.
semi-relateddivve
Dec 21, 2003 12:17 AM
In Europe (specifically in Germany) I noticed shops selling Michelin Pro Race tires for anything between $22.50 - $26. Maybe a similar price drop can be expected in the US for the near future?
You get what you pay for (Nm)spluti
Dec 21, 2003 1:14 AM
And in conclusion...spluti
Dec 21, 2003 1:17 AM
The more you pay the the more you need to expect it to break. The choice is yours.
Detonators are great training tyres.climbo
Dec 21, 2003 7:25 AM
I race tubies but the Detonators are on my training clunchers and yes, they are fine, seem to be wearing well, no problems. They are a very tight fit on the rim, much like Michelin's.