RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


race directorship week 3(17 posts)

race directorship week 3JS Haiku Shop
Dec 18, 2003 6:57 AM
week 3 of the resurrected 4-event cyclocross series (december 7 - january 3, skipping a week for the holiday).

it's been a roller coaster of effort and emotion. this was a pieced-together collection of ideas and hard work, for me, at least until the trophies arrived yesterday from Crown. (they were spectacular to deal with, didn't miss a beat, were fast and accurate, and the pricing was reasonable. and the trophies look great.)

laying out the course went from a hand-wringing worryfest to a joy that i obsesss over and repeat several times **per day**. riding and re-riding sections after hammering the circuit in preparation, is perhaps the most enjoyable piece of the process. and racing my own painfest last sunday, when only about half of the field knew i was the guilty party, was an experience--hearing lactic-induced comments about the course, during the race, and watching a few people walk the hills. (it was easy to observe, as i was one of them.)

course management is another story. it's taken me two weeks to realize the administration necessary in assinging specific tasks and areas of responsibility to volunteers. the hardest part--with 1 or 100 volunteers at setup--is taking care of course marking, while giving direction. i'm already there beteween 4 and 5 AM setting up, as planting barriers takes a good deal of time. my courses are kinda insane, but must be to make the most use of the relatively small amount of land (but it's a dry heat).

the amazing thing i've noticed--most notably last weekend--is that 3-4 hours of my own time, plus an hour of 4-6 peoples' time, setting up the course in the AM...is nullified by 25 minutes of everyone helping tear down and load my vehicle. after a week of planning, scouting, pre-riding, thinking, dreaming, eating, and sleeping this sunday's race, then putting it into motion, riding the race and leaving it *all* on the course, then scoring the A race, well...everyone pitching in afterward is emotional to behold.

a heavy package from Honey Stinger (EN-R-G Foods) appeared on my front porch, tuesday afternoon. vacant for 24 hours, my porch was blessed again by Brown Santa, with trophies, yesterday afternoon. i'm excited and strangely validated by anonymous boxes on my stoop.

i'd gotten a bit compulsive about race things, particularly between the first event's low showing, and the second one's gamble. but i'm all better now, mostly. it wasn't until a good friend reminded me that i'm "throwing a party for the antisocial."

as for me, i am lifetime devoted to singlespeed racing. and DFL be damned, it's not about time or placing. it's about self-discovery. and so the courses will be hard, and i'll ride, too.

Setting It Off,

Race Director
SLC 2003
I like the looks of that routeSpecialTater
Dec 18, 2003 7:29 AM
and Bleu will be ready to geau Sunday Sunday SUNDAY! Needs a r.d. adjustment and some Time cleats for the shoes (or a pedal swap), but the brakes are adjusted, the bar is mostly straight and the wheels are close to true.

Sacre bleu!
awesome! can't wait to meet Bleu!JS Haiku Shop
Dec 18, 2003 8:04 AM
we're pre-riding and finalizing race plans on saturday at 1:30ish, if you are so inclined and your schedule is clear. we'll probably spend 60-90 minutes on the bikes/course.

ok, correction: we'll probably spend 60 minutes on the bike and 30 minutes trash talking. i'd be happy to have a look at that r.der fer ye, on saturday. also have a pedal-spindle-sized cone wrench, though it's short and doesn't provide much leverage.

wonder if TN2 has a full-sized pedal wrench (??).

if the bars are mostly straight and wheels are close to true now, it's going to need a makeover on monday. :)

course includes a scorching-fast descent and all the gravel & hardpack you can eat.
I should be thereSpecialTater
Dec 18, 2003 10:20 AM
I believe I've gotten a pass for 1:30 Sat. And I got the time cleats. The bike should be ready. Looks doubtful for me though. :)
I have two Park pedal wrneches, you're welcome to 'em....TNSquared
Dec 18, 2003 11:55 AM
as long as you don't mind the small dings from the hammer whacks around the outside. yes, there is an embarrasing story behind that.
and two wrenches as well...TNSquared
Dec 18, 2003 11:58 AM
I'm impressed...biknben
Dec 18, 2003 8:53 AM
Sorry to read that it's been so tasking on you the last few weeks. OTOH, it looks like you've created a really nice series. The web site is nice and the course maps looks like something I wish I could participate in.

I just had a club meeting last night to prepare for a MTB race we are hosting in the spring. I've taken the lead on handling the money. I'm estimating how much we should expect to bring in and how we should spend it.

Can you provide a link to the source for your trophies? The link in your first message doesn't seem to be working.

