RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Poll: Tell us about your ride(88 posts)

Poll: Tell us about your ridekevinacohn
Dec 12, 2003 7:59 AM
The statistics major in me is coming out... I'm curious as to what everyone else is riding, why they chose it, etc. Post details about your primary/best bike below. Picture optional, of course. I'll start:

Frame: Cannondale Optimo Si (Jet Black - matte), 2004
Fork: Cannondale Slice Si, full carbon
Wheels: Mavic Ksyrium SL
Tires: Continental Grand Prix
Pedals: Shimano Dura-Ace PD-7800
Grouppo: Shimano Dura-Ace 7800
Handlebars: 3TTT Less XL
Stem: 3TTT Less XL
Headset: FSA Carbon
Saddle: Fi'zi:k Arione
Seat Post: Cannondale Wind Carbon

I chose this bike because I love the CAAD7 frame (and don't find it uncomfortable, like most people), and all of the components are top-notch. I also got a killer deal.

I haven't made any changes yet to the bike, as it's only a month old. I plan to switch out the seat post, probably for a Thomson, and maybe the saddle, for an Aliante. Other than that, happy with everything... including the 3TTT bars/stem, which I love.

(Image is from Cannondale website, since I can't seem to find the "Upload Image" button...)

K
Define primary... but this is my favoritefunknuggets
Dec 12, 2003 8:04 AM
Look 381i, Dura Ace, Ksyrium SSL SCs, Look Ergopost, Easton 70 stem, easton 90 bars, Flite SLRs...
Q about the Cannondale...Fez
Dec 12, 2003 8:15 AM
How much does it retail for? It doesn't say on the website.

You don't have to say what you paid for it, but how does one get a killer deal on a brand new 2004 DA-10 bike?
About the Cannondale / Dura-Ace bikeskevinacohn
Dec 12, 2003 8:23 AM
The R3000 retails for $3,499. I got it at around 15% off (that's all I'll say).

As for affordable Dura-Ace bikes... the Fuji Professional has full Dura-Ace, except for Ultegra brakes, for $2,799 MSRP. Here's a link:

http://www.fujibikes.com/road/bike.asp?category_short_name=road&myArray=87,88,89,90,91,92,93,102,94,95,96,103,97,104,106,99,98,100,105,101,107,108,109,112,110,111,113,114&myArrayID=1&yr=2004

The image is posted below.
My baby - Colnago Dream PlusshrEd
Dec 12, 2003 8:23 AM
I built this frame up this summer:

Frame: Colnago Dream Plus
Fork: Colnago Force
Wheels: Mavic Cosmic Carbone
Tires: Michelin ProRace
Pedals: Speedplay X-2
Grouppo: Shimano Dura-Ace 7700
Handlebars: ITM Millenium
Stem: 3TTT ITM Millenium
Headset: Cane Creek S-5
Saddle: Sell Italia SLR
Seat Post: ITM Millenium

I had almost purchased another type of frame from a Cat3 racer friend of mine when this Colnago popped up in my size and for a great price. The racer friend had talked up Colnago's for their geometry and he kinda talked me into rying it out. After riding it all summer, I have to admit that I simply love it! The Colnago geometry really suites me and it rides extrememly well when pushed.

The wheelset was purchased used, but all other components were bought from Performance during their 20% off summer discounts. All-in-all, the bike was completed within my budget, but just barely.

Ed
Very nice Colnagocrankset
Dec 12, 2003 8:53 AM
That a great looking bike. Maybe one day I will have one. I just really like the things. Dave Hickey's Look is pretty neat too, a carbon single speed Hinault..quite interesting. These two are ahead as of right now in my opinion.

Me, I just have a few bikes that I don't even want to talk about. Many times bikes are like women, they can give you a lot of headaches and right now me and my bikes are not talking so I won't mention them.....
Another Colnagoboneman
Dec 12, 2003 12:01 PM
2003 C40, non HP, purchased from Maestro
AD-10 paint
Record 10 w/Neutrons & Schwalbe Blizzard tires
Time Impact Pedals

Rides better than my Vortex, handles differently as well.
Sharp looking bike!!....[nm]bent_spoke
Dec 12, 2003 7:45 PM
My favorite ride..Dave Hickey
Dec 12, 2003 8:31 AM
1988 LOOK KG86 Hinault special edition converted to a single speed

Dura Ace track hubs laced to Velocity Aerohead rims
Dura Ace 7600 track cranks
Dura Ace 25th anniversary brakes and headset
Dura Ace 7403 brake levers
Dura Ace 7400 seatpost
Cinelli Giro D Italia bars and XA stem
Arudel(sp?) carbon cage
2002 S-Works saddle
LOOK 396 Jalabert pedals

I stripped the anodizing off the seatpost and stem and both
are highly polished.

Without a doubt, my favorite ride..
re: Poll: Tell us about your rideowmynads
Dec 12, 2003 8:35 AM
Until this last year, I hadn't had a road bike since 1978 (Huffy Santa Fe). This "new" bike was acquired last spring on eBay and I put 3000 miles on her in the first season. Here's the specs:

Frame: Schwinn Passage 7005 aluminum
Fork: More aluminum
Wheels: Mavic entry-lev wheels (XP or XL something or other)
Tires: Conti 3000 GT All-Weather
Pedals: Shimano 105s
Grouppo: Shimano RSX
Handlebars: cheap aluminum factory jobs
Stem: Profile
Headset: Who the hell knows?
Saddle: Specialzed split-seat so my nutsack doesn't go to sleep.
Seatpost: aluminum closet rod, or something.
Crank: Yep. It's a triple.

