RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Review of Train Right Climbing Video(8 posts)

Review of Train Right Climbing VideoCARBON110
Dec 9, 2003 10:16 AM
-Rediculous, save your money
re: Review of Train Right Climbing VideoJon Billheimer
Dec 9, 2003 10:24 AM
For my money most of the articles, books, and other materials by CTS are simply marketing fluff, highly disappointing, and do not live up to the hype.
agree; total wasteDougSloan
Dec 9, 2003 10:59 AM
Real content could have been reduced to about a 60 second video. Not very valuable to sit and watch other people ride on a trainer.

The one tidbit of useful information I got from it is that your heartrate may be higher when climbing than on the flats because with the elevated front wheel, apparently, you can use more muscles. More muscles in use means higher heart rate for a given perceived effort. However, I didn't need to spend the money and watch the video to learn that.

Doug
re: Review of Train Right Climbing Videoaliensporebomb
Dec 9, 2003 11:06 AM
Interesting. This one came free with my trainer and I used
it several times a week and found that when I finally hit
the real road earlier this year I was stronger than I'd
ever been before that early in the season so it worked for
me.

What videos would you recommend?
re: Review of Train Right Climbing VideoJon Billheimer
Dec 9, 2003 11:30 AM
Try the Spinervals videos. They'll give you a killer workout. Bottom line is that you don't need a faux instructional video. You need to crank up the tension on the trainer and just "climb"!
re: Review of Train Right Climbing VideoCARBON110
Dec 9, 2003 11:30 AM
For me since I am an avid trainer buff, I watch anything from new releases to TDF and spring classics. Whatever your in the mood for. Most of the time when Im on the trainer Im paying attention to my HR,Cadence and power so I miss most of anything thats on the tube. But, this video was just THAT bad! I felt compelled to tell everyone to avoid it. I had really been looking forward to it and I couldnt even manage to finish the thing. If anyone wants my copy Id be happy to mail it to them for free otherwise I will bring it back to the shop and donate it since I like them and they can use all the money they can get. I paid 25 bucks for it BAH!
Train Right Sprinting Video S#cks, tooms
Dec 9, 2003 12:09 PM
I am a great fan of the Spinervals videos (at least 1.0 through 10.0 -- I haven't seen 11.0, 12.0 and 13.0 yet). I tried the CTS Climbing video last year and thought it was lame; I decided to give CTS a second chance and try the Sprinting video this year -- it is even worse than the Climbing video.
CTS-SpinervalsCritLover
Dec 9, 2003 10:38 PM
Thanks for the CTS reviews, I was going to ask for the sprinting video for XMas.

I for one, don't like Spinervals, unless you use them midseason. They are just too intense for this Long Steady Distance time of year (base miles). If you don't follow "go easy and develop aerobic capacities" during the early winter, then they're fine. For me, they have no use at this time of year. Maybe March, or Febuary at the earliest, but not now, at least not for me.