Great to see that the series is working out for you. Good luck with the rest of the races.
here ya goJS Haiku Shop
Dec 18, 2003 10:58 AM
http://www.crownawards.com/

and you can view the actual series trophies at:

http://www.geocities.com/smellslikecross/hardware.html

made the entire order from my keyboard. i absolutely thrilled when they arrived. fast turnaround, better-than-great customer service, great product, reasonable prices, actual shipping (not a jacked-up rate). A+ for crown.
looks like a fast 'uneggshell
Dec 18, 2003 9:47 AM
after getting the "lay of the land" last week, looks to me like we'll be seeing faster lap times and more of them. i am looking forward to your unique placement of the barriers on this faster course! great job last week and i enjoyed meeting you and others. Ms. J's(wife/gfriend??) should be commended for the great job i observed her doing as well. the people there that were not even racing but volunteering their time and efforts on such a cold,s#*$&y day have my utmost respect. i learned last week that my seldom-used mtb is in big time need of a tuneup(loose h.s.,f'd up shifter,fried brakes) and i'm just getting back in town, but i'll race on one wheel Sunday if i have to! thanks again J for your devotion,time and love of the sport.
-eggshell
p.s.-i promise i'll do a better job rolling barrier tape this week during breakdown!
looks like a fast 'unJS Haiku Shop
Dec 18, 2003 11:02 AM
email me if you need a referral for the tune-up. cat 5 tattoo at yahoo dot com.

mrs. j = wife, boss, financier, and director of homeland security. when i deserved a padded room after race 1, she decided to jump in and help. others there included my parents, and regulars on my weekend road rides. the person at first running registration, then running the scoring for the 9 am race, is my #1 go-to for anything, and she's absolutely faultless.

it really does take a full crew to do this thing. i'm just the fuse!
Hey JS, email megregg
Dec 18, 2003 10:43 AM
gkato@roadbikereview.com
now THAT'S what i'm talkin 'boutJS Haiku Shop
Dec 18, 2003 12:45 PM
thanks to Sabine for the fine pictoral review on the c/c forum. here's the men's 35-39 winner (or something) at nationals. hows about we manufacture some jan ullrich faces like this one on sunday? i mean, come on. "too tough." LOL! looks like our races are more like a 45 minute massage compared to this madness.

this picture totaly exemplifies the drive behind cyclocross--from the saddle or the clipboard. period.
I love it!Dropped
Dec 18, 2003 2:14 PM
Yes, that's what it is all about!!!

Hell, I was covered in mud last Sunday at Nationals and I was just a spectator!

Good luck to you in round 3.
Gonna have a SS class?MB1
Dec 18, 2003 6:39 PM
Never know who might show up.
yessir, ss is our most-attended class so farJS Haiku Shop
Dec 19, 2003 7:48 AM
8 out of 24 last weekend were riding in ss class, and one riding ss in women's class (she dropped most of the b/c/w/ss riders on a 30+ pound ss mtb). so that's 9 of 24, including your humble race director.

check the c/c board post here for more...

we have racers in SS riding from "A" ability all the way down to, well, me--i finished DFL last week. my excuse? gear too large. racing 39/18. too late to get a smaller chainring. would i anyway? no sir.

ss is my favorite class. we are having some great prizes and trophies, each week and after the series, for ss. check the series website for more information on ss double points and lots of other fun stuff.

i'm always on the lookout for a nice surprise.

-J

ps. here's my steamroller after the 12/14 race...
re: race directorship week 3J2
Dec 19, 2003 8:52 AM
looks like i can make a guest appearance sat. can't wait. the course looks good, should be very fast. that should appease the speed demons (me included). now if we can just get some snow for the last one.... but i wouldn't miss these for anything, hell, i had to take off a week of work just to make that last race (it's on a sat instead of sun and i work on sat - only way for me to get that sat was take the whole week - oh well, i'll finally get some riding in).
AWESOME!JS Haiku Shop
Dec 19, 2003 9:06 PM
I did it for RH. the MRTC x/c series starts on 1/4. didn't want to rain on their parade. like anybody would skip the c/c series for x/c. LOL. anyhow, he was happy, and he's a bud, so i'm happy too.

-j

ps. don't forget your mullet wig on sunday. make one if you havta. i don't care what's coming out of the backside of yer helmet, it'd better look like a mullet. mullet prizes 3 deep. they're astounding prizes.

COME EARLY TOMORROW and i'll show you the *actual* course. i'm holding back, you know. :)

ps. i've warned all the ss riders to bring gears, and i wasn't kidding.

-j

buwahahahahahahahahah!!!!!!!!!!!!