RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Looking to buy first set of rollers; need opinions.(9 posts)

Looking to buy first set of rollers; need opinions.komatiite
Dec 17, 2003 8:42 PM
Im looking at getting either Kreitler Challengers or SportCrafters ZRO ALUMINUM ROLLERS. I know Kreitler are THE rollers to get, but looking at the SportCrafters, they have smaller drums (3.25" vs 4.5 " (ie more natural resistance)), lifetime warranty (as do Kreitlers) and are much cheaper ($240 vs $300) and are spin-balanced (not sure about Kreitlers).

I definetely want a set of QUALITY rollers and these both seem to be great purchases in their own right.

I really wonder how much difference there is in the ride with varying drum diameters?

Any info/opinions/ etc would be appreciated.
Poly-LytesDougSloan
Dec 17, 2003 9:24 PM
I have the Kreitler Poly Lytes. The work wonderfully. It's amazing the difference in resistance the smaller (they are 3.25" also) makes compared to normal sized rollers. 24 mph on the rollers equates to about 20 mph on the road. They are perfecly quiet and smooth, too. Don't know anything about the SportCrafters, but I can say that the Kreitlers are much quieter than the Tacx roller I used to have.

Doug
Dyno-LytesKeeping up with Junior
Dec 18, 2003 7:43 AM
The "Lyte" size Kreitler rollers are just the right diameter. I have found that my perceived effort for each gear ratio is similar to that on the road, maybe one cog easier.

Previously I had larger diameter Minoura rollers and found that I would spin out in 53x12 and could barely ride in the small ring because there was so little resistance.

Kreitler also has a smaller size "Myte" that I would imagine would be really tough.
Second the Poly-Lytesdjg
Dec 18, 2003 1:03 PM
Excellent rollers, and significantly cheaper than the dyno-lytes.

Texas cyclesport often throws in a set of veloflex pave tires (sorry Bill) and includes free shipping when you buy these--it's worth seeing what they have posted.
Just as a heads up-Colorado Cyclist has ZRO for $180 NMSwat Dawg
Dec 17, 2003 11:01 PM
Check eBay for the ZROsbiknben
Dec 18, 2003 6:44 AM
Someone is blowing out some of these on eBay.

This one will end today. The same seller has at least 3 other auctions for the same thing. All starting at $40. Might be worth keeping an eye on.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3645169620&category=36141
re: Looking to buy first set of rollers; need opinions.bw77
Dec 18, 2003 8:58 AM
I have Sportcrafters ZRO rollers, and I am very happy with them after about 9 weeks of use. I find the resistance is just right for me. Larger rollers would not have enough resistance by themselves. I paid $179 at Branford Bike, but the ebay price looks good.
How well do the ZRO's adjust for wheelbase?kilimanjaro
Dec 18, 2003 11:20 AM
Is it infinite adjustment or pre-drilled peg holes. I read somewhere that the front rollers should be just under your front tire.

Thanks
How well do the ZRO's adjust for wheelbase?bw77
Dec 18, 2003 2:39 PM
There are pre-drilled holes, about 1.25 inches on center.