RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Looking to buy a custom Ti Frame(14 posts)

Looking to buy a custom Ti FrameHWTrider
Dec 5, 2003 4:37 PM
I was hoping someone could give me a little help. What are the major differences between the Indy Fab and the Seven frames. Custom is custom and both manufactures are very good, but I would like to hear what you guys have to say.
Thanks for your input!
re: Looking to buy a custom Ti Framelyleseven
Dec 5, 2003 9:35 PM
I have a Seven Ti, but the most important aspect of the matter is the fit. I went to a shop that took great pains and time to measure me for a perfect fit and then sent the numbers off to Seven. Seven then called back with any questions and went over the order in great detail to make sure that the fit, and tubing (stronger bottom bracket, etc) was perfect for my weight, cycling style, etc. I was tremendously pleased with the detail and effort they extended. I visited the factory a few months ago and was made aware of how they put bikes together once the specs are finalized. So impressed, I ordered another Seven, this time steel. I can't speak for other manufacturers but I can strongly recommend Seven. Again, the key is in the fit and making sure the manufacturer is aware of your specific riding needs.
I second the SevenCritLover
Dec 5, 2003 9:59 PM
I would buy another one if I could. But then again, my Axiom is so awesome, I have no reason to. If I was getting a steel bike, I'd probably look elsewhere, but for ti, Seven is it.

I don't know about IF, but Seven comes from the Merlin lineage that has a good amount of experience with it. I don't know the background of IF, so that may be a good place to look. Also, it seems to be that most custom ti bikes I see in my area are Sevens and Serottas. I only know of one IF ti. Not sure if it matters, but just a point.
I'll 3rd it...PsyDoc
Dec 6, 2003 12:49 PM
...for all the reasons listed above. I rode a Serotta...a Concours, not a Legend...and did not like the feel of the bike. However, if a Serotta was custom built for me like the Seven was, then I believe that I would relish the bike just as much as I do my Seven.
A Serotta Test ride might change your life!!!DUOHEAD
Dec 5, 2003 10:59 PM
Altho possibly more $, the Serotta engineering and fit system results in a ride far superior to the SEVEN! You owe it to yourself to see if this applies to your situation! Good luck-[and the 7 is a great ride!]
re: Looking to buy a custom Ti Framekoala
Dec 6, 2003 4:48 AM
Where do you live? If you live within driving distance of Tom Kellog give him a call. Check out the website at Spectrum-cycles.com. Look at this months bike of the month. This guy is one of the premiere fitters and designers in the world and one protracted conversation illustrates this. Also, his prices are very reasonable for everything you get(3000 for frame any paint, fork, headset and pump color keyed.) One note, he does have a predisposition towards compacts.
A few options...Spiderman
Dec 6, 2003 9:31 AM
spectrum
Indy Fab
Moots
Seven
Dean
Strong (i think he does Ti)
Serotta

I am biased because I worked at a shop that sold Serotta, have taken their fit class and currently ride one. The serotta fit will be just as spot on as they seven fit. It has more to do with the person who fit you, then the company. Find a reputable fitting-shop in your area and have them fit you.

Serotta's style is to have the shop fits you on the size cycle which is very hands on. They then relay the numbers to Serotta. Seven does a lot of their stuff over the phone so some physical issues (flexibility, core strength) may be missed.

With both manufacturers there have been mishaps, not many for either but they are inevitable - still, not a reason to avoid either company. With Serotta it would be the shops problem (very easy to rectify cause you deal with the shop directly). with Seven it is Sevens fault, therefore you have to deal with a company over the phone and email which can be annoying (thats the problem with having manufacturer-customer direct interaction). Again, working with serotta, they seemed extremely willing to fix any concerns (take my opinion for what its worth)

What i think is the most distinguishing characteristic of the Serotta is the tubing. The colorado concept tubing is, imho, a great idea. It is wider where you need it (BB and HT/TT junction) and narrower where you want it to be more comfortable (seat cluster). From what i have heard, in comparison the Seven is a tiny bit harsher than the Serotta, very responsive and very smooth but still not an overall harsh ride. The serotta is buttery smooth and still very responsive. I love mine.

