RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Now I've Gone And Done It!(57 posts)

Now I've Gone And Done It!Colton
Dec 5, 2003 3:49 PM
I just ordered the Record carbon water cage! I know, I know, I could of put that money to better use, but what the heck, you need to do something extravagant once in a while! Besides it's better than buying a H2 and a whole lot cheaper!
That's pretty cool, but this is cooler.purplepaul
Dec 5, 2003 4:09 PM
30 grams and only 9 grams.
Correction: 30 bucks and 9 grams. nmpurplepaul
Dec 5, 2003 4:10 PM
okThe Human G-Nome
Dec 5, 2003 4:29 PM
yes, but from the looks of the pic, the waterbottle would just fall right through. what's to stop it? plus, if it's 9 grams, are you going to be equally stingy with the waterbottle and the water inside of the bottle. ie, only feel it with 20 grams of water. the carbon cage thing looks cool, but it's seriously out of control. you need FUNCTION in a waterbottle cage. no one likes doubling back up a climb to pick up their waterbottle on the side of the road.
So what keeps the bottle from sliding out? (nm)Kerry Irons
Dec 5, 2003 4:45 PM
It uses tapered bottles like the Tacx Splashpurplepaul
Dec 5, 2003 4:54 PM
And, although I'm not an extreme weight weenie, lighter components aren't a bad idea. There are much more expensive carriers out there that weigh way more. So, if you can have light and cheap(er), why not go for it?
That's pretty cool, but this is cooler.seyboro
Dec 6, 2003 5:53 AM
Purple, I owned a pair of the BTPs, but switched them back to the somewhat heavier but trusty Arundels. After a few weeks, the BTPs' finish 'rubbed raw' and made some godawful black marks on the bottles. Secondly, I never really warmed up to the simple srew securing the cage in the frame. Although, they did not break, I never was quite comfortable just yanking out the bottle carelessly. Your experience?
That's pretty cool, but this is cooler.purplepaul
Dec 6, 2003 11:24 AM
My experience: Still waiting for them to arrive.

If they turn out to be junk, I'll ditch them. But my Elite cages make horrid marks all over my bottles. Since I was looking to replace them anyway, I figured I'd give these a shot. If there's anything particular bad or good about them, I'll let you know.
If you care....divve
Dec 7, 2003 3:34 AM
....about scratches on your water bottles don't even consider the BTP cages. Don't bother either if you're in the habit of carelessly yanking out bottles at any given angle.
One More!!PMC
Dec 5, 2003 4:34 PM
Here's another. They're 13.5 grams and two for 69 bucks
Already have them, they awesome! nmJuanmoretime
Dec 5, 2003 4:49 PM
what pisses me off......CARBON110
Dec 5, 2003 4:54 PM
Is guys that buy this crap and then race. Especially criteriums or early spring races where your doing a 30-45 minute crit or a 30 mile road race and some jack-ass fills two bottles full and they fly out into the field where guys like me run over them and hit the deck. NICE JOB ! I'll be waiting to wip that bottle at you on the last lap to make sure you feel the same pain from your idiocy
agreedThe Human G-Nome
Dec 5, 2003 5:00 PM
plus, nothing beats following some arse on a descent and he hits a bump and his bottle flys out, heading right for your wheel. now that's a good time. if you're going to spend that much money on a cage, it BETTER work. if you're ONLY buying it for looks, it might look good as a drink holder at home though. or maybe you can nail it into the van door.
what pisses me off......Juanmoretime
Dec 5, 2003 5:02 PM
I've had mine for three months and they hold my water bottles as well as the Tacx Tao's they replaced. The opening is smaller than the bottle and spreads as you slide the bottle in, it acts as a spring holding the bottle firmly.
I've been using the BTP...divve
Dec 5, 2003 5:22 PM
....which originally are Tune bottle cages for two years now. I have them on my MTB as well. The bottles do not fall out ever.
That is a VERY good picMel Erickson
Dec 5, 2003 6:40 PM
Sharp, great color, great detail. What camera did you use? Digital I assume (or is it a very good scan)? Nice bike, too.
That is a VERY good picWoof the dog
Dec 5, 2003 11:47 PM
Leftie is nice, but i hear scalpel quite frankly sucks.

