RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Early Christmas present. Just finished my new ride.(32 posts)

Early Christmas present. Just finished my new ride.Mel Erickson
Dec 15, 2003 1:44 PM
Here's the specs.

Frameset: Raleigh Professional - Columbus Zona Nivachrom shaped tubing, 59cm

Fork: Columbus carbon

Headset: Columbus integrated

Levers: Chorus 10 w/Campy housing and cables

Frt. Der.: Record 10

Rear Der.: Chorus 10

Crank: Record 10 (not carbon)

Chain: IRD 10

Cassette: American Classic (conversion) - 12-25

Wheelset: Velocity Nuvian - Aerohead rims, Velocity hubs (Shimano compatible), Wheelsmith DB 15-17 spokes, 24 radial front, 32 3X rear

Tires: Schwalbe Stelvio Evolution, 700X23C (specific front and rear), Salsa tubes, Continental rim strips

Pedals: Keywin Cro-mo now, Time Impact on the way

Brakes: Cannondale Theta

Stem: Salsa Moto SUL - 80mm

Bars: Salsa Pro – 40cm, Pelten Tattoo tape, Velox expanding plugs

Saddle: WTB SST 2K

Post: Selcof
re: Early Christmas present. Just finished my new ride.Mel Erickson
Dec 15, 2003 1:48 PM
nice bike. like the paint job. nmmexican-JUMPING-frijoles
Dec 15, 2003 2:14 PM
Nicely doneboneman
Dec 15, 2003 2:39 PM
Lemme know how you like the Schwalbe's.
how do you like the seatishmael
Dec 15, 2003 5:07 PM
I have the wtb sst but not the 2k version. Is it heavier? softer? any difference?
Hard to tell in actual ridingMel Erickson
Dec 15, 2003 5:56 PM
I've only had it for a brief time on a wind trainer. I've also got the SST version and didn't really notice any difference. All three of mine have ti rails and two have kevlar corners. They all feel about the same from my brief experience with the 2K version. After years of searching I finally found the seat that fits me. It came on a used tandem I bought and I'm putting them on all my bikes.
I had the same problem nmishmael
Dec 16, 2003 5:26 AM
just my size... thanks man, you shouldn't have :-)Frith
Dec 15, 2003 2:14 PM
Really nice bike.
If you don't mind switching out that saddle for an aliante, before you deliver it to me on Christmas that'd be great...thanks :-).
On a serious note I'm particularly interested in a review of that tubeset if you get a chance...cause i'm looking at a similarly spec'ed frame.
I won't be able to provide a review for awhileMel Erickson
Dec 15, 2003 3:07 PM
It's 20 with six inches of snow here with more on the way. If I'm lucky I'll be able to get it out in April. I've been trying to post a third pic but it doesn't post. I'll give it one more try.
Very nice photo, I like the perspective. nm4bykn
Dec 15, 2003 4:42 PM
Very nice Mel....Dave Hickey
Dec 15, 2003 2:23 PM
Question about your bar width. Do you like a narrow bar? 40cm bars on a 59cm frame seems narrow. I'm not being critical, I'm only 5'8" and ride a 40cm but I wish more of my bikes had 38cm bars. I'm just more comfortable on narrow bars.
I have narrow shouldersMel Erickson
Dec 15, 2003 3:01 PM
I spec'd a 40 to match my other road bike. I tried a 44 on a single speed I built up last spring and didn't like the feel. Narrow bars seem to suit me better. I like to grab the outside of the hoods with straight wrists (kinda hanging on with my thumbs) and a narrower bar facilitates this position. I also went from a traditional curved bar to an anatomic curve and was concerned about reach, etc. It was difficult to match specs with my old bar but when I compared the new to the old the drop and reach were almost identical. Now all I have to do is wait until next spring to ride it! :-( Too cold and snowy up here in the nort land.
Greg LeMond started the wide bar craze.High Gear
Dec 15, 2003 4:50 PM
It's so funny when you see a little Spanish climber on 46 bars. Very nice build job. The bar tape and tire lable alignment with the valve are ones I noticed. Are the frames still made in the UK?
Not really sure where the frame is made.Mel Erickson
Dec 15, 2003 6:04 PM
Doubt it's in the UK, though. Raleigh isn't even a UK company anymore. My first "real" bike was a Raleigh three speed. All the other kids had Schwinn Sting Rays and Krates but I liked my 27 incher.
I hear ya...Dave Hickey
Dec 15, 2003 6:49 PM
It's a great looking build Mel. Very nice job...
Have you ever ridden something wider?eyebob
Dec 16, 2003 11:20 AM
I didn't like the feel much when I first rode a 42 but now I've fallen in love with it. I had my "training" bike set up with 42 width and a bit of a riser stem and I feel like it really opens up my chest for breathing. I didn't like the squirrly feel to it when I first set it up, but now I love it.