This bike cost me $300 last spring, and has been worth every penny. I've learned to train, and I've stomped the nuggz off riders with much better rides. I love the look on their faces, too, when I slide on by with my Schwinn bike, and they're on a Bianchi or a Colonago. I keep telling people it's a Trek 5200 travelling incognito.

Of course, this year, I'm getting a new 5200 myself, but my ol' Schwinn will be my standby and "workout" bike on rainy days.

The lesson learned, here, is that it's not the quality of your ride, it's the quality you put in while riding.

-owmynads
My favorite road ride in the stable isstriker
Dec 12, 2003 8:44 AM
my 2000 Look KG281. Full Campy 9 Speed Record. Rolf Vector Pro wheels...

My first and only carbon road bike. I will always have a carbon road bike.
re: Poll: Tell us about your rideMike Prince
Dec 12, 2003 8:44 AM
Here's mine.

Frame: Steelman Stage Race (853) 60 cm, purchased 6/2001
Fork: Steelman steel fork
Wheels: Dura Ace/Open Pro/DT Revolution
Tires: Vredestein Fortezza 25c
Pedals: Time Impact
Grouppo: Shimano Dura-Ace 7700, Ultegra Brakes, XTR Bottom Bracket
Handlebars: Salsa Pro Road
Stem: Steelman steel stem
Headset: King 1"
Saddle: Flite
Seat Post: Thomson

I got this bike because I wanted a great steel frame with a solid component group. Also I didn't want to buy a bike that I'd see 50 of on every ride, so I ended up with a small builder. I got exactly what I wanted. The picture below is from the spring with Dura-Ace Looks before I put the Impact pedals on. After 11,000 or so miles on this bike I wouldn't change a thing. Too bad Steelmans are so expensive now.

Mike
Beautiful ride.........nmDave Hickey
Dec 12, 2003 8:48 AM
that's nice!colker1
Dec 12, 2003 9:24 AM
too bad they are that expensive... or is it too bad they are that nice?
re: Poll: Tell us about your ridebikefreax
Dec 12, 2003 8:45 AM
Frame and fork 2003 Argon 18 Platinum Carbon
Bar, Easton EC90
Stem Deda Newton
Dura Ace 7700 group except cranks
Cranks FSA CSC team edition
Wheels Mavic cosmic equipe
Seat aspide
Seatpost U.S.E.alien
Flight deck wireless computer
Michelin pro race I know I need to change colors
Time impact pedals
not sure if it's my favorite, but I think it's the prettiest oneterry b
Dec 12, 2003 9:03 AM
Frame: 57cm Casati Dardo
Fork: Deda
Wheels: Velomax Ascent
Tires: Vredestein Fortezza
Pedals: Look 257
Grouppo: Campy Chorus
Handlebars: ITM Millenium
Stem: ITM Millenium
Headset: Campy Hiddenset
Saddle: Fi'zi:k Pave
Seat Post: Casati branded Selcof carbon (ITM design)

Why? - one reason only - I think it's really pretty. It got about the same mileage as the other 10 I own (bringing out the statistics major in me) so it is not truly the favorite from a ride perspective. From a ride perspective, I don't have a favorite - they all ride about the same.
IF Crown Jewel - one month younggf99
Dec 12, 2003 9:08 AM
Frame: IF Crown Jewel
Fork: Ouzo Pro
Wheels: DA / OpenPro
Tires: Michelin Pro Race
Pedals: WTB MP250 Stealth
Grouppo: Ultegra w/DA STI
Handlebars: 3TTT Prima 199
Stem: ITM Spyder
Headset: Chris King
Saddle: Selle Flite Ti Gel (jury's still out on this)
Seat Post: Thompson

Ride can be summed up in one word: Smoooooth.
Simple beauty, not flashy, don't see many out there. Attracts attention only from those in the know.
IF's paintwork gave them the edge over other framebuilders in my decision making.
(image is actual bike just prior to shipping)
My New Ridegodot
Dec 12, 2003 9:10 AM
Frame: Orbea Lobular Carbon
Fork: Zeus Ziccs, full carbon
Wheels: Campy Zonda
Tires: Gommitalia Calypso
Pedals: Speedplay
Grouppo: 10sp Chorus, 2003
Handlebars: Ritchey WCS
Stem: Ritchey WCS
Headset: FSA
Saddle: SanMarco Era Pro
Seat Post: GNFI (got no f'ing idea)

Got this a few months ago. No rational reason for another road bike, just wanted one.