Woof.
That is a VERY good picdivve
Dec 6, 2003 4:31 AM
Thanks. The photo was taken with a Canon PowerShot S200 "Digital ELPH". It's a very simple and compact (3.4 x 2.2 x 1.1") point and shoot camera. The trick is to get decent light and your pictures will look better 100% of the time:)
agreedThe Human G-Nome
Dec 5, 2003 5:02 PM
plus, nothing beats following some arse on a descent and he hits a bump and his bottle flys out, heading right for your wheel. now that's a good time. if you're going to spend that much money on a cage, it BETTER work. if you're ONLY buying it for looks, it might look good as a drink holder at home though. or maybe you can nail it into the van door.
what pisses me off......PMC
Dec 5, 2003 5:38 PM
I agree

I also wouldn't spend 35 bucks per cage when can get Elite Patao standard cages for around 14 bucks on sale. Never lost a bottle with them either.

You do seem somewhat angry though... I take it you have 1st hand experience with this
Do they have a name?Jack9
Dec 5, 2003 4:55 PM
What are they called, and where can I buy them?
BTP makes them. Hi-techbikes sells them. Links inside.purplepaul
Dec 5, 2003 4:57 PM
http://www.b-t-p.de/BTP-English/products/bottle-holders/bottle-holders.html

http://www.hi-techbikes.com/cgi/list.cgi?cat=Components&sub=Ultra-Lightweight%20Parts
Do they have a name?PMC
Dec 5, 2003 5:34 PM
Mike Garcia at http://www.oddsandendos.com/ carries them.

I've never used them and personally wouldn't spend that much on cages but the look kinda cool.
my recommendationThe Human G-Nome
Dec 5, 2003 5:03 PM
please note: "hugs a bottle well"

http://www.interlocracing.com/16Gcage.html
Well, if they lie about being the lightestpurplepaul
Dec 5, 2003 5:07 PM
Might they not also lie about "hugs a bottle well"?

Not that they won't work. But I see no reason to spend more for a heavier cage, especially since it looks kind of fred.
actuallyThe Human G-Nome
Dec 5, 2003 6:27 PM
i was just trying to sneak in a pimp for one of our team's sponsors without anyone noticing. i take what i can get. ; )
Curses, G-Nome. I fell for your little scheme. nmpurplepaul
Dec 5, 2003 6:47 PM
BTW, can you believe we're arguing about bottle holders? nmpurplepaul
Dec 5, 2003 5:08 PM
No nmwooglin
Dec 5, 2003 5:58 PM
my recommendationCritLover
Dec 5, 2003 9:55 PM
how did you mangae to get these guys to sponsor you? I'm trying to get some decent products to back my college team, and the guys would just go crazy with a company like this.
Are you on a 1/2 kick-ass team? Any info would be great, I'm new to this. Thanks!
wellThe Human G-Nome
Dec 6, 2003 4:01 PM
We're actually not a 1/2 team, but we do have a strategy that works. I wish I was at liberty to share more, but all I can say is that sponsors look kindly upon teams that give back to the community. Our sponsorship package rivals that of most 1/2 teams and yet most of our riders are 4s and 5s. Sponsors are looking for a reason to help you, but you have to be the one that supplies that reason. Be creative and good luck!
No carbon here, but still..Qubeley
Dec 5, 2003 5:41 PM
Magnisium cage with 24K gold coating. Only problem is the bottles are increaingly hard to find. I am stocking up.
here's another carbon cageQubeley
Dec 5, 2003 6:49 PM
made by USE. 26 gram for $49
http://store.yahoo.com/glorycycles/usecaboca.html
here's another carbon cagelyleseven
Dec 5, 2003 8:14 PM
If you are going to pay 15 to 20 bucks for one of these fine, because I am sure that their function is every bit as good as the aluminum ones which are not at all hesitant to dump a bottle over a harsh bump. But, to spend $90 on one is serious misuse of funds. For that kind of money I can buy some dynamite racing tires (proabably 3) and benefit a lot more than a frigging light weight water bottle! On the other hand, if you are a capitalist pig and have money to burn, go ahead and burn it up on these trendy little items!
Hey Karl Marxpurplepaul
Dec 5, 2003 8:44 PM
Why would you possibly care if someone buys a carbon cage that you wouldn't?
That's quite a rant...LactateIntolerant
Dec 6, 2003 7:44 AM
...is it the owning of two Sevens that entitles you to decide how we should spend our money?
Better use of money..lyleseven
Dec 6, 2003 9:15 PM
Owning two Sevens has nothing to do with it( and your jealousy is pouring out all over your keyboard!). I think it is perfectly okay to spend that kind of money (as my post said) if your little heart desires it. The point is, there are other things where your money might increase performance, hardly one is in a water bottle holder!
I don't think anyone suggestedpurplepaul
Dec 6, 2003 9:35 PM
that carbon cages would boost performance, just that they can look good and work as well as metal ones while costing more (except perhaps ti).
No, that's not jealousy...LactateIntolerant
Dec 7, 2003 5:48 PM
Sorry, I guess I didn't interpret

'...to spend $90 on one is a serious misuse of funds.'

