RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What's your opinion of this Pinarello(17 posts)

What's your opinion of this PinarelloFez
Dec 16, 2003 11:54 AM
Saw this in the gallery

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/roadbike/gallery/files/Galileo.asp

In general, why the flat bar? For easy riding and cruising, doesn't a standard road bar setup work better? All it takes to make it comfortable is a tall steerer tube and a positive rise stem. I don't think flat bars are inherently more stable or comfortable than a properly adjusted drop bar setup.

Don't know if the frame is too big for the owner, but wouldn't a smaller frame or a sloping top tube work better for increased standover? If this is was meant to be ridden in the city with frequent stops, increased standover would be a plus.

Anyone have any constructive thoughts on this bike?

You don't have to say its ugly... the people in the gallery have already done that.
re: What's your opinion of this Pinarellolaffeaux
Dec 16, 2003 11:59 AM
If the flat bar works for the owner and is comfortable, then the bar set up is exactly correct for that bike. Some people prefer different set ups, and there is nothing wrong with it. If you run drop bars on a MTB, are you automatically in the a "less correct" position? Ride what works.
Owner had to work to get that set up.Turtleherder
Dec 16, 2003 12:31 PM
The owner must have had a reason for buying an expensive frame and then putting a flat bar on it. Maybe he has problems with his wrists and the flat bar was more comfortable.
My 2 centsDropped
Dec 16, 2003 12:34 PM
Hey, at least it's something different. If the owner gets off on it, more power to him.

That said, as someone who rides a bike in a city every day, I would go a different route myself if I was designing what I consider to be the ultimate city bike. To me, a city bike is something that will get trashed and ought to be expendable. As a practical matter, a city bike needs to be something you can lock up to a bike rack. But as I said at the beginning, it's not my bike and I don't have to ride it.

(Oh, and as a Pinarello owner/fan, the flat bar is kinda like seeing a beard on a beautiful woman. Again, just my personal preference.)
So what would you do?Fez
Dec 16, 2003 2:50 PM
Just ride it and put a bag over the handlebars?
So what would you do?Dropped
Dec 16, 2003 3:18 PM
LOL. And hope my friends don't see me.

Seriously, I'd put drop bars on it. And then I'd take one of my old mountain bikes, put slicks and fenders on it, and have a city bike that I wouldn't be too bummed about if it got stolen or trashed.

But then, it isn't my bike . . .
Oops, correction.Fez
Dec 16, 2003 3:52 PM
I meant ride it put a bag over the mustache. LOL

And yes, I do think a light hardtail with slicks would do better for city bike duty.
$140 seatpost on a citybike/commuter?...52-16SS
Dec 16, 2003 1:15 PM
That's almost like owning a dogma, king, and TF1 at the same time!
re: What's your opinion of this PinarelloTjoiwr
Dec 16, 2003 2:02 PM
I built a flat bar road bike (Bianchi SL) for my wife. She wasn't strong enough to shift with STI because of her arthritis and the reach.
Subtopic - When to Use Flat Bar or Road Bar?Fez
Dec 16, 2003 2:48 PM
I'm talking about a road or cyclocross-style bike used for touring, easy rides, mild off-road, or city commutes.

I notice that the road bar seems more common for cyclocross.

Tjoiwr pointed out arthritis and reach as reasons for the flat bar. Any other considerations to use one over the other?
Novice riders...russw19
Dec 16, 2003 3:25 PM
A lot of novice riders are intimidated by drop handlebars and skinny tires. That's the exact reason that in the mid-late 80's that mountain bikes took over as the recreational bikes of choice. They had drawbacks such as weight and gearing so bike manufacturers made cross-bikes (not a cyclocross bike) or hybrids. Flat bar road bikes are just further evolution of that.

I think the ultimate city bikes are lightweight 29 inch mountain bikes with cross bike tires myself. They are easy to ride, fairly light, but still durable enough to assault curbs and sidewalks, and still geared high enough that you can get moving on them. I wouldn't knock this guys bike too bad, but if it was mine, I would have started with a cyclocross or touring frame so I could run cantilevers or V-brakes, and would run a slightly knobby 700x35 tire on it.

Here's my ideal city bike... I want to get one of these in the next few months, but I also want a new hardtail mountain bike, so I don't know which will come first.

http://www.fisherbikes.com/bikes/bike_detail.asp?series=dualsport&bike=DualSport129

The shop I work part time at had one of the 229's and it was sweet... this one is a little nicer.

Russ
Put on a different front shock andMel Erickson
Dec 16, 2003 3:43 PM
you've got your city bike and your hardtail MTB. A 29er is a little less agile on single track but it sure rides nice over rough stuff. A buddy won a GF 29er (can't remember which model) and I got to ride it for awhile. Nice bike.
I actually want the Ziggaraut for my hardtail...russw19
Dec 16, 2003 3:55 PM
But I am debating between that and one of the Cake bikes. I just rode one of the Cakes 2 weeks ago and it was nice. Besides, I already have a really nice hardtail.

Russ
Russ,Fez
Dec 16, 2003 4:06 PM
Why does cyclocross use the drop handlebar?

And just curious... why would you choose a MTB with 29" tires (they are actually 700x42) as your ideal city bike

How would you compare it to a Cyclocross bike w/ equivalent gearing, brakes, and 700x35 tires?
City BikeGripfer
Dec 16, 2003 4:33 PM
I like the look and if you can afford the Pinarello frame why not? By the way what does the abbreviation NM mean?
Thanks
NM means No Messagerussw19
Dec 16, 2003 5:15 PM
If a post's title line has "nm." in it that means there is no message body. Just what's in the title line. So don't bother to waste time opening the body... it's blank.

Russ
Russ,russw19
Dec 16, 2003 5:13 PM
I like this particular bike for several reasons...

1. Disc brakes, hydraulic Hayes at that. Some of the nicest made.

2. I like the flat bar for rolling around town. It's comfy until you ride lots of miles at a time... for a commuter bike, they are fine and it's easier to hop up on curbs and such with flat bars in my opinon.

3. I would most likely ride that bike with Avocet 700x35 touring tires. Slick with an inverted tread, super durable and fast. And I would most likely lower the gearing with a road cassette as my town is pretty darn flat. After a while I might change out the crank and upgrade it but make it a double instead of a triple. I don't need the granny gears where I live.

4. The fork has a lockout. Good for pavement.

I have riden the lower model of this bike, the 229 and I was immediately impressed. It just rode awesome. Not like a mountain bike, but way nicer than any hybrid I have ever riden. It was compfy, agile, and fast.

As for cross bikes, I love them, but I would pick that bike because I work at a Fisher Dealer so I get the EP deal. I could also get a Lemond Poprad, but I don't like how it's spec'd. With mountain bikes (which I would consider this as since it has mountain bike components) you can get better deals than with cyclocross bikes (which use mostly road bike stuff, which isn't as cheap.) I really want a Ritchey Swiss Cross with the Plexus stays, but I can't afford it if I want to buy 3 other bikes this year...

Oh, and cyclocross bikes use drop bars because it's a European sport and has been around longer than mountain bikes have been around. When mountian bikes started to become popular people were riding them in cross races, and the mountian bikes had a huge advantage of being able to ride over and thru stuff that cross bikes couldn't. In some international races mountain bikes are actually banned. There are only a few race series left (mostly in the US) that allow mountain bikes in cross races, and in those the course designers usually leave in long straights so the cross bikes can have an advantage.

Hope that helps,

Russ