RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Winter-specific tires for my beater?(22 posts)

Winter-specific tires for my beater?velocity
Dec 11, 2003 7:38 AM
I need to replace the tires on my beater bike. I'm currently using 700X23 Armadillos. The rear tire is worn out and suddenly prone to flats. I could swap the front to the back and get a new Armadillo for the front. Or I could replace them with winter-specific tires. Can anyone recommend similar durable, virtually-flatproof tires designed specifically for winter, urban riding?
Interested to see the answers ot this tooSpecialTater
Dec 11, 2003 8:10 AM
I was about to pull the trigger on some Conti 1000s in 25mm since they are $15 less 20% at Performance... I probably need more flat resistance this time of year though.

They also have Conti 2000s for $15 too. Is that a good deal for my group rides and attempts at at training?
Conti GatorsAlex-in-Evanston
Dec 11, 2003 8:19 AM
I like Michelin Carbons for long wear and few flats, but they are a gold plated bastard to get on the rim. I would not want to mess around with them if I flatted in the cold. Conti's are easier to get on the rim.

Alex
Gators are wonderful tires. The best, short of a racing tire nmDougSloan
Dec 11, 2003 8:31 AM
how do the gators compare to the armadillos? (nm)velocity
Dec 11, 2003 9:33 AM
how do the gators compare to the armadillos? (nm)yeah right
Dec 11, 2003 12:18 PM
they don't

armadillos are the worst riding tires EVER. I almost quit the sport because I thought that's how all tires rode.

I'll flat a little more frequently on armadillos, but they are a lot more comfortable, and have really good grip for a tire that lasts a resonable number of miles.
Did you mean '..frequently on the gators'?hrv
Dec 11, 2003 1:06 PM
Yes, armadillos don't ride as nice as the others, but flatting in 30 deg. and rain is not on my list of fun activities. Plus, as long as you don't use them in a criterium, who cares? My experience has shown me that technique can make up for most of the drawbacks of your equipment,these tires included.

hrv
I agreevelocity
Dec 11, 2003 2:45 PM
I don't want to be arriving to work with filthy hands (or delayed) because I had to change a tire on the way. I'll sacrifice performance for carefree commuting. Besides, I think the difference between riding on 'dillos and racing tires isn't as big a deal as some want to make it out to be.
Just ordered 25mm Conti Grand Prix 4-season tires. (nm)jtferraro
Dec 11, 2003 8:22 AM
Good luck finding as durable as the Armadilloshrv
Dec 11, 2003 8:34 AM
Don't know if it exists. I'm running the 700 x 26, feel like I can mtn. bike on these! Gravel -- don't care 'bout no stinkin' gravel.

Of course, they weigh about a pound (each) more than the models mentioned. Think of it as good training. But the ones mentioned aren't even in the same ballpark with the Armadillos, as far as puncture resistance goes.

hrv
gator skins not 4-seasons grand prixssievers11
Dec 11, 2003 8:38 AM
If you want to use the conti's the ultra gator skins are the way to go...the 4 seasons don't last as long tread wise, the have a similar side wall but cost way to much to consider a "beater" winter bike tire. the 4 season prix go on your winter/spring rides on you litespeed, not your beater.

But for a beater winter bike...try the surfas tires with the kevlar flat protection in a 25. Wicked cheap and great to train one. No matter what the tire if you hit a chunk of hidden rusted muffler, your tire is toast, why not kill a $25 tire than a $60 tire.

Use you head not your heart.
should have named privious, serfas not conti, $ vs $$$sievers11
Dec 11, 2003 8:39 AM
Agree...biknben
Dec 11, 2003 9:00 AM
I totally agree with your statement about the 4-sesons. They are not for beaters. I use 25c 4-season tires on my training wheelset. They have slightly better flat and sidewall cut resistance than the GP-3000s. Not much else.

I've been pleasantly surprised with a pair of Panaracers. The T-Serve is marketed as a messenger's tire. It comes in varying widths (much narrower than the size says). I just went over a thousand miles on them and they look new. they have an agresive tread and the only fl@t I got was from a pinch. I believe I paid between $25-30 for them. They come in colors, if that's your thing.

http://www.mtbreview.com/reviews/Tire/product_78363.shtml

http://www.panaracer.com/05lineup/urban/eurban_2.html
The Panracers may fit the billvelocity
Dec 11, 2003 9:32 AM
Thanks, I'll check these out.

Have you tried the Armadillos? They are pretty much unbeatable when it comes to flat resistance. Until the past two days, when my rear has flatted three effing times -- still haven't found what's causing it but the tire has deep nicks in a coupla places -- hadn't had a flat on these in SEVEN months.
I have not tried armadillos...biknben
Dec 11, 2003 10:12 AM
I can't offer anything regarding Armadillos. I have used Conti Gatorskins but had mixed feeling. They wore well but I still got flats. They didn't impress me.
I've never used 'em, but what about tire liners?Swat Dawg
Dec 11, 2003 9:37 AM
I'm just throwing it out there partly cause I'm interested in peoples experience with them. I have been thinking about getting a pair for this winter, but am unsure it they actually do anything besides add weight. It's winter, so I don't care about weight, but I'd like them to work. FWIW, I have the Conti Gatorskins in 23c and I put over 2000 miles on them this summer and only have two puncture flats. What sucked is that they were both on the same day, at different times, one to the front, and one to the rear. Had to call for a ride that day.
I've used 'em.dzrider
Dec 11, 2003 12:37 PM
They do a great job flat-proofing but make the wheels feel sluggish. FWIW I like Avocet Cross tires. They feel sticky, last for years and are flat-resistant. They are also pricey for a "hybrid" tire and, as you would expect, heavy. Panaracer Paselas are ok too, but don't appear to last as long as the Avocets.
re: Winter-specific tires for my beater?KEN2
Dec 11, 2003 1:40 PM
How about Specialized Nimbus EX tires? They aren't as stiff or quite as heavy as the Armadillos, still have a Kevlar belt (called FlakJacket) that gives good flat protection. I use the 700 x 28s year round, almost flat-free in 3000+ miles.
You folks must be in snow/ice free zonestreebound
Dec 11, 2003 2:14 PM
Around here winter tires have studs in them for the ice and snow. Out west in California and Washington I didn't use winter-specific tires, here in Wisconsin I put a set of studded snow tires on the mtn bike for winter use.
I'm in New York City...velocity
Dec 11, 2003 2:40 PM
where snow these days is a relatively rare occurence. In the wintertime roads are generally clear so studded tires for me aren't a necessity. Over the past 6 years I can count on my hands the number of times snow has kept me from commuting on my bike.
Panaracer TGs.and...lyleseven
Dec 11, 2003 3:59 PM
No doubt at all...Panaracer TGs in a 28 (which is really more like a 25) and Gatorskins. The TGs are more flat resistant and cut resistant, the Gators are a very slight bit faster.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!velocity
Dec 12, 2003 11:46 AM
Selection at the LBS was limited. Wound up getting another set of 'dillos.