RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Got My New Canon CAAD7 Digi Cam... semi topical...(14 posts)

Got My New Canon CAAD7 Digi Cam... semi topical...Akirasho
Dec 5, 2003 5:25 PM
... recently, there have been a couple threads on digital cameras on this forum... and while not directly topical, I'd thought I'd add my two scents...

Had considered the new Fuji S7000, but upon reconning my personal needs and expectations, budgeted a few more green and went with a true digital SLR, the Cannondale CAAD7 Reb... errr... Canon Rebel 300D.

No real review here (there are plenty on the web) but a couple of pics to compare and contrast my old 1.5 megapixel point and shoot (both photos are JPEG that have been resized with Adobe PhotoDeluxe but I still think you can get a feel for the diff). These are of the seattube cluster of a Kuota Ksano frame. The Canon Rebel's output was approximately 42.5" X 28.5".


Fuji MX700 1.5 megapixel

Canon Rebel 300D 6.5 megapixel

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos300d/

Thanks to the members of this, and it's sister photo forums for advice!

Be the bike.
But are you going to slide that beast into your jearsy pocket..GeoCyclist
Dec 5, 2003 5:55 PM
and cycle with it?
But are you going to slide that beast into your jearsy pocket..Akirasho
Dec 6, 2003 5:00 AM
.... nah, I still got the Fuji for that... and will probably "upgrade" to a higher resolutlion point and shoot by summer (cruise coming up)... but the Fuji had been woefully inadequate at some cycling events (unable to capture close up velodrome or crit action) as well as everyday uses (it had been passed by on the whiz bang scale... which was brought home hard as I tried to photograph all three North American flight demo squads (Thunderbirds, Blue Angels and Snow Birds) at this year's US Air and Trade Show in Dayton, Oh).

The Digi Rebel would only see ride duty if I'm on my 'bent!

Be the bike.
You ride a bent?GeoCyclist
Dec 7, 2003 12:24 AM
One of the local riders has ordered a couple of bents. I hope to test ride one when they arrive. I've been very curious about recumbent bicycles. Would love to hear what you think about switching back and forth between a road bike and a bent.

Ride on!
... yup...Akirasho
Dec 7, 2003 1:51 AM
... a key factor in testing recumbents is to remember that that term is about as generic as bicycle meaning that there is a lot of variation on the theme depending on the rider's needs and bike design... from casual cruisers to full on fully faired HPV racers... and while difficult for most folks, it helps to test ride several types (it's sometimes difficult to find a single 'bent dealer, let alone one who carries a wide variety) before drawing conclusions.

As for me, I've got a couple of Vision SWB... one somewhat modified for racing/time trials. Overall, it's handling mimics a performance road bike in all save sprint starts and hill climbs (can still top out with or above the big boys... and climbing takes a tad more finesse... and time).

Transistions aren't too difficult if your training regimin includes a mix of the types, however, it generally requires about 1500 miles (dunno where that number comes from, but it's what everybody quotes... and it's near enough to the truth) to require recumbent legs (muscle groups are used in slightly different ways... especially climbing)... and in that time, your arse, or more specifically, your sit bones tend to forget how to accomodate a wedgie. Still, it is possible to do both.

Be the bike.
What was the average pricesuperdog
Dec 5, 2003 6:15 PM
for this camera including the lens?
What was the average priceCritLover
Dec 5, 2003 9:47 PM
about as much as a 105 grouped bike! Geez, that camera is no joke. Picture quality is outstanding. I assume you know your way around cameras, 'cause that is a high function unit.

I just got my first digital about two months ago, and I love it. My art background left me wanting a lot of manual features, and I got a good deal on a Canon G3 ($425). Can't take it on many rides, unless I sling it over my shoulder, but hey, that's not what I bought it for.

Nice, nice camera, hope to see lots of pics from it.
Kit price was $999 USDAkirasho
Dec 6, 2003 5:08 AM
included lens, battery, charger, video and USB cables, manuals and software (only briefly tinkered with imaging software). Does not, however, include Compact Flash card. You can get all of the above less the lens for between $850 to $899 (a plus if you've already got EF and/or EF S lenses).

As current SLR digitals go... it's cheap... next year, there'll be more... for less.

Be the bike.
re: Got My New Canon CAAD7 Digi Cam... semi topical...aliensporebomb
Dec 5, 2003 10:14 PM
Wow. Lustful picture quality. Amazing. Congrats on the new purchase.
That's a gorgeous camera.
re: Got My New Canon CAAD7 Digi Cam... semi topical...Woof the dog
Dec 5, 2003 11:43 PM
who cares about the camera, post a bike pic, all this carbon looks intrigueing (spelling?)

woof.
re: Got My New Canon CAAD7 Digi Cam... semi topical...Akirasho
Dec 6, 2003 5:12 AM
... I thought you already saw this...

Kuota Ksano frame, fork and seatpost... awaiting build over the winter.

Be the bike.
want a cool upgrade?colker1
Dec 6, 2003 5:03 AM
a fixed (non zoom) macro lens. i don't know well the canon line but they must have something like a 50mm 2.8 macro. it shouldn't be too expensive.
optics are better than a zoom. much better.
i love digital slr's and lust for a kodak; 12 mega pixels and big ccd.
why so many helmets? -nmjoe friday
Dec 6, 2003 5:47 PM
Y knot? (nm)Akirasho
Dec 6, 2003 6:07 PM
Be the bike.