RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Road Cycling's Greatest Crashes(23 posts)

Road Cycling's Greatest CrashesLive Steam
Dec 9, 2003 7:24 AM
Cyclesport has put together a DVD hosted by Bobke, of the most sever crashes in the pro cycling through the years. Does anyone plan on ordering this? I am not sure I would want to see this :O( Oh the pain, the pain!
If they're ranked...Dwayne Barry
Dec 9, 2003 7:47 AM
the Jalabert/genderarme (sp?) crash in the TdF bunch sprint has to be #1. I think the cop was killed and Jalabert was very bloodied.
That's #1 on my list tooDave Hickey
Dec 9, 2003 8:21 AM
But I'm not going to buy the video. I cringe everytime I see a cycling crash. It hits too close to home.
Yeah, get the Anquetil video instead; a joy to behold (nm)hrv
Dec 9, 2003 8:48 AM
Cop broke his leg. He didn't die :O) nmLive Steam
Dec 9, 2003 8:38 AM
No, the cop had a broken legSchvonzie
Dec 9, 2003 9:08 AM
? nmLive Steam
Dec 9, 2003 9:19 AM
WTF? nmthegarzacomplex
Dec 9, 2003 11:00 AM
The cop that caused the crash wasn't killed....eschelon
Dec 9, 2003 11:14 AM
he got right back up and picked up his hat and hardly sustained any injuries.
There was a crash where an official was killedDave Hickey
Dec 9, 2003 11:49 AM
in Europe. Some classic race years ago that ended in a velodrome. The offical wasn't looking and the rider ran right into him. The offical was killed instantly.

Someone here has a better memory than me. I can't remember the race
Andre Darrigade (spelling?) in the TDF --Gregory Taylor
Dec 9, 2003 12:39 PM
in the late '50's or early '60's. The Tour used to finish in a velodrome in Paris (since torn down). It was the last stage, sprint to the finish, and an official stepped out onto the track for a better look. There is an amazing picture of the impact. The official died, and the rider was not credited as finishing the Tour.
Here's a link to the picture --Gregory Taylor
Dec 9, 2003 1:03 PM
http://users.skynet.be/lenetducyclisme/images/les%20anecdotes/darrigade_et_le_jardinier.JPG

I didn't just post the picture because I wanted folks to be able to choose whether to view it or not. It's not gory, but some people just don't want to see a picture of a fellow human who is in the process of meeting their maker.
OUCH!! Can't help but notice the lack of helmet ...innergel
Dec 9, 2003 1:40 PM
on the rider. I realize it was the style back then, but just drives home the importance of the obvious.

I can only imagine how that felt.
"The style?" functional helmets barely existed before 1990 (nm)TJeanloz
Dec 9, 2003 2:06 PM
the style = poor choice of words on my part (nm)innergel
Dec 9, 2003 2:09 PM
That's it. Thanks..nmDave Hickey
Dec 9, 2003 1:48 PM
Actually, he more bounced than got back up... I have it on taperussw19
Dec 9, 2003 9:22 PM
The sprint is getting lined up along the rider's right side of the road. They are coming down the street at around 60 kph and out of nowhere the cop who was flat up against the barracades suddenly turned (to what looks like take a picture) and the first rider t-bones him. He hit the ground so hard he bounced up and then Jaja hit him again causing the most chaos. After Jaja hit him he went down chin first into the pavement and then the pile-up happens.

Jaja lost like half his face on the pavement. When he looks up you see him holding a huge chunk of skin from his cheek back to his face... it's sick. I used to have the pictures of his bike after that crash, but I can't find them... his frame was snapped in half in the crash.

But I still think the number one worst crash is Davis Phinney hitting the back of a stopped team car on a descent. Anyone remember when and where that one was?

Russ
Bauer and Criquelion. Most impact on the careerSpunout
Dec 9, 2003 7:54 AM
and impending sainthood of a Canadian in the world champion's jersey.
I won't order it, but if it's free w/ a subscription...OffTheBack
Dec 9, 2003 9:31 AM
I might have to check it out. What's the word - schadenfreude?
davis phinney through the car's back window. nmrufus
Dec 9, 2003 10:09 AM
Casartelli?gtx
Dec 9, 2003 11:12 AM
I think it's in poor tatse. Considering that some people DIE or are very badly injured in some of these crashes. What is this, NASCAR? Faces of death? Like the "fans" at crits who ask where the good crash corners are. While we're at it, let's watch the video where the bullets enter JFK's skull again...
I had a similar reaction to this but...Bonked
Dec 9, 2003 11:27 AM
I know someone who works at WCP and apparently it is sellling really well. Guess cyclists aren't any more sane than anyone else!
My initial reaction- tasteless.CritLover
Dec 9, 2003 10:49 PM
Sorry, maybe it's a women thing. Although, I was so in awe of the Cipo crash in the Giro this year. He would've had 43 wins for sure.

This is the kind of product I would expect with brutal sports like hockey or football. Just doesn't seem to go with cycling...

only in America. Although, I really don't know, would this be popular in Europe?