I was very nervous about the ride quality of Al bikes, but was pleasantly surprised after test riding a bunch of bikes. It came down to the Cervelo Soloist and the Orbea. Both great bikes, would have been happy with either. Went with the Orbea in part due to the help of the local Orbea rep, who was outstanding, even came to the shop a few times to talk to me and answer questions.
a bike is a bike. or not?colker1
Dec 12, 2003 9:14 AM
pinarello vuelta. mid 90's. lugged steel. bought frame used. built w/ daytona and atac pedals.
i like the ride, the history behind pinarello, the good price i paid and the fact it's lugged steel AND it's light!
Guerciotti, lugged TSX steel, full 10v Chorus, ATACSThe Don
Dec 12, 2003 2:51 PM
Great price used as well. Beautiful blue/yellow paint. Also have Veloflex Pave tires, Open Pro/Chorus wheels built by Gravy...it's got a soul...
re: Poll: Tell us about your rideElefantino
Dec 12, 2003 9:17 AM
This is my favorite:

Serotta CSi custom, Record 9, Mavic CXP30 on Record hubs, Chris King, Speedplay X-2s.

Oh ... and for my summer vacation I swapped out the Record for Racing Triple front, rear and crank. Note the chain is in the 30 because at the top of this particular climb I was pooped.

FWIW,
Mike
Simple ridefracisco
Dec 12, 2003 9:27 AM
Frame: Cannondale CAAD5 - royal to lite blue fade
Fork: Cannondale Slice Si, full carbon
Wheels: Mavic Cosmos or Mavic OP/Ultegra - black rims
Tires: Michelin Pro Race (with Mr Tuffy's for winter)
Pedals: Look A3.1
Grouppo: Shimano Ultegra 53-39/12-25
Handlebars: 3TTT Forgie
Stem: 3TTT Forgie
Headset: Campy Record integrated
Saddle: Selle Italia Flite Genuine Gel
Seat Post: American Classic

Trusty steed. I like it!
Titus FCRpedalAZ
Dec 12, 2003 9:29 AM

main ride #1JS Haiku Shop
Dec 12, 2003 9:33 AM
Frame: 1999/2000 Look KG286
Fork: Martec M8 treadless 1"
Wheels: Black Open Pro/Ultegra 32 spoke
Tires: Continental Ultra 2000
Pedals: Look PP296
Grouppo: 2002 shimano 105 double, 12-21
Handlebars: Deda i don't remember
Stem: Cinelli Groove
Headset: Cane Creek C2
Saddle: Brooks B17 Narrow
Seat Post: American Classic 25.0 mm

old skool profile airstryke aero bars, cateye mity 3, trek bat cages, and this build normally rides with dual cateye el300 lights front, and a large red cateye blinkie rear.

i've ridden a 140 miler (complete with gravel) and a double century on this bike so far since summer, and it's bulletproof. stiff, responsive, but not jarring. can stay in the aerobars all day long.

chose this bike as a winter and bad weather beater, to promoe my surly cross-check to cross-only duties. frame was a no-name knockoff from chucksbikes.com, kit was purchased from gvhbikes.com, and i'm using the cross-check's wheelset because i didn't care for the cosmic elite wheels that came with the 105 kit. i put it all together and here she is!

-J
re: Poll: Tell us about your rideamishbiker
Dec 12, 2003 9:36 AM
Frame: Olmo Millenium
Fork: Mizuno something
Wheels: Chris King hubs, Fir Zenith Rims, not sure of the spokes
Computer: Cateye Astrale 8
Tires: Michelin Pro Race
Pedals: Look 296
Grouppo: Dura-Ace 7700
Handlebars: Deda Newton
Stem: Deda Newton oversized
Headset: Selcof
Saddle: Serfas Aria
Seat Post: American Classic

I bought this bike because I really liked the other Italian steel frame I had previously (a Marin Trevisio) and this had similar specs. I've never ridden anything other than steel so I don't have a lot to compare it to but it's very smooth, fast and nimble on the road. I also like the uniqueness factor!
main ride #2JS Haiku Shop
Dec 12, 2003 9:43 AM
Frame: 2002 Merckx Elite
Fork: 57cm Merckx all-carbon 1" threadless
Wheels: mavic cxp33 rims, 32 hole, Dura-Ace hubs
Tires: Michelin Pro Race (disappointing)
Pedals: Shimano pp296
Grouppo: 2003 Shimano Ultegra double, 12-23
Handlebars: 3TTT Forma
Stem: Cinelli Alter with Stewardess Pin-Up
Headset: Chris King nothreadset 1"
Saddle: Koobi Au Enduro (turomatic quattro pictured, ouch)
Seat Post: Thomson Elite

ciussi elte side-entry cages (because they look cool), cateye mity 3 computer.

chose this bike after riding a steel merckx for a few months. loved the geometry and position on the bike, and the paint job & graphics, plus attention to detail merckx puts into his frames & forks.

bought from GVH, this bike was intended to be a climber (minor mountain centuries, but no 6-gap!), race bike, and primary short distance ride/club ride bike. it's very stiff and fairly light, and not recommended for long rides. after a few club ride sprints and one road race sprint at the end (bleeding from my eyes), the fork/front end seems a bit flexy. i have no torque wrench and am not inclined to give the stem steerer-tube bolts too much "umph" as i don't want to buy a new all-carbon fork to replace this one.

this bike is a vision in silver, black, red, blue, yellow, and white. very comfortable from the drops and transmits power from the back end very well. this was my most expensive purchase yet, and well worth it. it's my second merckx frame, and i would buy another one tomorrow, if i had the $, and was so inclined.
This was Lance's favorite in July.Elefantino
Dec 12, 2003 9:49 AM
Trek Madone.

