RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How can we add items/improve reviews?(8 posts)

How can we add items/improve reviews?CritLover
Dec 10, 2003 7:37 AM
I don't know if this has come before, or if there is a place on the site that explains this, but I've been frustrated and/or disappointed with the review system here several times. The lack of products, outdatedness, or amount of products that have no reviews, indicate there may be need for a change. If it's a dead discussion, ignore this and please point me in the right direction.

I've read several complaints/critiques of RBR on other boards and that has been the main one- Products and reviews are both seriously lacking. I;ve heard MTBR is much better, but must admit I've only gone there to look at Interbike pictures of road products.

Now, I know nothing about web (re)design or maintenance, but there must be some way to have reviewer input to create new items without revamping the whole site. This would keep products down to only items that one wants to review. There are so many products that either no one has or they just don't come to review. It just seems kind of arbitrary to me which products are chosen. Or perhaps it is the opposite, is there sponsor's money involved in what gets listed.

Any thoughts on this issue?
One thing that will help would be if..52-16SS
Dec 10, 2003 8:06 AM
people just once a year or so would make a review of the products they have bought, used, broken etc. It would also be nice if there was an option for updating a previouslly made review i.e. people allways love the product when it's all new and shiny, but what about after 1,2,3.. years or faillure?

OTOH who am I to comment, since I haven't reviewed anything yet 80>

SS
The problem with allowing users to add products..innergel
Dec 10, 2003 9:32 AM
is that the board will end up with multiple item descriptions that are the same thing. Everyone will type the name in slightly differently or incorrectly, and the reviews will be all over the place, worse than they are now. It would cause a lot of cleanup work to the data eventually.

I'm sure it's difficult to decide what gets listed because there are so many products and they are constantly changing. You'd have to get each company to send you a list of there product catalog and import it, or someone would have to key it in manually. I'm not sure of the solution, but these are some of the problems you run into with this sort of board.

Probably the best way to do it is to have a spot where you could submit a product to be posted if it's not there. Someone would have to determine whether it was there already, or whether it was new and should be posted. Either way, it's a lot of maintenance and manual intervention by someone.

In reality, this review site would be a lot easier to run than something like a computer or audio/visual gear site. Those products are constantly changing with different item numbers every year. Think about it. What is the exact year, make and model number of your DVD player, computer, camera lens, mp3 player, receiver, cell phone, etc. You get the picture.

Anyway, after all that, I promise to review as many products that I own that are available for review on this board. That should at least be a small start.
04 Bike categories should be up soon...gregg
Dec 10, 2003 10:17 AM
...we are definitely behind the curve on this one, and we've been working to get this data updated since after Interbike.

Innergel pretty much hit it on the head about letting RBR community members/users add products directly. We actually had this on MTBR many years back, and to this day there are still many duplicate listings in the reviews section (not as many as before, as I try and combine and kill dupes when I can.)

People would add products with incorrect manufacturer names, incorrect product names, prices, info..etc. In short, there was no way to track quality control.

That said, we do have a way for certain people to add products. What I need to do is to solicit for RBR product adding volunteers to help us out. We have a browser based interface that we can have people enter info.

Any volunteers?

There is a training curve (and teaching curve) so we hope that people could volunteer to add more than one or two products. We can't pay, but we can send some small article of RBR or MTBR swag (e.g. socks).

If anyone here is interested, please email me at:

gkato@roadbikereview.com

Put "add product volunteer" in the subject line.

Volunteers do not need to know .html, but knowledge of Photoshop or Paint Shop Pro is a bonus (volunteers would help out if they can go to manufacturers websites and grab and resize images for our reviews section).

Thanks,

-gregg, Site Manager
04 bike categories should be up soon...gregg
Dec 10, 2003 10:20 AM
...we are definitely behind the curve on this one, and we've been working to get this data updated since after Interbike.

Innergel pretty much hit it on the head about letting RBR community members/users add products directly. We actually had this on MTBR many years back, and to this day there are still many duplicate listings in the reviews section (not as many as before, as I try and combine and kill dupes when I can.)

People would add products with incorrect manufacturer names, incorrect product names, prices, info..etc. In short, there was no way to track quality control.

That said, we do have a way for certain people to add products. What I need to do is to solicit for RBR product adding volunteers to help us out. We have a browser based interface that we can have people enter info.

Any volunteers?

There is a training curve (and teaching curve) so we hope that people could volunteer to add more than one or two products. We can't pay, but we can send some small article of RBR or MTBR swag (e.g. socks).

If anyone here is interested, please email me at:

gkato@roadbikereview.com

Put "add product volunteer" in the subject line.

Volunteers do not need to know .html, but knowledge of Photoshop or Paint Shop Pro is a bonus (volunteers would help out if they can go to manufacturers websites and grab and resize images for our reviews section).

Thanks,

-gregg, Site Manager
04 bike categories should be up soon...cydswipe
Dec 10, 2003 6:41 PM
Hey I don't know a damn thing about building websites. But, if there was a drop down menu with manufacturer names to choose from, for adding reviews, at least they'd all be under, "Trek" for example, instead of "Terk". I get frustrated at the reviews here because what I buy isn't available to review. I can't be the only one who wears Nike shoes, CraftScandanavia etc. I think more reviewers are from clothing, components, etc. Not 2004 bikes. Good Luck with the data. I'm sure everyone appreciates your hard work, hell, I know I do. Maybe a "suggestion box" link or something would help?
Yeah, components and accessories are important too.gregg
Dec 11, 2003 10:55 AM
Innergel has graciously answered my plea for volunteer work, he will be the first one. If all goes well, I will solicit harder for more help.

We DO have a Site Suggestion Forum. It is selectable from the forums dropdown above.

-g
I think it's more, people gravitating to sites that...TFerguson
Dec 10, 2003 6:54 PM
have what they like. I go to RBR for the forum. The knowledge of the responders and the layout of the forum are the best I've found. Bicycling and MTBR drive me nuts. I go to MTBR when I need a specific bit of MTB info and find some very knowledgeable, but the format is worse than terrible.

As for the reviews, everything is just opinion and I would have no idea if that person's opinion has any validity. On the forum, I know their previous answers.

TF