Build quality is going to be identical. All the custome companies have nice welds. In the end, the welds aren't going to make or break a bike. They will function the exact same.

I guess when it boils down to it, take your time and do serious research. Call the companies up, see what they have to say. Get a proper fit, and ride what you can. In your search, you are going to hear a lot of "I heard this" and "but my friend has one and said that..." (my post is no exception) but only you can figure out what is best for you. Most of all have fun and keep everyone on the board updated.
Not all correct...lyleseven
Dec 6, 2003 9:49 AM
The above comments are somwhate skewed. First of all, Seven goes to great detail in the fit, both written and verbal input. The shop I visited to inquire about a Serotta did not go as far. Seven does all of what is mentioned above including the head tube, bottom bracket, etc. The author above has obviously not read the Seven literature or seen the customization package involved in each purchase. To say that Seven is harsher riding than Serotta is simipy incorrect. Both bikes are excellent; both bikes, if fit properly, have buttery smooth rides and remain stiff for all necessary reasons. I would never put down a Serotta because I eventually decided on the Seven. As mentioned, the shop that fits you is more important than any single factor. You should also read the reviews on this site for both bikes. Seven comes out slightly higher and the Axiom was rated as the best Ti bike made by the readers choice and a couple of cycling magazines (and don't put too much weight on that alone). Again, the Serotta product is excellent and I would not hesitate to get one when the need arises, but I would find a shop that gave me the detailed fit and input from the manufacturer before I ordered one. Good luck!
Not all correct, I agreemainframe
Dec 6, 2003 10:47 AM
Seven, and I'm sure Serotta as well, can make any frame as stiff or light as you like. Its all about tube selection. Seven's custom fit program goes to great lenghts to ensure the rider's desires and frame characteristics match. Their custom fit form asks nearly 100 questions/measurements and that they've fit >7000 riders, it would seem a tried and true system with all the mystery removed. A reading of their fit program is worth a thousand words.
the fit...Spiderman
Dec 6, 2003 5:24 PM
I have read through Seven's fitting program and yes there are a crapload of questions that are very thorough. My personal belief is to get fit in person. Take those measurements from the fit and get a seven if thats what you decide. I (again personally speaking) wouldn't trust getting fit over the phone/email/fax.

Otherwise, have a good time!
Don't miss TituspedalAZ
Dec 6, 2003 4:06 PM
I had a Serotta fitting, and used the results in sizing my Titus FCR. Titus also knows about tube selection, and worked with me on BB stiffness, while keeping the seat stays more compliant.

Titus also has Exogrid and Isogrid proprietary tube sections to work into the mix if you want to get real exotic. Exogrid laser cuts designs out of the tubes, then fills the voids with carbon fiber resins for lower overall weight and a better ride.
re: Looking to buy a custom Ti Framegtx
Dec 6, 2003 9:15 AM
IF uses a shot peened finish. I imagine their dropouts and tube selections are different. They are both custom, sure, but study their "standard" geo charts to get an idea of which way they lean, geo wise. I'd love a shot peened ti IF with a steel IF fork.
re: Looking to buy a custom Ti Framelarryp2
Dec 6, 2003 9:55 PM
I test rode the Seven and the Serotta and opted for the Seven Odonata mainly for the price savings. I could feel no difference in the rides, both superb. The same fitter and he was excellent.....ljp
re: Looking to buy a custom Ti FrameMShaw
Dec 8, 2003 11:06 AM
There are more options than just those two..

Bill Holland (here in San Diego)
Spectrum
Dean

etc.

I see a lot of Holland bikes here in San Diego. Cool thing about him/them is that they're all using custom tubesets for rider weight, etc.

As for the rest of the answers, you're going to get lots and lots of personal opinions which may or may not match your own. Test ride if you can, if not, roll the dice and hope.

Mike