'...if you are a capitalist pig and have money to burn...'

as being 'perfectly okay'. I thought you were being judgemental about how others choose to spend their money.
Same questionCritLover
Dec 5, 2003 9:52 PM
What holds the bottle in on the USE model? I was just checking these out, but haven't heard any reviews yet.
re: Now I've Gone And Done It!Woof the dog
Dec 5, 2003 11:55 PM
I wonder how long and well do these carbon things hold up. Also, I want to be able to use different bottles in them, and bottles do differ in diameter a little bit. Clearly, King staneless steel cages are the best - lighter or just as light as your regular aluminum ones, bendable, don't mark up your bottles. What else would anyone want? you guys are just crazy with all this carbon stuff. I would be just scared of using stuff this light because I am not so sure it will not break on me in like two years.

Woof.

Yes, i am a poor dog.
GO NUTS! One more reason for me to stay at the frontCARBON110
Dec 6, 2003 5:49 AM
By all means buy ten those silly things. But I'll save more weight from eating my food timely and having a good "movement" on the porcelin throne :D

Angry? You bet your ass it upsets me. I have a hard enough time joseling for a good position, avoiding man holes and thinking about the team,how Im feeling and the girls on the fourth corner :D

Then some dingbat buys a 9 gram water bottle cage for a crit and puts BOTH bottles in FULL. DUH! Next thing you know bottles are rolling through the field,guys bumping into eachother and BLAMO you or your friend have a yard sale,scratces on your bike, road rash and a potential broken bone. All due to the carelessness and sdome weenie who thought 18 grams was going to actually get him to the line faster....I guess I will start increasing my upper body strength so when this does happen I can zipp that bottle Cipolini style at your head
Dude, you've obviously got a problempurplepaul
Dec 6, 2003 11:17 AM
but I don't think it's bottle cages.

If you bothered to read any post but your own, a mountain biker shared their experience of several years which is at odds with your assumption.

You have no evidence that these cages hold bottles less well than heavier ones, just that your taking a dump saves more weight. What a stupid position.
Nice commentary....next time think before you writeCARBON110
Dec 6, 2003 11:58 AM
First of all Mtn biking has NOTHING to do with road racing or road riding period. Certainly you can find someone or a group of peolpe that will tell you Elvis is still alive if you really want to. For instance, not all of Zipps clincher 303s owners cracked their wheels, but MOST of them did in 2002. To different sports mtn biking and road riding. If you had the experience of being in a race at 30-55+ mph in a field of 90+ riders you might understand. Don't claim some unbiased Zen nonsense with me here if you have been restricted to your tues night training crit.

Alot of people here ride everyday and that takes bravado in itself since the roads, if you havent been paying attention, are a dangerous place for us cyclists.

In addition, a race is the culmination of potential hazards and every single one I have been to, dozens and dozens, has someone who is to preoccupied with life or other things and increases the risks by their carelessness with things like : stupid bottle cages, over inflating their tires, poor handling skills, aggression, not paying attention etc etc.

MORE IMPORTANTLY

you wont find me yelling at people to "hold your line" or to be overly sensitive about squirrely riders but it burns my ass when people like YOU adopt convictions with a LACK of experience. Yes, flying bottles are preventable but suckers for marketing and accessories that are more impractical and aestheticly pleasing then funtional make the market for them.

Its just usually us guys/gals who sacrifice alot of our lives by riding 8000+ miles a year , going to the gym, going to bed early, dieting, exhaustive traveling, and more planning them you like end up paying for your carelessness by broken bones or broken bikes.

Imagin your racing the Mass. Monson road race or perhaps the Greenville spring series, both of which have rough roads in areas of the course and some idiot has a CARBON bottle cage and has jammed his bottle in or is fussing with it cause he is worried he might break it if he is to rough ( a common concern with carbon cages ) hits a bump and pops his bottle out of his cage. Now you have spent all winter riding and lifting and here goes the rest of your next 3 months as you smack the pave'ment.

Get a real handle by the way purplepaul
If I may suggest one Paul...........CARBON110
Dec 6, 2003 12:21 PM
A new handle that is.... I was just thinking how about changing from Purplepaul to.....drum roll please..

-TheManWhoKnewToLittle


hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahaha................

....... hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha !

:P
How embarrassing...purplepaul
Dec 6, 2003 12:48 PM
The word you were looking for is "Too".