Dura-Ace 10 speed. Bontrager Aero wheels. Dorky old Selle San Marco saddle.

Yellow jersey.

FWIW,
Mike
do you have any more pics of that Madone?lancewannabe
Dec 13, 2003 3:43 AM
do you have any more pics of that Madone?Elefantino
Dec 13, 2003 5:45 PM
No, just the one. I have his 5900, too.

FWIW,
Mike
re: Poll: Tell us about your ridetarwheel
Dec 12, 2003 9:55 AM
Here's my newest ride, complements of Ray Sachs, who sold me the frame and fork for a great price. I have another 57 Merckx, a steel Corsa, so I knew this would fit me just right. The ti Merckx is about 2 lbs. lighter than the steel one (as equipped), but handles nearly identical.

Frame: Merckx AX titanium, 57 cm
Fork: Serotta F-1 carbon
Wheels: Mavic Open Pros, Chorus hubs
Tires: Michelin Hi-Lite Prestige
Pedals: Look PP-247
Grouppo: Campy Chorus 10
Handlebars: Ritchey WCS
Stem: Profile H2O3
Headset: Campy Record
Saddle: Koobi Silver
Seat Post: Chorus ti
PROPS to KOOBI !!!!!!!!!!!!!JS Haiku Shop
Dec 12, 2003 10:03 AM
rcarp (RBR community member and memphis local) sold me his silver on the cheap at the end of summer. i was pleasantly surprised. so pleasantly, i ordered 3 more from koobi, on sale (through the RBR board advert). they didn't have any silvers left, so they sent 3 Au Enduro saddles at the same price. FYI the san marco regal and brooks b17 fit my butt & riding style. i'd put koobi right there as more comfy than the regal, and less comfy than the brooks. for a modern composite saddle, i couldn't ask for better.

the US koobi guy sent me an email telling me about the substitution and asking if that would be ok. i sent him one back saying, "certainly, and how about sponsoring my 'cross race next month?" LOL.

and they did.

KOOBI: well made italian saddles that fit my rear, and selfless sponsors of our local cyclocross series. i love you guys, but you're not gettin' my bud light.
PROPS to KOOBI !!!!!!!!!!!!!tarwheel
Dec 12, 2003 11:47 AM
I first tried a Koobi Enduro, mainly because of the 30-day return policy. It was so comfortable that I ordered a Silver for my other bike. I later found another used Silver for $20 and snapped it up. When you find something that works, stick with it. I tried several Brooks saddles but couldn't position them correctly over the crank due to the short rails and didn't want to invest more money in a new seat post. I'm tempted to try a B17, but it weighs 300-400 grams more than the Koobi -- so I figure I'll leave well enough alone at this point.
That may have been me...MVN
Dec 12, 2003 3:36 PM
I sold two Silvers for $20 each this past summer/fall. I wonder if it was you I sold one to? Anyway, glad you like it!
But for major cool, this was Angel Vicioso's ride. Wow.Elefantino
Dec 12, 2003 9:58 AM
My Favorite Winter Bike...Marketing Dept
Dec 12, 2003 9:59 AM
Frame: Litespeed Ti Hiawassee
Fork: Surley cromo
Wheels: Mavic 221 with LX
Computer: My HRM only
Tires: Bontrager semi slicks 26X1.75
Pedals: spd
Grouppo: Ultegra 9 STI
Handlebars: Coda spec Cross bars
Stem: Mutant (I named my bike after the Mutant stem)
Headset: CaneCreek
Saddle: Bontrager Ti
Seat Post: Kalloy

I built this up to salvage the frame that I had hanging around. Turns out, it was a blast to spec and build but has been the most fun to ride.

The "Mutant" is a go anywhere and do anything bike. I ride it almost daily as a commuter, single track, dirt road explorer and have even raced a few cyclo cross races on it.
very cool nmJS Haiku Shop
Dec 12, 2003 10:05 AM
kudos to you for creative improvisation. nm.Sao
Dec 12, 2003 2:01 PM
Gunnar Roadie - for long miles up big hillsPmbH
Dec 12, 2003 10:10 AM
Ultegra: brakes, shifters, crankarms, BB, ft der
Chris King: Hubs, headset
Thomson: Stem, seatpost

Brooks swift, Ouzu fork, Campy pedals (not in photo), Deda bar, XTR cassette, XT rear der, CXP33 rims, Conti 3000 tires
Current favorite - Taylor Cyclo-crossoutofthesaddle
Dec 12, 2003 10:13 AM
Frame: Taylor Focco with Carbon seat stays
Fork: Alpha Q carbon CX
Wheels: DA/OP
Tires: Tufo
Pedals: Egg Beater
Gruppo: DA (STI, rear derailluer, bb), FSA (cranks 48/38), Ultegra (cassette 12-27), XT (front derailluer)
Bars: Ritchey Pro
Stem: Ritchey Pro
Heasdset: King
Saddle: SLR
Post: Ritchey

I finished this bike mid-way through 'cross season and I love it. It's not so shiny any more though.
Whoops - here is pic of Tayloroutofthesaddle
Dec 12, 2003 10:32 AM
re: Poll: Tell us about your rideBonked
Dec 12, 2003 10:39 AM
Here's my baby.

