RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Went over 5,000 for the year and then this(36 posts)

Went over 5,000 for the year and then thisboneman
Dec 8, 2003 11:10 AM
My custom Corrado, made in Liverpool out of SAT 14.5
Early AM meeting with a stalled carboneman
Dec 8, 2003 11:14 AM
Was going up a busy London street, Warrick Road for those who know. Light was green for crossing the Westway by the Tesco and a lorry (truck) was turning left out of the far right lane. I went to the right of the truck and surprise. A Ford Fiesta with its emergency flashers going. At 20+, a little too little too late. Slammed into the back and the flat onto the pavement. Okay, bruised and banged up but my baby's a compact now.

Had it for two years, 5,000 miles plus and I'm crushed. So's the bike.
Amazing that you didn't flat (nm)Alex-in-Evanston
Dec 8, 2003 11:18 AM
Amazing that you didn't flat (nm)MShaw
Dec 8, 2003 11:40 AM
I'm guessing that his wheels are true too!

Mike
Look how the saddle slid back on the rails nmDave Hickey
Dec 8, 2003 11:22 AM
Be sure to replace the bars. (nm)Gregory Taylor
Dec 8, 2003 11:22 AM
Sorry about your loss but .. what wheelset is that??? nmorange_julius
Dec 8, 2003 11:42 AM
speaking of carbon parts...laffeaux
Dec 8, 2003 11:42 AM
It looks like the fork faired better than the frame. Maybe carbon isn't so weak after all. ;)
Close inspection may show cracks at the crown/steerer tube junction. -nmTig
Dec 8, 2003 5:55 PM
Early AM meeting with a stalled carMShaw
Dec 8, 2003 11:46 AM
I did something similar into the back of a lady's Toyota pickup. 40+mph to 0mph in the space of a tailgate isn't fun. My right arm took the brunt of the impact. It swelled up to about twice its normal size! I still have a numb spot on my forearm where the skin stretched so far that it severed the nerves under everything.

My bike (Specialized M2 Road Pro) didn't look like yours. I'd rather be broken than the bike...

Things will work out for the best. After all, now you can go get another custom bike. ...And you don't have to heal before you can ride it!

Mike
I hope this is a typoFez
Dec 8, 2003 3:16 PM
you wrote:

"My bike (Specialized M2 Road Pro) didn't look like yours. I'd rather be broken than the bike..."

I hope you don't mean that. I'll choose a broken bike over a broken body part every time.
Nope.MShaw
Dec 8, 2003 6:34 PM
Nah, body parts usually heal. Bikes cost money.

Pain is temporary, chicks dig scars and all that.

Mike
LOLFez
Dec 8, 2003 8:23 PM
You're either crazy or haven't been in enough pain.

You got to find some different chicks.
I've been in lots of pain...MShaw
Dec 9, 2003 9:28 AM
Like I said in my earlier post... Running into the tailgate of a Toyota at 40mph will do that to you.

The Dr. says I'm getting better. One of these days I'll be allowed to go on group rides again.

Mike
That's great to hear...Fez
Dec 9, 2003 11:22 AM
Great to hear you recovered from a serious crash and still have a positive attitude about these things.

I think crashing at 18mph sounds painful enough. Can't imagine it at 40.
Early AM meeting with a stalled carPbOkole
Dec 8, 2003 11:47 AM
Don't look now but you hit so hard that your Campy crank got turned into Shimano!
90 degree head tube angle?cyclinseth
Dec 8, 2003 11:49 AM
It must handle like lightning. I bet it has a toe overlap issue now?
Early AM meeting with a stalled carmapei boy
Dec 8, 2003 12:28 PM
Glad to hear it hasn't dampened your enthusiasm for the sport...or for life.
Sell it on ebay and get a new onebimini
Dec 8, 2003 12:33 PM
You may want to mention the minor dent in the frame in the ad.
Early AM meeting with a stalled carlyleseven
Dec 8, 2003 3:06 PM
That is very interesting in terms of where the damage was sustained. Given no damage to the front rim and fork, I would have some questions about the durability of the frame. I hit a fence at 20mph+, broke my neck, fractured ribs, punctured lung, etc. etc. and only damage to my Ti bike was the front wheel which had to be trued. What was your frame made of? How much did it weigh? Anyway, count your blessings for no serious injury. Better the bike than you!
It looks like you will avoid oversize airline baggage charges...Fez
Dec 8, 2003 3:11 PM
Seriously, that's a bummer. If you are one to see th positive out of every situation, the be glad you aren't seriously injured.

