RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


recommendations on a computer with wireless cadence(17 posts)

recommendations on a computer with wireless cadenceorthosurg
Dec 16, 2003 3:12 PM
Im interested in a computer with wireless cadence and speed Any recommendations.

Does the vetta v100 calculate cadence off the sensor attached to the chainstay? or is it a virtual cadence like the flight deck system.
Mavic Win Techrussw19
Dec 16, 2003 3:31 PM
Wait till it's available and then check out the new Mavic computer. It was the talk of Interbike this year. The speed magnet is in the front wheels skewer and it has a wireless cadence pick up as well.

check it out here:
http://www.mavic.com/servlet/srt/mavic/newsfiche?lg=uk&news.id=70

Russ
re: recommendations on a computer with wireless cadencedrop-40
Dec 16, 2003 3:43 PM
I had a Vetta and had nothing but problems with it. They claim that it is now fixed. It would not read cadence at times or even at all. I returned it and went with flight deck. Very happy with flight deck. The new one the other poster mentioned sounds like it would be worth waiting for but I am curious about price?

Dropping lbs.
the problem with Flite Deckrussw19
Dec 16, 2003 4:01 PM
Flite Deck computers use a virtual cadence. It based the cadence on the gear you are in and the speed you are going. If you are coasting downhill, it still shows a cadence. At least that's what was described to me... I will admit that I have never used one, nor have I even played with one in the shop.

And I bet you are right, the Mavic computer will most likely be very expensive, but then Shimano and Campy set that trend. In the past if you had a computer that sold for more than $50, it had to have cadence, wireless, and heart rate on it... then Shimano said they were making a computer....

What's your review of the Flite Deck's cadence feature? You would know it better than me if you ride it.

Russ
Why do you think that is a problem?????Scollopini
Dec 16, 2003 4:22 PM
Russ,

Why do people think that because the cadence is virtual (i.e. if you are coasting it still registeres a value) that this represents a problem? I mean - no one needs to be told that your cadence is zero if you aren't pedalling, do they???? The fact that Flightdeck works this way is actually a bonus - you know when you can start to pedal on a descent without spinning out like a madman!!! The newer cordless flightdeck is a gem, IMO.
THis is what I thinkFez
Dec 16, 2003 4:44 PM
I'm not Russ, but this is why I don't like virtual cadence:

I can estimate what my cadence is under most circumstances. If I am working on technique, I use the cadence feature because I want a computer that tells me EXACTLY what it is.

Coasting isn't just going down in a tuck and not moving your feet. There are plenty of rolling downhills where one is still spinning, but not at a high enough cadence to maintain or increase the cruising speed. Virtual cadence is worthless in these circumstances.

I suspect virtual cadence is fairly accurate when going up hill.

Is the Flightdeck better than nothing? Probably. Is the install clean? Yes. Is it the computer for those who value cadence more than anything else? Probably not.
Fez, I don't get this.............Len J
Dec 16, 2003 5:52 PM
and it definatly is a "to each his own" situitation, but, cadence is valuable only when you are on top of the gear, otherwise, you know you are not on top of the gear & you either shift or coast (or semi-coast) in which case you are not interested in cadence. Because of this, virtual cadence is just as valuable as actual cadence (in 98% of the instances). The only thing you don't get with virtual cadence is the extra pickup.

I don't see the problem.

BTW, I use a Cateye Astrale with actual cadence for years and used the Flightdeck for 2 years & frankly they both gave me the same value in cadence training. It's not like I read the display without knowledge of the effort required to pedal>

Len
Its like thisFez
Dec 16, 2003 10:03 PM
If I am using a computer for cadence, I want to know EXACTLY what it is, at all times. Without a computer, I can guess my cadence pretty darn accurately (usually within 5 rpm). I don't need a Flight Deck to tell me information that is *not* completely accurate.

And actually, I am interested in cadence when I am not on top of the gear. It all depends on the types of roads you are riding, but there are some situations where I am in a very slight decline, a tailwind, or a gentle downhill when I may not be actually pushing the gear, but I still want to maintain my legspeed. Depending on the terrain, this can be for quite some distance. An actual cadence will give me the correct info. A virtual cadence will give me incorrect info as long as I am not on top of the gear, since it is based on gear and speed.

Like I said earlier, Flight Deck probably works best on slight inclines, big inclines, and any situation where you actually push the gear. I just want a setup that will tell me for those times I'm not actually pushing the gear, yet still want to keep up my spin.

If you are getting identical results with the Cateye and the FlightDeck, you are probably really good about staying on top of the gears throughout your ride. For some reason, I am not as good at that as I would like to be.
Fair enough, nmLen J
Dec 17, 2003 3:32 AM
New IdeaFez
Dec 17, 2003 6:16 AM
As an experiment, quickly add the Cateye to a bike that already has the FlightDeck installed. Run the two of them on cadence simultaneously. Compare.
Been there done that.............Len J
Dec 17, 2003 1:38 PM
and 98% of the time they are exactly the same.

Len
Why do you think that is a problem?????russw19
Dec 16, 2003 4:45 PM
It's not that if you aren't pedaling that it reads zero as the problem, it's that if you are pedaling it isn't accurate that is! Why get a computer that tells cadence if it isn't right? Why not just look at your feet and guess? I bet I can guess to a reasonable degree what my cadence is, why should I pay $100 for a computer to guess for me?

If you are coasting down a hill and you are turning the pedals at say 65 rpms, but the unit reads your speed and figures you are spinning more, do you know which is right? If not, what's the point of it?

Again, I haven't riden this computer, so take my opinions accordingly... and I did make it a point to say that in my first post about it.

Russ
Good points, thanks fellas...Scollopini
Dec 16, 2003 5:39 PM
A couple of good points I hadn't considered - thanks both of you. I guess I only use the cadence function on flatter sections to make sure I'm spinning quick enough - I don't use it on hills as my lowest gear (39 X 23) generally means I'm not too concerned about my cadence as I can't always up it even if I wanted to! I got the flightdeck for the same price as a Cateye cordless 7 so it represented a good deal to me.
Also, you need "actual" cadence for your trainerDrone 5200
Dec 16, 2003 7:11 PM
if you want to work on your spin in the off season.
re: recommendations on a computer with wireless cadencedrop-40
Dec 16, 2003 5:36 PM
I have the wireless flightdeck and I think it is a great computer. You can store mulitple wheels in memory so if you do cassete changes you do not need to reprogram. Virtual cadence has not been a problem for me. The cadence is based off an exact gear range and if you are pedal with forward momentum then it is as accurate as your tire setting is. Shows speed and cadence at same time and many other screen views. I am very happy with mine. I like not having any wires showing. I did have LBS set it up. Cost was Around a $100 maybe a little more do not remeber exact cost.
Dropping lbs.
Cateye Astrale 8 works fine. -nmTig
Dec 17, 2003 6:14 AM
I was all over the CA-8 until cadence decided to stop workinghrv
Dec 17, 2003 9:56 AM
Barely had it for 6 months. Just stopped working the other day. Yeah, I'll email Cateye, might be able to get a free replacement for the mounting kit, but if this happens on the morning of an important TT (not that it's rocket science to figure out cadence, but it's mindless with the display), it just might affect my psyche.

hrv