RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


anyone have a Polar 710/720?(23 posts)

anyone have a Polar 710/720?DougSloan
Dec 9, 2003 2:37 PM
I'm interested in the Polar computer with the power sensor, primarily because I have a coach now, and it might be a great way for the coach to see exactly what's going on. So, I have a few questions:

1. How does it work? I can't find a place for reviews. I assume some bugs with the first model year have been worked out?

2. Can someone post some images of saved rides? I'm curious to see how the info is displayed.

3. Where's the best deal on these things? Looks like the best I can find is around $650 for computer and power kit.

Thanks.

Doug
Reviewsfiltersweep
Dec 9, 2003 2:48 PM
I'll have to dig up the link, but the Polar ranked 3rd out of three for measuring power output after the power tap and the system that measured output at the crank. Each has a different system due to patent issues, apparently.

http://mywebpage.netscape.com/rechung/wattage/rosetta/rosetta.html
Try this placepurplepaul
Dec 9, 2003 5:29 PM
http://store.yahoo.com/jomashop/polhearratmo.html

I just got an 810 from there despite their claim that "Original manufacturer serial numbers on our watches." I mean, does Macy's say, "We haven't been raided by the cops this year!"

But, cheap prices, no restocking fee and free shipping. You might have to call them about the power module. I didn't see it on the site.
I don't have the power sensor, but I love my 720RoadHazzardBuzz
Dec 9, 2003 5:54 PM
I used one all year untill my accident.
I love it. It gives lots of information and ways to report your data. I am a programmer, so I would like to have access to the file formats to do my own swizzeling of the data, but it's not bad.

I'll try to post a few screen shots, just be gentle, I'm not the strongest rider, but I have a blast!
Cadence ReportRoadHazzardBuzz
Dec 9, 2003 6:00 PM
Cadence Report
BTW there are 15 different reports you can configure. nmRoadHazzardBuzz
Dec 9, 2003 6:47 PM
CalendarRoadHazzardBuzz
Dec 9, 2003 6:04 PM
Here is a snapshot of the riding calendar. It shows my giant daily commute of 2.9 miles each way :-) I do come home for lunch most days to get a couple of extra in.
you can access the data, it's just stored as text files n/mBonked
Dec 10, 2003 11:02 AM
I know, but it's the layout of the data that is in questionRoadHazzardBuzz
Dec 10, 2003 2:31 PM
The data is rather criptic, and I wish they would give the data description.

For example...

[ExerciseInfo1]
100 1 12 6 5 256
0 0 0 0 46175 21512
2 1281 0 2 0 5313
128104 0 0 0 3549 1341
791 0 0 0 0 0
140 6505 14777 90 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 21438
12 306 471 2 0 0
0 0 0 0 5 1335
141 167 216 665 70 97
157 223 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 50560 0 0 5313

Doesn't tell me a whole lot.
I have the 720iBonked
Dec 11, 2003 10:59 AM
and it must be different than yours because my text files are neatly laid out in three or four columns. I haven't really looked at it yet but I think it should be easy to figure out.
I'm really happy with my S710i...biknben
Dec 9, 2003 6:56 PM
I've had it for a year now. I got it on eBay for about the same price as my LBS pays for it. I have the IR interface and the cadence kit.

I've been very happy with it. Interestingly, it's the best HRM
i and
bike computer I've ever had all in one unit. What I have been most impressed with is the software. I am able to do everything on the computer. You alter all the settings on the computer and then just transfer it to the watch. After a workout, it's the opposite. Download the data and analyse it on the computer. Absolutely no need to fumble through the menues on the watch.

The training log/diary is also great. You can use the monitor for different sports or disciplines and log it seperately. After years of logging this info on paper and using a calculator, I think the polar log is great. It stores it on a calendar, then you can make graphs of long term cummulative data.

