RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Recommend some good winter mtb/spd compatible shoes?(15 posts)

Recommend some good winter mtb/spd compatible shoes?TNSquared
Dec 12, 2003 12:15 PM
After one cold cx race with mud and slop drenching my feet, and a few road rides in freezing temps, I'm a believer - windtex booties are just not gonna cut it. I need some waterproof/windproof shoes, or at least something close to it.

Under $100 would be great, if that's not unrealistic, and I'm not picky about brand, color, where it's made, whatever. Just want something spd compatible and WARM.

Thanks.
re: Recommend some good winter mtb/spd compatible shoes?Asiago
Dec 12, 2003 12:47 PM
With shoes, you get what you pay for. If you are looking for a great shoe, you are not going to find it for under $100.

I have a good relaionship with my LBS and he gave me an incredible deal on the LAKE winter shoe: $125

Spend the money. Where winter shoes are concerned, it's money well-spent.

Asiago
< $100??? You're dreamin...biknben
Dec 12, 2003 1:11 PM
Velonews test/review of winter shoes found here:
http://www.velonews.com/tech/gadgets/articles/3272.1.html

I will have a pair of the Sidi Storm 2s at the end of the month. Fit is the driving factor in my choice of shoe. I'll be adding to my collection of Sidi shoes. I wanted something more versatile than my regular MTB shoes. I'm trying to stay away from the "Moonboot" look of those other shoes. Fugly, IMO!
Oops...biknben
Dec 12, 2003 1:13 PM
Here's a link to the beginning of that test/review:
http://www.velonews.com/tech/gadgets/articles/3272.0.html

The other one goes to the second page.
I tried to tell her...TNSquared
Dec 12, 2003 1:28 PM
$100 was my wife's "proposed" limitation, not mine - now that I have confirmation from an independent source, sky's the limit! I owe you a beer!

Seriously, I figured good winter shoes would be untouchable for $100, but never hurts to ask on this board. People here root out every single out of the way, discount clearance, unbadged equipment specialist retailer on the planet.

I just hate the idea of dropping a bundle for shoes that I fully intend to misuse and abuse. In the end, though, if they're warm and therefor allow me to ride more, then it's money well spent, as Asiago said.

I know what you mean about the moonboot look. I was just looking at the Northwaze Grizzly. ugh.

Thanks for the link, I'll check it out.
NW Grizzlies hereORdirtydown
Dec 12, 2003 2:30 PM
I thought the NW Grizzlies were one of the least moon-boot looking. I use them for winter mtb and road training. I like them because of the minimized sole tread. They are fairly light. Maybe I have an earlier model.
Moonboot? Moonboot?ManBehindTheCurtain
Dec 12, 2003 2:47 PM
You guys crack me up. You say you are only concerned with keeping your feet warm and immediately start talking about what looks good. Well, go ahead, follow your fashion sense. But good luck with those cold toes. Personally, I own a pair of the extremely warm and dry Lake MXZ300. Ugly? Maybe. Warm? Unquestionably. Make your own choices but don't complain if those tricked up Italian summer shoe Sidi Storm are not as warm as the Wisconsin boots. Make mine Lake.

By the way, my summer shoes are Sidi.
Moonwalk! Moonwalk!TNSquared
Dec 12, 2003 3:01 PM
hey, never know when I might have to do a victory dance! I wanna make sure I'll look cool doing it!

Look, I don't really give a hoot what they look like, and rest assured - I have no fashion sense whatsoever. As long as they look good caked in mud and ice and blood, I will be happy with them.

I read the reviews, and right now my top two choices are the Lake MXZ300 and the NW Grizzly. Leaning toward the Grizzly because frankly, it looks better. :-0 I mean, it's on sale at Nashbar.

I just hope they do keep my feet really warm, 'cuz it will be hard to do the moonwalk with froze toes. :)
2 questionsTNSquared
Dec 12, 2003 3:12 PM
1) I'm considering these for cyclocross as well as winter training shoes. With the higher ankle coverage, do you think they'd be ok for running barriers and run-ups?
2) Any clue how these might size compared to Shimano road shoes?

unfortunately, none of the LBS's here in Mempho-town seem to carry these. I guess there isn't a big demand for winter shoes around here. Since I will probably have to mail order and not be able to try them on, I was hoping you might have some input.

thanks much.
LOL. OK, I'll try to help this time.ManBehindTheCurtain
Dec 12, 2003 4:04 PM
For the victory dance, most anything looks cool enough. The Lakes are warm and warm always looks cool to me. They are admittedly also pricey, so maybe those Grizzlys don't look so bad after all. I have the Lakes, the Lakes are warm. I do not have the Grizzlys.

