RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bicylist death...(9 posts)

Bicylist death...NewDayNewWay
Dec 18, 2003 12:07 PM
Hi all, I've been out of the loop, so forgive me if something was already posted. Some friends of ours were having dinner at an area restaurant. A road cyclist came by on the road outside, apparently slipped on some ice or water, fell down, broke his neck right, and died right on the spot. Needless to say, my friends were unable to finish their dinner. Police came and spent some time taking photographs and interviewing witnesses. Very sad, especially right before the holidays. Can't imagine what his family is going through. My wife relayed this story to me, and clearly had concern about my wellfare given my active riding. Was a reminder to me of what is really important this time of year. NDNW
man, this is sad.. and I had to ride on ice this morning!cyclopathic
Dec 18, 2003 12:16 PM
a few really bad black ice patches, one ~50 yard long. Now I didn't wipe out today, it was last night.
I got off and walked over a few this morning.dzrider
Dec 18, 2003 12:34 PM
My experience on ice is that I've hit the ground b4 I knew I was falling. Once watched my bike slide close to 50 feet and fell trying to walk to it.

It's sobering and saddening to hear of people crashing and dying without hitting cars or going really fast. We're a lot more fragile than we think.
I'll probably walk tonightcyclopathic
Dec 18, 2003 12:54 PM
I wiped out yesterday in the dark, coming into corner. Luckly for me at ~10-12mph, unclipped in time and had thick winter gloves. Bike just slid under me, no fishtailing/front washout, just straight well ballanced slid.

I am used to "controlled" crashing on MTB, and riding on ice is as dicy as rollers; really sloow, keep steer straight and apply no pressure to pedals. But I think I am getting old for falling off the bike. It hurts
Yeah, at 55 I no longer bounce.dzrider
Dec 18, 2003 1:05 PM
I'm jogging home tonight. I locked my bike with the wrong lock and don't have a key for it until I get my car back from the mechanic. When I read the post I took it as a sign.
re: Bicylist death...ClydeTri
Dec 18, 2003 1:11 PM
All please consider not riding when ice is on the roads. Cycling is supposed to be fun and healthy, not this outcome. One life lost is one too many. There will be many days to ride in the future with no ice on the roads.
re: Bicylist death...jtolleson
Dec 18, 2003 1:46 PM
Agreed. I simply do not ride icy roads, and frankly try to avoid even packed snow-type conditions. It isn't worth it.

A bad crash can change (or end) your life in an instant. I've been there, I know.
Not to lessen the message but studded snow tirestreebound
Dec 18, 2003 1:57 PM
When I ride in the winter I use the studded snow tires on the MTB.
You can die hitting a patch of oil or a tar snake in the hot summer time if you land wrong. Happens quicker on ice, but can happen anytime.
Don't know if the rider's death could have been prevented, but use the proper gear (includes everything from a helmet to tires for the conditions).
Don't mean to preach either, sorry.

http://harriscyclery.net/site/page.cfm?PageID=49&Category=663

http://www.mtbreview.com/reviews/Tire/product_23285.shtml

http://www.nokian.com/bike/winter/index.html
re: Bicylist death...NewDayNewWay
Dec 18, 2003 5:19 PM
This was in Durham NC on Tuesday. It was pretty cold as I recall. I think that was the day when there was a layer of freezing water in some places in the morning, especially in the shade, but this was noonish when this occurred. Could have been a shady spot, with some left over ice. But generally the roads would have been mostly ice-free at the time of the day, so it was very much a freak accident, both in that it happened at all, and because of the outcome.

My friend was very sensitive to this and would like more information so that she can move on after witnessing this, e.g., did the guy have a wife and kids. Will search N&O and other sources, but if anyone has any info please let me know.

NDNW