Frame: C-40 LX14
Fork: Star
Wheels: Mavic CXP-33, Record hubs
Tires: Vittorias (I've ridden other tires, but always come back to these)
Pedals: Time Impact
Grouppo: Record
Handlebars: Stella Azzurra Brianza
Stem: Stella Azzurra VicaVersa
Headset: Record
Saddle: Flight Gel
Seat Post: 'Nago



(you can click on the link if you want a bigger pic...)
Pretty but ...Live Steam
Dec 12, 2003 3:53 PM
give yourself a half cm to a full cm under that stem and another half to a full cm above and cut that nob off. Unless of course you plan on needing those extra cm in your old age :O)
this pic was taken when the bike was a virgin andBonked
Dec 13, 2003 9:32 PM
hadn't been dialed in yet. it's all taken care of now!
Nothing--or everything--specialAndy M-S
Dec 12, 2003 10:55 AM
It's a '92 Bridgestone RB-2 with a rather mixed updated drivetrain: FD=105, RD, cogs, chain, hubs =Ultegra, crank = Stronglight Speedlight, rims are CXP33 with Axial Carbons (R=25, F=23). Headset is Chorus, Stem is ITM Goccia, Bars are TTT Morphe. Shifters are Campy Centaur 10s, wired to the derailer using the "Hubbub" method. Saddle as shown is a Flite with a saddlebag rack of my own devising, currently it's a Brooks Swift.

I got this bike in part because of the "Bridgestone" legend, but primarily as a rain bike. I kept it (and turned it into my main ride) because it's fun to ride.
re: Poll: Tell us about your rideJFST
Dec 12, 2003 10:58 AM
2002 Look Kx
Dura Ace group, Ksyrium SL's, 3T Zepp stem and Prima 199 bars, Look Ergopost 2 seatpost, oh and Specialized Turbo S-Works tires which I put on for the picture simply because they matched the orange highlights on the frame :)
Colnago CT1--sorry, no pics handy.djg
Dec 12, 2003 11:07 AM
CT1 with Record 10, TTT stem, Easton cf bars, look ergopost, fizik aliante saddle, look CX7 pedals, and, at the moment, a set of campy eurus wheels with Vittoria Open Corsas.
Gios Torino, definitely my favorite.Qubeley
Dec 12, 2003 11:28 AM
Gios Professional circa 1983, white.
Campy: C-Record crank, seatpost, monoplanar brakes, carbon lever.
Shiamno: Dura-Ace DT drivetrain.
Never had anything so smooth, so comfortable. Thow on my wool jersey, Gios cap and old mitt, I can just ride and daydream about Roger and Eddy. The Pinarello, although also steel, just doesn't feel the same.
Note the photo is an old one, seatpost and brakes have since been changed to above spec.
Now that's a cool bike. Classy. nm.Sao
Dec 12, 2003 2:06 PM
the fixed gear is my current favorite...cmgauch
Dec 12, 2003 11:34 AM
...by far.

'03 Fuji Track. Steel frame, so-so components. I recently added an old Ultergra front brake, Dia Comp lever, cowhorn bars & a CatEye Astrale. Now I can save my legs for climbing big hills w/a 48x16. Can anyone say 12 rpm?

I have no digital camera so the pic is from Fuji
re: Poll: Tell us about your ridetriman001
Dec 12, 2003 11:56 AM
This is my main racing bike for short distance tri's. Apologies for the pic - I didn't have one of just the bike and this was about the clearest I had...

Frame - Guru Crono SC61.10A (custom geometry, custom spray - orange thru' flames to dark blue)
Fork - Reynolds Ouzo Pro aero (sprayed to match)
Wheels - Zipp 404 tubulars
Tubulars - Conti Tempo
Grouppo - mostly Shimano Dura ace 7700, with bar end shifters
Cranks - Profile Carbon
Chain Rings - Shimano TT 54-44 (I switched to a 39 for this course)
Cables - Nokon
Bars - Profile Carbon-X with Visiontech armrests
Seatpost - Carbon aero
Seat - Selle Italia SLR
Motor - ME!

I love this bike - the spray paint was a surprise that really grew on me. I'm going to get a new road bike in the spring from Guru sprayed the same!

As for how it rides......it's fast. It has an espresso-style bb shell that really stiffens up the bottom bracket. The back end is really tight and it accelerates like a rocket.

Can't wait to get the matching road bike!
Dean El Diente CTIGregory Taylor
Dec 12, 2003 12:14 PM
This is my main ride --

Dean El Diente CTI

Powder coated yellow (pretty, but turning out to be a bit fragile)
Columbus Carve rear seat stays
Reynolds Ouzo Pro fork
Reynolds carbon seatpost
Flite saddle (basic model...none of this fancy stuff)
ITM Stem/Bars
Campy Record Ergo Shifters
Campy Record Derailleurs (front and rear)
Campy Chorus Brakes
Campy Chorus Crank
Campy Chorus Hubs
Open Pro Rims (32 hole)
Michelin ProRace tires
Speedplay X-2 pedals
Polar Protrainer XT wireless Heart/Cycle computer

I love it...it's sort of a titanium Cannondale. Big diameter tubing for stiffness out of the saddle and a very solid feel, married to a nice buzz-free ride. Climbs and descends well, with snappy handling. This would be a great race bike.