I'm not a super tech guy and I find the software easy to learn and use. It's been the best part of the purchase for me.
Training log...biknben
Dec 9, 2003 7:09 PM
Forgive me for the image size. I get it clear AND small.

Brown indicates road rides. Blue is MTB rides. Tan is running. Green is my home strength exercises.
Wow, reading that calendar sends me a messageFez
Dec 10, 2003 8:54 AM
that I don't train very hard. All those off-bike exercises... you strike me as being quite fit.
I find the exercises translate to the bike nicely...biknben
Dec 10, 2003 9:20 AM
I have low back pain issues. A few years ago, I lost a ton of weight which helped. Then I rode harder and the pain returned. Now, I do a rather simple regimen of core and upper body exercises while in front of the TV. Any time I have let up on these exercises the pain returns. I've learned firsthand that I have to keep the core strong to support everything else.

-Crunches with feet under the couch.
-Leg lifts with ankle weights.
-Dips on the coffee table.
-Push-ups with legs raised on furniture.

I vary them from week to week by slightly altering the motions. For instance, push-ups with hands shoulder width one week, then close together the next.

I've also noticed the increased upper body strength is an advantage on the MTB. It can be a full-body workout.
I find the exercises translate to the bike nicely...Fez
Dec 10, 2003 10:28 AM
Fortunately, I don't have the back issues you do, but the flip side is I am *not* as highly motivated to work on my core strength and other things off the bike.

What I *do* off of the bike consists primarily of stretching and yoga poses. Prevents muscular stiffness and injuries for me.
Graphs...biknben
Dec 9, 2003 7:25 PM
Workouts...biknben
Dec 9, 2003 7:35 PM
MTB race...warmup / lots of laps / Cool down


Long group ride:
holy cow; that's very professional looking... nmDougSloan
Dec 10, 2003 7:16 AM
Are you refering to the software???biknben
Dec 10, 2003 8:31 AM
If you are refering to the software, I can't agree more. The watch itself is just a data collector. The software on the computer is where everything happens.

If you were refering to my personal data, I can assure you I'm no professional. :-)
Only polar software problem is that its complexundertrained
Dec 10, 2003 9:12 AM
hey biknben, you should put your HR zones in the background for easy reference.
I'm not utilizing that function...biknben
Dec 10, 2003 9:33 AM
I don't use the zone settings on the HRM at all. The settings shown are from when I first got the unit. They aren't even current. I have my HR zones on my handlebar stem. I use them during the workouts to gauge my efforts when doing intervals. I pay no attention to the zones after the workouts.

Honestly, I'm quite overwhelmed with the amount of info I have. I have nothing against tracking the zone data. I just haven't gotten to a point where it means anything to me. (I.E. I don't yet understand how tracking that can help me.)
Ditto on the 720, well worth the money!CritLover
Dec 9, 2003 10:16 PM
I just returned by power meter since my coach changed, but you can find it on ebay cheaper than from a retailer. I paid 290 from my LBS and got the 720 barely used for 200 on this site. You can do it cheap if you're patient.

Good luck.
I would agree with the posts aboveBonked
Dec 10, 2003 11:09 AM
I was about to spend $100 on a fance bike computer and $100 for a basic HR monitor and figured why not spend a little more and only have one thing on the handlebars and get all the data recorded. I was a little worried about how difficult it would be to use, but I have found it to be exceedingly easy. One note is that I too have a laptop with IR port and do all my programming via the computer...I really wouldn't want to program it through the watch. I really enjoy being able to review rides, especially races or fast team rides. It's also great because it's all wireless and works on 2 bikes which makes it a snap to install.

However, I work at a bike shop and some people just can't seem to get these to work. I just had a guy this past week return a 720 because he couldn't even get the HR stuff to work despite my manager working with him for two weeks and even giving him a new watch. Personally, if you are some what intuitive about computerized stuff, you should be able to figure it out. However, the manual is not all that great and if you can't figure out how to program your VCR, you may have problems with this.