I'll take broken equipment over a broken body every time.

While seeing broken equipment is always a bummer, hopefully you can have some fun putting together a new ride.

Good luck.
Sorry for the loss.nmtoronto-rider
Dec 8, 2003 11:33 AM
Frame pump held up well.Turtleherder
Dec 8, 2003 11:36 AM
Maybe the next custom should be made entirely out of frame pumps.
so much for questions about carbon fork durability. nmrufus
Dec 8, 2003 11:42 AM
Was thinking the same thing53T
Dec 8, 2003 1:33 PM
I've always had non-scientificly-based doubts about CF's performance under overstress conditions. Aparantly, it is real good, or simply built so strong that this event was "normal" stress on this fork. Maybe Easton would like that pic for an ad?
... serious OUCH!Akirasho
Dec 8, 2003 12:00 PM
... glad you survived... I don't think I'd have had the strength to continue... let alone take a pic of my baby looking like that!

Be the bike.
looks like someone stole your fridge as well.....african
Dec 8, 2003 12:18 PM
it is in the first picture but gone in the second - replaced by a bin.

Hope you ok.
Good Observation....6was9
Dec 10, 2003 12:34 AM
Ouch. Bummer. BTW what did happened to your fridge?
Temporaryboneman
Dec 10, 2003 12:34 PM
The built in unit was broken so the landlord put in the stand-alone unit. Replacement unit cost about £1,000 and it too went bad after a couple of months.

Nothing's cheap in the UK, that's for sure.
Replace the back wheel and you'll have a nice Penny Farthing nmZenJones
Dec 8, 2003 1:04 PM
That good ol' Silca pump saved you from evenHigh Gear
Dec 8, 2003 2:39 PM
- a more compact situation. Your saddle even moved forward! Sorry to hear about your loss. Good thing your ok. BOY the fork was stronger than the frame...some light weight tubing hey?
It takes a real man...Matno
Dec 8, 2003 6:56 PM
to admit to hitting a parked car...

I'm truly sorry for your loss though. I can't even imagine how painful that would be for me. At least your "crumple zones" saved the rest of your bike from significant damage! (at least it looks that way)... Good luck with the rebuild.

PS
How's the Ford look?
re: Went over 5,000 for the year and then thisWoof the dog
Dec 8, 2003 9:53 PM
what happened to the fridge?

Where do you stash all that frozen blood for doping?

:0)

recover well, I wouldn't reuse bars or stem.

foow eht god.
Thanks for the commentsboneman
Dec 9, 2003 12:24 AM
Fellow posters have a way of bringing out the light side of things and some like woof's are hilarious.

Wheels are Mavic OP rims, 32x DT spokes. Haven't had anything off the bike yet as we have houseguests who asked me why I don't ride the C40 in the morning. Now they know. The fork's a Pesenti (Mizuno) with an alloy crown and steerer. We shall see later if it's damaged. Durability's a good question but it's light steel, Deda SAT 14.5 which is .6-8mm away from the butts and Tig'd.

At the end of the day I got away with a bruised and swollen left hand, a broken helmet and a toasted frame. Oh yeah, the moving saddle. It's an ITM Millenium post which holds the saddle rather securely. Who knows how it ended up like it did but I was certainly in the boys choir for a few minutes after impact.

As for being able to stop, I came off the back of the truck accelerating to make the light and the car was right there, 10' away and the last thing I expected. I'm sure the brakes were on at impact but at that speed I knew it was kiss my ass goodbye.

Shopping around for a replacement and looking to go cheap. Too bad it didn't happen earlier. My wife was in the States and I have a Merckx EX frame in storage at her parents where she was visiting.
westway to the worldMJ
Dec 9, 2003 1:26 AM
man that's hardcore

and

so easy to happen when you come out behind somebody gunning for a light

glad you're ok

what about Condor?

I hate riding around the Westway

and no - don't start taking the Colnago out for commutes in our fair city
westway to the world- or tescoboneman
Dec 10, 2003 2:09 PM
Not sure about the replacement yet. Finally gave up the gig in Tunbridge Wells which was a ball ache commuting from Kensington of a little under 2 hours each way. Now working out of Throgmorton Avenue by the Bank of England which means no more British Rail and options on the underground.

Riding to work's a possibility but the parking options are not good so it may be the choice of a complete beater ala Halford's or some stealth road bike or just an out and out cheapie. We shall see.