The picture -- me descending the Col du Bargaguy in the 2003 Etape du Tour. One of the coolest things that I have ever done.
my baby in custom ti..._rt_
Dec 12, 2003 12:23 PM
frame: Dean Ace 3
fork: Marzocci z-1
wheels: Cane Creek WAM disk
brakes: Hayes HFX-mag
tires: Hutchinson Pythons
pedals: egg beaters
shifters/rear der: XTR
front der: XT
head set: Chris King
stem: easton
bars: easton ec90
seatpost: syncros
saddle: serfas DD pro

i chose this bike because i got a killer deal on a custom frame that fits my freakish proportions. :)
a few changes since this pic...


most recent...


oh, did you mean road?

frame: trek 5200
fork: Profile Design full carbon
wheels: Cane Creek aerohead ti
tires: Michellin pro lites
pedals: look 209
grouppo: Ultegra w/ Dura Ace cranks
handelbars: syncros
headset: syncros
saddle: serfas DD pro
seatpost: thompson

sorry, no pics.

rt
re: Poll: Tell us about your ridemwashbu
Dec 12, 2003 1:12 PM
This was originally Gord Fraser's bike from part of the 2001 season. I purchased it about a year ago and swapped out the seatpost and stem since the frame's a little small for me. I typically use the Cane Creek wheels pictured instead of the Spinergy SR-3 wheels that came with the bike.

Frame: Lemond Ti, Mercury/Viatel team issue 2001
Fork: Ouzo Pro
Wheels: Cane Creek Aerohead
Tires: Michlelin Pro Race
Pedals: Speedplay X1
Grouppo: Shimano Dura-Ace Team Issue
Handlebars: Cinelli B-Groove
Stem: Cinelli Solido
Headset: Cane Creek integrated
Saddle: Koobi Silver
Seat Post: Easton EC70
Computer: Shimano FlightDeck
Is that a stem, or are you just happy to see me? 8^) nm52-16SS
Dec 12, 2003 1:35 PM
re: Poll: Tell us about your rideRacer C
Dec 12, 2003 1:40 PM
Whoa, I'm seeing double! Believe it or not, I have the same bike, except it's Scott Moninger's Lemond team issue. I definitely approve of your ride.
re: Poll: Tell us about your rideWoof the dog
Dec 12, 2003 8:44 PM
mmm, maybe you should start another Mercury team

buahahhaha, ahahahahhaah , agahahahahakjhahahahahas;dkfhasd;kljf
sdafklasdjf
asdk;jfhasd'fjasdk;jfhasdf'l jhfsdalkfjsda
hasdkjfhasd'
fjsdafkjahsdflsda
f

Now, about last night, what is YOUR body fat?

woof.
I'm in!russw19
Dec 12, 2003 1:13 PM
Here's a link to my Pinarello Paris in the gallery here.

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/roadbike/gallery/files/PinarelloParis.asp

Russ
re: Poll: Tell us about your rideSteve98501
Dec 12, 2003 1:27 PM
My ride: Merckx Corsa with Chorus 10. Love it.
Seven Odonata w/ Campy RecordCoolhand
Dec 12, 2003 1:32 PM
Bought it when I was pretty flush with cash and having bike fit issues.

Love it.

Had it about 3 years now. I bought it just as Record 10 came out for the first time. Had a real hard time finding a groupo.

Current Build:

Seven Odonata Ti/Carbon
Campy Record Ten Groupo: BB/Crank/STIs/hubs/brakes/carbon seatpost

Wheels are laced to open pros, 32 hole record hubs, laced 3X with DT Revolution Spokes- hand built baby!

Terry Fly saddle (looking for something new)

Eggbeater Twin Ti peddles.

Seven Custom Ti Stem. Seven's custom Wound-Up all carbon fork.

ITM 199 Bars (light!).

Specialized Bar Phat tape and pads- comfy!

Old Cateye computer/HR which refuses to die.

Currently using the neat matched set Conti tires- the Attack and somthing else? Like them too.

---

May add a set a set of racing wheels, and maybe a carbon crankset down the road.

No photo- I am at work.

Coolhand
Here it is...52-16SS
Dec 12, 2003 1:41 PM
Fondriest Status Carb steel with DA Group, FSA Cranks, Capy Eurus Wheels, Thomson Seatpost, Ritchey Stem, Kestrel Bars, SLR Saddle.

The more I ride it, the more I love it!
Another member of the Sexy Black Fondriest clubcollinsc
Dec 12, 2003 3:36 PM
Fondriest Top Level
2004 Chorus Group
24/28 AeroHead & Tune wheels care of Mike Garcia
Thomson post, Ritchey stem, Cinelli bars.

Soon to come are FSA Superlight cranks.
One more....Bixe
Dec 12, 2003 4:51 PM
Domino Carbon, '04 Record 10 w/ carbon cranks, Eurus, Ritchey stem, ITM Millenium Stratos bar, Selcoff post, Aliante saddle (until the Arione shows up), Speedplay X/1, Arundel cages.... Complete with seasonal accents. Styleman once said something like 'Mojos are un-cool' so naturally....
Another happy fondriest ownernazgul
Dec 12, 2003 10:14 PM
Fondriest Don Racer, DA 9-speed, Campy Eurus Wheels, FSA cranks, Deda BlackStick post, SLR saddle, Newton Bars/Stem
Have since changed pedals to Time Impacts.