BT
Yup, I've got a 44 on my SSMel Erickson
Dec 16, 2003 11:50 AM
Puts my wrists at an angle I don't like and also doesn't line up well with my shoulders. I have recurring tendonitis in my right wrist (old foosball injury, no kidding!) and keeping it straight helps alot. Wider bars cause my wrists to turn in and aggravates the tendonitis. I also have a bad right rotator cuff. It helps if my shoulder, elbow and hand are in a straight line. A 40cm bar is just right.
Nice bike.KG 361
Dec 15, 2003 4:35 PM
I think you'll like the Time Impacts-I like mine a lot. Why's you opt for the C-dale brakes? Just curious.....Color perhaps? =)
Mainly colorMel Erickson
Dec 15, 2003 6:13 PM
But I'm also cheap and only paid $15 for the pair. Brakes is brakes as far as stopping power is concerned these days. All the dual pivot brakes today have more stopping power than is necessary and work well. Maybe not as much feel and modulation but plenty of grab. I almost bought a pair of Campy Mono-planars but the Cannondales showed up on eBay super cheap and I couldn't resist. The Campys went for $75 and the difference bought me the cassette. I pulled it all together for $1250 including the Time Impacts that are on the way. Most of the parts, save the Campy stuff, are new. Even though the Campy parts are used they're in pristine shape.
Thought so.KG 361
Dec 15, 2003 8:27 PM
I agree-as a local owner of my favorite LBS says, "stopping is over-rated" =). I'm building up a bike with similar colors-I'd jump at the chance to get a pr of black brake calipers cheap, too.
Mel, sorry to hear you won't be able to ride it for a whileMike P
Dec 16, 2003 5:03 AM
I received that frame as a replacement for a broken alum. (R800) Raleigh. It was lighter than I expected and rode much better than I imagined it would. I think you will be very happy with it.

Mike
Nice ride, beautiful rug *NM*.Mudman
Dec 16, 2003 8:05 AM
Here's my actual costs for the buildMel Erickson
Dec 16, 2003 8:09 AM
Raleigh Build

Frame(new) $325.00
Crank(used) $61.00
Bottom Bracket(used) $21.51
Front Derailleur(used) $28.99
Rear Derailleur(used) $90.00
Cassette(new) $66.00
Chain(new) $23.00
Wheels(new) $165.00
Shift/Brake levers(used) $160.00
Brakes(used) $16.00
Cables/housing(used) $-
Tires(new) $20.00
Handlebars(new) $11.50
Tape(new) $6.00
Stem(new) $25.00
Seatpost(used) $30.00
Saddle(new) $25.00
Pedals(new) $60.00
Rim Strips(new) $3.50
Tubes(new) $-
Bottle Cages(new) $25.00

Total $1,162.50
But Mel, for that price you could buy a brand newContinental
Dec 16, 2003 8:40 AM
Trek 1200. Wow. You made a great bike on the cheap.
Fantastic price for a very nice frameset!Dale Brigham
Dec 16, 2003 9:12 AM
Did that figure for the frame ($325) include the carbon fork? Regardless, that's a super price on a beautiful frame.

My wife has a Raleigh International, which has the same frame (Columbus Zona), but with an aluminum fork. She says it rides wonderfully.

I love steel frames, and this one looks very nice. It has very nice tubing shapes (cross-sections that ain't all round). I especially like the sort of diamond cross-sectioned seat stays. Very modern!

Thanks for sharing your new bike with us. Enjoy it!

Dale
Frame included fork and headset. nmMel Erickson
Dec 16, 2003 9:30 AM
Here's my actual costs for the buildPMC
Dec 16, 2003 9:14 AM
That's amazing!

If I could find that same frameset for 325, I'd be training on a Raleigh next spring.

One question for you on the 59cm frameset - how long in the headtube?

Nice job
Pete
I'll measure it at lunchtime and get back to you. nmMel Erickson
Dec 16, 2003 9:32 AM
20cm nmMel Erickson
Dec 16, 2003 10:26 AM
Thanks!! nmPMC
Dec 16, 2003 12:47 PM
395 at GVH--still seems like a nice deal. (nm)djg
Dec 16, 2003 11:42 AM
395 at GVH--good findPMC
Dec 16, 2003 12:49 PM
That is a pretty good price. I'll need to wait until after Xmas to order but if it's still there, I just may order it.