As to your 2 questions:
Q1. For cross shoes I think the Lakes would be the equal of most any high quality mountain shoe. They are not walking shoes, they are riding shoes. The stiff sole which makes them high quality riding shoes lessens their attractiveness as a walking shoe. They do not flex very much, walking is certainly possible but it's not like being out there in your Nike running shoes. The ankle coverage should not be an issue. The upper of the shoe is mostly the neoprene liner and the neoprene and leather velcro closing flap. The ankle area is flexible, not stiff, so should not inhibit cyclocross requirements. It is the reverse of ordinary shoes, instead of stiff material for support at ankle and flexible material at sole for efficiency, you get flexible material at ankle and stiff material at sole, both for efficiency reasons. I think they would be OK.

Q2. I wear Lake 44. I wear Sidi Energy summer shoes, 44. I have a pair of Shimano summer shoes, but mountain, not road. Those are also a 44. The Shimanos and Sidis both have fairly substantial innersoles, added by me. Both might have been a bit roomy before the innersoles, now they fit very nicely, quite snug and comfortable.

The Lakes come with a substantial innersole. This takes some conforming. The shoe manual, yup, the shoes come with a manual, recommend wearing the shoes inside the house several times to make sure they fit. What happened for me was that the inner soles made the shoes quite uncomfortably snug at first and I was sure I was going to need 45s. But as the inner soles conformed to my foot the shoe started to fit. The 44 is perfect. I wear the summer shoes with thin polypro socks, the Lakes with SmartWool medium weight wool. The manual says the shoes are lasted with a fuller toe box to allow you to wear the same size and I personally found that to be true. I know others have said that they needed to get a size larger. I did not find that to be true for me.

On sizes, even here in snowy Minnesota I was not able to find anyone who had my size in stock but I found a store that carried Lakes, the full summer mountain and road shoe line. I tried those on for size and had them order the MXZ300 for me. I found the winter shoe size consistent with the try ons.

Good luck with your shoes, whatever you decide.
Thanks, very helpful! (and my toes thank you, too.) nmTNSquared
Dec 13, 2003 8:09 AM
re: Lake here...Mike Prince
Dec 12, 2003 1:22 PM
I have the non-MTB version of the Lake shoe. Incredibly warm, although they do look like moonboots as Ben says above. I would expect the MXZ-300's (the MTB version) to be just as good.

Under $100? Good luck on ebay. I got mine off of there last year - carbon soles and warm for $70. Bought from none other than Damon Rinard.
Diadora hereKEN2
Dec 12, 2003 1:36 PM
I have the Diadora Poblano H2O referred to in the VeloNews review above. I got a great closeout deal on them a couple of years ago, and I use them for all weather winter commuting. They are great for both warmth and dryness with wool socks down to around 20 degrees or so.

I recommend you buy one Euro size larger than your regular shoe, to fit thicker socks and not cut off circulation--a sure recipe for cold feet!
Depends What's Important.....Howard2
Dec 12, 2003 5:17 PM
I went with Pearl Izumi Vagabond Mtn Bike shoes sized 45 (my road shoes are 44's). I wear heavy socks and am happy with the shoes to 35 D F. Below that I add a pair of neoprene booties by Borah (the ones w/o bottoms so they accept the mtn bike soles. I've ridden that combination down to 15 D F for three hours with warm feet. I think it would work down to 5 D F for a couple of hours.

The advantage is that I also use the shoes for my summer mountain biking. The shoes were $45 (I've since seen them on sale for $30) and the booties were $44 at my LBS.

Take the $10 difference and buy your wife some flowers. your stock will climb and she just might go for that carbon frame next summer...

Howard Snell
SIDI Storm rockscoonass
Dec 13, 2003 7:51 AM
Great over-the-ankle protection and high-tech fleece lining.
Whatever you buy, get them at least ONE-FULL SIZE larger than you normally wear. This will allow you to wear a reasonably thick (Smartwool) sock and not feel that your foot is stuffed into the shoe. (if the fit is tight/snug, the heat of your foot 'transmits' to the outer shell.) If you're one of those people that has naturally cold feet, you can also purchase 'toe warmers' at your local Sporting Goods (even Wal-mart) for about $1/pair...they'll keep the toes warm for about 4-5 hours. Well worth it to not have frozen toes :)
I believe that Colorado Cyclist may still have the Storms in stock (~$145 [Reg. $195.]).