I liked the Don Racer so much that I then got a used Status Carb frame on eBay, looks very similar to yours,
DA 9-speed, Campy Eurus Wheels, FSA cranks, Deda BlackStick post, SLR saddle, Deda Magic Bars/Stem, Time Impacts S
Cannondale W/ Dura Ace 10 speed853
Dec 12, 2003 2:35 PM
I really like the frame stiff and fast without punishing me!
Here it is w/ 9 speed, sorry, no recent picture w/ 10 speed Dura-Ace. I had it installed Wednesday (did a 40mile ride
Wed. and Thurs. I am amazed at the diffrence -I was really not expecting it. I went from Ultegra to Dura-Ace and the diffrence was not to noticable, you go from 9 speed to 10 speed and the diffrence is incredible! You have to try it to believe it and this is only after 80 miles of use!



And of course my fav and trusty Schwinn Homegrown:
Very BasicDropped
Dec 12, 2003 3:04 PM
Pinarello Surprise with all the parts I stripped off my my old Specialized Epic -- mostly Ultegra with some 105. I love the bike, and hope to give her some new wheels early next year.
Fondriest TF1Mycroft
Dec 12, 2003 3:17 PM
After the De Rosa King, its the Top Carbon:

Zipp 303 wheels (now changed to Campy Hyperons)
Campy Record C10
Record Carbon Cranks (prev Thorius Carbon cranks)
Deda Mag00 stem
Deda Spectrum bars
AX Lightness Endurance saddle
Selcof Carbon seatpost

Weight: 15lbs

Riding & climbing faster now because of significantly lighter wallet!! But rides like a dream!!
Fondriest TF1divve
Dec 12, 2003 4:07 PM
I have a question about your cool bike. Fondriest states that it's monocoque design, yet you can clearly see lug shaped contours near the joints. Do you know more about that? Thanks.
Fondriest TF1 MonocoqueMycroft
Dec 13, 2003 5:45 AM
Divve,

You have extremely sharp eyes. When I bought the frame, I was also not expecting to see these lugs. What I was told is that the carbon tubes are not glued into the lugs, but the whole structure is formed in a single layer over the lugs.

Here's what Fondrient has to say about that little bit of aluminum that they have in the frame (http://www.fondriestbici.com/pubblicazione/tutto.htm):

The Fondriest technical department prepares the frame where it is necessary to use aluminum parts through a special treatment of polishing and gluing which is not only for the overall integrity of the frame, but for the good and aesthetic of the frame as well. (Photo10,11)

The Fondriest frames have in fact less 103 grams of aluminum parts in its construction: (BB 30gr, Headset cups 23grs, reinforcement of the seatpost 35gm, and the external face of the dropouts 15gm).
One the biggest features of the TF1 is the fact that the rear dropouts are completely realized in carbon - patent pending PCT / IB02/04899, for this reasons we use only the external surfaces in aluminum as is necessary to accept the pressure of the quick release. (Photo12)

The bottom bracket is made of aluminum as it not possible to make a tread in the carbon fiber.

The headset cups are necessary to help the alignment and operation of the headset bearings. The kevlar or aluminum reinforcement at the top of the seat tube is necessary to support the continuous opening and closing of the seat post clamp.

Hope this helps.

I agree that it does not look as well integrated/well made as my previous DeRosa King and this disappointed me somewhat.
Fondriest TF1 Monocoquedivve
Dec 13, 2003 8:16 AM
Thanks for the great info. I was only aware of the US website and had never seen their own before. If I ever get a full carbon frame I would strongly consider one of theirs.
invisible kickstand.Frith
Dec 12, 2003 4:03 PM
Giant TCR 1 stock ultegra bits. Recently bought some ultegra spd-l's.
Future upgrades include:
new wheels: maybe some k's
new bars: times or something pretty and carbon.
cranks: I need some lower gearing...fsa compacts or something crabon.
New saddle: Would like to try one o' dem aliantes everybody keeps raving about...

Here she is... Gotta flip that stem down eventually. Currently only 3cm's of drop so i could stand to increase a bit.
'00 Pinarello Operatmguy
Dec 12, 2003 4:48 PM
My baby, but I am loving my Surly CrossCheck for the winter commuting.
'00 Pinarello Operatmguy
Dec 12, 2003 4:51 PM
Here is my pic, I hope.
My chassis is better than my engine...........Len J
Dec 12, 2003 5:57 PM
Frame: Serotta legend Ti
Fork: Serotta F2
Wheels: Mavic Open pros laced to 32 hole Dura Ace hubs
Tires: Michelin Pro Race
Pedals: Speedplay X-2
Grouppo: Shimano Dura-Ace Triple
Handlebars: Nitto
Stem: Thompson
Headset: King
Saddle: Brools Swift
Seat Post: CLB

I had a slight upslope put in TT to get the bars up. If I had it to do over, I'd of sacrificed another 2 cm of standover & done away with the spacers. Purely aestetics. Ride is wonderful, exactly what I wanted.

Len

I also have a Gunnar Street Dog Fixie that is my second favorite.
the bikeCritLover
Dec 12, 2003 8:28 PM
I love this bike.

