RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


... were you one of the ten?(9 posts)

... were you one of the ten?Akirasho
Dec 13, 2003 5:04 PM
http://www.poshbikes.com/specialist/3.html

... if so, how'd dey work???

Be the bike.
I tried to be.lanterne rouge
Dec 13, 2003 5:29 PM
But they told me when I emailed, 900 US dollars a pair and a two year waiting list!!
If you are...PEDDLFOOT
Dec 13, 2003 7:25 PM
...please seek professional help.You have a problem.
If you don't mind me saying so...rwbadley
Dec 14, 2003 1:29 AM
Lunacy.

I can see to persevere towards perfection. To go to this extent for a ridiculous small percentage of weight loss and some increase of stiffness to the caliper has got to have 'compulsive' written all over it.

My own thought is if you really want to persue this avenue, chase it down a new frontier, rather than beat the caliper issue to death. Go to micro disc or magnetic energy recovery system... now that would be more like it.
... like it or not...Akirasho
Dec 14, 2003 6:10 AM
... there's more to cycling... and in fact, most every other aspect of human existence than function... form is an integral part (why else would we have so many types of cars, clothes, phones, tv's, planes, boats, cheeses, etc... if all we wanted was the essential?).

And, with respect to "perfection", as we press the envelope in some sports (track comes to mind) the intervals 'tween first and tenth, can sometimes be measured in hundreths to thousandths of a second... where seemingly infinitesimal "advantages" may have come into play.

The very fabric and nature of our society is compulsive... obviously, some of us more than others... and some to an extreme (I still think the film The Gods Must Be Crazy may be the best single example of the root of human behavior ever)!

As for persuing an avenue... baby steps! After all... human kind was able to get this far without cell phones, electric lights, vaccines, MTV... I've still got a couple years before I officially turn into a grumpy old man... (besides, you know they're coming... sooner or later... from someone... at Supergo!)

Be the bike.
Thanks Akirasho .........lanterne rouge
Dec 14, 2003 9:08 AM
Couldn't have said it better myself. My trying to obtain these jewels had nothing to do with weight, braking perfection or anything else besides sheer beauty. Sort of an art statement. I personally hope disc brakes never make it to road bikes, god awful ugly in my opinion, and not necessary either (again, my opinion, no offense intended). Obviously, the intent of acquistion was compulsive in nature, I will grant you that. But logic won out when I heard the price and lead time. I agree with your observation that someone such as Supergo will probably be selling these beauties for $149.99 a pair within the two year wait from AX Lightness (or Storck in my particular case) thereby rendering this whole situation moot. One other note, I think the Gods Must be Crazy is one of the funniest movies ever made, showing just how ridiculous we all are (or seem to others) in our own silly little ways.
all true...rwbadley
Dec 14, 2003 10:46 AM
I guess I slipped into my grumpy old man persona late last night.;-)

It won't be long 'til the complete bike will be made of carbon fiber and ceramic. I wonder how well CF tires will hold up... grumble grumble ;-)
all true...Akirasho
Dec 14, 2003 11:25 AM
... alas, I'm still in the process of gathering info for my Ksano project... so all bets are on (a kind of fantasy build that will be tempered with a healthy dose of monetary reality once the research is over)... especially with regard to carbony goodness!

This is my first and might well be my only carbon fiber frame... and aesthetics will play a large role in it's build (with the number of bikes I've got, I can "afford" to indulge a bit... and the Ksano has a very biologic look and feel that almost demands aesthetics be addressed). In fact, I can't think of a bike I've owned that hasn't been personalized in some fashion (sometimes subtle)... the function giving a bit to form (105 cranks would probably do just fine... but since the rest of the gruppo says Ultegra...)

I've certainly had my moments... I'm still coming to grips with this whole intgrated/internal headset thingy... and I'm still wondering how long it'll take Shimano to lever the bike business into a new BB standard (some ISIS BB's are now being built with external bearings as well) so they can corner the market... at least for a while.

I will say one thing about current CF tech and usage... it still has the potential to be "tuned" to a specific application better than most alloys... or alloys alone.

Likewise, once ceramic bearings make enough inroads... they'll be no stopping them on all but the lowliest of bikes!

Be the bike.
If you bought these, you really do have a problem...purplepaul
Dec 14, 2003 9:26 AM
9 other people in the world have them too.

I am all for celebrating uniqueness so if you have the means and inclination, these would make quite a statement unless, of course, you ride a Trek (I know, I know. They're great bikes. But they're just so uninteresting).

Unless you find the bicycle a mere tool, I can think of nothing more satisfying than acquiring something aesthetically pleasing that almost no one else has.

Having said that, I can't say that these brakes do much for me.