But not bad for a first grader. Come back in a few years.

I'm glad you find yourself so entertaining. You, no doubt, get a lot of practice.

Yawn.
So, Carbon, you hate carbon?purplepaul
Dec 6, 2003 12:41 PM
You're making a lot of assumptions here, little girl.

One is that I'm not out riding MORE than you. Another is that I'd put something on my bicycle and then go jump in a pack without seeing if it worked properly, thus potentially injuring myself and others.

Still another is that you know about something which you haven't tried.

Yet another is that there aren't many among us who ride off and on road and therefore may be in a better position than you to know what's relevant.

But that's okay. You just told us a lot about who you are. So your posts have very little significance. Much like you, I imagine.
LOL Pauly, don't take it so hard my manCARBON110
Dec 6, 2003 1:32 PM
Little girl LOL! Are you a teen or something? Pauly settle down geez. By all means if it makes you feel better to bring adolescent behavoir and vocabulary into the discussion at my expense....go ahead it wont bother me :)

Im not trying to win a popularity contest and if it boils down to wit (which it better not since you will have a hard time) this is an inappropriate context and forum for it. A little pathetic on your part and I will do my best not to perpetuate it anymore. I hope your not having some kind of terrets syndrom at home over this LOL!

However, it illustrates your inept and highly limited in your candor and ability to resolve conflict. That will follow you your whole life and have far greater consequences then you know. I recommend you work on it. Conflict resolution is an important tool in both buisiness and personal relationships and you will be hard pressed to find success when you display the kinda garbage you are here.

I didnt make any assumptions. That seems to be a recurring word for you. I wouldn't offer my opinion on the subject unless I had experienced them myself or they could have potential harm come of them. If you follow the post and stop being an imbecile you would understand that people do all kinds of crazy things without thinking. My first and second post were directed to those who are thus careless and that carelessness results in harm to others. That's the point, but please indulge the rest of us with your continued show of brilliance and eloquence, I know I like a good laugh :D
Cheer up, Carbonitapurplepaul
Dec 6, 2003 8:37 PM
You probably won't stay at the back of the CAT5 pack forever. If you ride as well as you write, you'll quit sooner rather than later. Unless one of those crazy water bottles gets you first.
both of youThe Human G-Nome
Dec 6, 2003 10:33 PM
please... for the love of krist. and purple, although i want no part of this argument (i've already said where i stand), i'd lay 10 to 1 odds that Carbon110 would waste you in a road race. you might want to leave that part out of your equation.
A thousand apologies :PCARBON110
Dec 7, 2003 6:58 AM
I thought it was in good fun, but it seems my humor is unusual and I would not want to be responsible for RBR becoming an outlet for such nonsense. Human G, I hope you'll still consider my offer for the VT stage race which is extended of course to Javier. Anyway I hope everyone got a good laugh and I didnt mean to offend anyone, well maybe just the one

My goals for next season:

Carbon110 <---- Planning on dressing like a little girl, fail an english class, get some new interpersonal social skills and overdose on Prozac. Going to down grade back to cat 5 so I can get shelled and quit, unless of course one of those damn possessed H2O bottles gets me first.

HAHAH just kidn
no apology necessaryThe Human G-Nome
Dec 7, 2003 8:20 AM
I just hate to see anyone get their feelings hurt over a few little grams of carbon. Javier and myself are still in negotiation over the stage race. if it's in the budget, we're there!
Actually, I quite enjoyed it. nmpurplepaul
Dec 7, 2003 9:08 AM
oh, i take it all back then, carry on nmThe Human G-Nome
Dec 8, 2003 10:36 AM
Try some prozac or zoloft...lyleseven
Dec 6, 2003 9:20 PM
A guy like you should not spend any money on bike parts until you invest in some serious dosages of prozac or zoloft to quell some of that hostility....you sound like a serious case of "bike rage"... chill out.
Nice story.....divve
Dec 6, 2003 6:06 PM
.....but my MTB analogy was used only to illustrate how secure they held the bottles. I can't help it if some road racer is pussyfooting with his cage because he's afraid to scratch his bottle...how someone uses his stuff is beyond my control.

Admittedly, I don't know much about road racing in the US. In Europe however these Tune or BTP bottle cages won't be practical due to the custom bottle type they take. You won't be able to properly mount a standard bottle from neutral support rendering this specific item useless for road racing.
re: Now I've Gone And Done It!superdreadnought
Dec 6, 2003 6:50 AM
I will stick to my heavy conventional aluminum $5.00 cages, both with full water bottles; I will catch you on the downhill :).

At least until I can afford a five thousand dollar bike.