The frame: Seven Axiom (48cm)
the fork: Look HSC3
the group: Dura Ace 9
the bars/stem: Cinelli Integralter
the post: USE Alien
the saddle: Specializied Body Comp (soon to be Vitesse ti)
the pedals: Speedplay X1
the wheels: Rolf Vector Comp (training): Zipp 404 (crit): American Classic 320 (road races)
the tires: Vittoria Rubino Pro
the computer: Polar 720
the cages: Specialized E5

This is my main ride, the second road bike is a Litespeed Orion in the limited edition orange w/ultegra and open pro wheels.
Richard SachsDMoore
Dec 12, 2003 8:55 PM
60 cm Richard Sachs, new in 1998
full Record 10 speed, Record carbon crank, Record pedals
Nucleon clinchers, Gommitalia Targa tires
Ibis polished Ti stem, ITM 225 ergo bars
San Marco ERA Ti saddle, Record carbon seatpost

I have several other bikes, but this one's my fave.
re: Poll: Tell us about your riderfrancisco
Dec 12, 2003 9:07 PM
Frame: Colnago C-93 Columbus SL tube set
Fork: Litespeed carbon w/alloy steer
Wheels: Campy Protons
Tires: Michelin Hi-lite 700X23
Pedals: Speed Play X-3
Grouppo: Campy Centaur/Racing Triple
Handlebar: Kestrel EMS Pro
Saddle: Selle San Marco Aspide Arrowhead
Seatpost: Campy Chours Ti

I had this frame since '93, originally came with a Colnago steel chrome fork, replace the steel fork with a new Litespeed house brand carbon fork about a year ago. It help to lose a pound.
It's colors are of the Ceramiche Ariostea team, early '90s. Weighs in at 20.5 lbs. Trying to get my better half, let me get a Colnago CT2 for my B-day. :-)
re: Poll: Tell us about your riderfrancisco
Dec 12, 2003 9:19 PM
Sorry forgot to post the pic.
re: Poll: Tell us about your ridexandre
Dec 13, 2003 12:02 AM
2004 Litespeed Tuscany..Full Ultegra, Elites, ITM, and Look pedals. I put on a Vetta V100 wireless on it and Black Elite Patao cages on it...just a pretty standard setup..
Cute cat :-). nmkevinacohn
Dec 13, 2003 6:29 AM
ooooooohh!colker1
Dec 13, 2003 5:07 AM
man... beautifull. ct2 won't be as beautifulll. and those small diameter tubes must give a smooth ride. how do you like the litespeed fork over the colnago steel?
ooooooohh!rfrancisco
Dec 13, 2003 9:18 AM
The fork (Litespeed) really help save some weigh and smooth out the higher freqency road vibrations. The Colnago fork was nice,fully chromed with the Colnago clovers at the fork crown. It wasn't as stiff as the
Litespeed.

Cheers
Ok I'm here but late.Mike Tea
Dec 13, 2003 7:18 AM
Argon18 Platinum
DuraAce 9spd
Mavic Cosmos wheels
48/39 TA Alize rings
12-21 D/A cassette
El cheapo carbon seatpost soon to be changed
3TTT bars & stem
Arrgghh - 50t ring! {nmm}Mike Tea
Dec 13, 2003 7:20 AM
My primary ride... "Look" and see...Horace Greeley
Dec 13, 2003 8:17 AM
2002 54 cm Look KG 381i Red/Black (polished nude carbon)
U.S.E. Alien Seatpost
Deda 215 Stem/Bar
Full DA (2002)
Look PP396 Jalabert Pedals
Velomax Ascent Wheels
Wireless Flight Deck
SLR Saddle
re: Poll: Tell us about your ridetoronto-rider
Dec 14, 2003 7:51 AM
Frame: 2003 Giant TCR ONCE
Wheels: Mavic Ksyrium SL
Tires: Michelin Pro Race (TDF 100 edition)
Pedals: Shimano uletgra
Grouppo: Campy Chorus
Handlebars: Deda Newton
Stem: Deda Newton
Headset: FSA Carbon
Saddle: Flite gel
Seat Post: Dura Ace ( I know on a Campy bike)
Cables: Nokon

I was longing for a top notch bike for a year, but was content with my used steel bike that I took to France http://groups.msn.com/BicyclingForumPicPost/tdf2003pic.msnw?Page=1
I was always searching on Ebay for a Giant frame, come end of September I decided I wanted a brand new bike. Spent a day trying to locate the ONCE edition frame, got the group from Totalcycling (almost 1/2 off full retail in Toronto)
Nokon cables just for looks.
Computer: Cateye Astrale
Here's mine, right where I'll be riding for the next few months.Tiger Lilly
Dec 14, 2003 8:01 AM
Best I can do with one arm in a cast. :^(

Kathy
When she was new...Tiger Lilly
Dec 14, 2003 8:05 AM
2001 Litespeed Tuscany
Ultegra triple drivetrain
Spinergy Spox R2 wheels
Loaner stem since the correct one was delayed in shipment
Another Fondriest..No picspeter108
Dec 14, 2003 5:28 PM
No pics but...
Fondriest Status Carb, Record/Chorus mix, Eurus wheels, Deda Newton bars,Deda Magic stem, Look Pedals