RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


training logs, looking for suggestions(11 posts)

training logs, looking for suggestionsmoots
Dec 17, 2003 12:33 PM
Until now I've just used a simple Excel file to track miles, speed, heart rate, etc..

I would like to get more serious this season with my training and I was wonder what people use for tracking their training. Does anyone use the Training Bible?

Thanks in advance for suggestion!
Polar softwareundertrained
Dec 17, 2003 12:44 PM
Try to get your hands on the Polar Precision software. It comes with the 710/720 watches but you might be able to "borrow" a copy from somone. The software has lots of features and up to 15 custom reports. Definetely the best software available.
re: training logs, looking for suggestionsKEN2
Dec 17, 2003 12:46 PM
I use Athlete's Diary, by Stevens Creek. It has flexibility and you can track multiple sports using your own defined parameters.
Timex BodylinkAFred
Dec 17, 2003 12:57 PM
I just started using the Bodylink system. It tracks HR, speed and distance. You can record and upload each workout into your PC, and it spits out all sorts of info in chart format. The whole deal cost me $250. Riding with all of the components is a bit of drag, but the GPS and recorder are not too large, about the size of a cigarette box.
re: training logs, looking for suggestionsyeti491
Dec 17, 2003 1:26 PM
Check out the Personal Performance Package from endless pursuit.com. I just got one as an anniversary gift and it is the greatest thing for tracking training, mapping your favorite routes and numerous other options.
biketracker.com...Chicago_Steve
Dec 17, 2003 3:09 PM
Try it out for free then if you like it it is only $25/year
I still like excel best . . .Drone 5200
Dec 17, 2003 8:03 PM
try these

http://www.princeton.edu/~mdobossy/bikelogs/
nicegeorge_da_trog
Dec 18, 2003 8:57 AM
I like spreadsheets and I like free.

I use an excel spreadsheet but I might switch to one of these.

george
check out crosstraktwospoke
Dec 17, 2003 9:56 PM
www.crosstrak.com
This is a very nice product, with lots of really nice featurs and options, it's worth looking at.
Look at Ironcoach.comskimoviestar
Dec 18, 2003 11:51 PM
Try www.ironcoach.com. Lots of features. Very dependable... I've been using it for over two years now. It is free and downloads to Excel if you want to.
I have used TrainingBible, now using EndlessPursuit.js5280
Dec 20, 2003 7:53 PM
I started out using Training Bible to get an idea on how to prepare for my first triathlon about two years ago. It was a great resource from a training standpoint (i.e. get structured Friel style training plans). I didn't find it all that useful from a performance analysis standpoint back then.

I saw the EndlessPursuit product ( http://www.endlesspursuit.com ) at the Ride for the Roses this year. I've been contemplating purchasing a Polar 710 because of it's analysis features and download features. I've also been thinking about a GPS to track my rides (road and mtn.) The EndlessPursuit product gives me both GPS tracking data and performance data. Personally, I'm sick of replacing wire harnesses on my bikes a few times a year so GPS is a way around that. If you have a Timenx or Polar HR monitor, you can synch all the data with the EndlessPursuit info as well and get the best of both worlds.

I've been real happy with the product. Easy to use, plus I can use it for snowboarding, running, geocacheing, etc. so it's not limited to just cycling as a performance tool. I've been searching around to hear other's input, but there's not much yet except yeti491 and a review over at MTBR.com. Guess it's still early adopters at this point.

I'm interested in how the EndlessPursuit data stacks up to Polar's. I assume they both have to extrapolate a lot of their data so it would be interesting to hear a comparison. Personally, it's a lot better than what I had before, cheaper than a 710, more versatile, and no wiring harness. That was enough for me to buy the product. Here's a link with some of my analysis data:

js5280 "Performance data geeks rejoice (review of Endless Pursuit)" 12/7/03 11:38am