RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone read KG486 review in...(12 posts)

Anyone read KG486 review in...6was9
Dec 3, 2003 2:14 PM
CycleSports Magazine a few month ago? What did they say in short? I missed the issue. If anyone could tell me jest of their review I'd appreciate it. Thanks in advance.
that wasn't a review...FORT-Cyclist
Dec 3, 2003 2:59 PM
the article in CS (july 2003) was about Jalaberts new job as an advisor for Look.
JaJa and the CS-reporter took a ride together, JaJa on the kg486, the other guy on the KX.
the article contained some nice close-up fotos, but there was no single word about the riding qualities of the kg486.
there was an article on bicyclingorange_julius
Dec 3, 2003 3:45 PM
I think it was from October or something. Bicycling
compared the LOOK KG486 and the TIME carbon. less
of a show-and-tell that was the Cycle Sport article, but
not very thoughtful either...
Ummm...6was9
Dec 3, 2003 3:54 PM
Thanks. I wonder why it's so difficult to find out much about this frame. As for Bicycling Mag, I am not all that sure how much I should rely their review.
I am exactly sure how much I would rely on a Bicycling review...collinsc
Dec 3, 2003 4:27 PM
I bet you can guess.
That's easy ...orange_julius
Dec 3, 2003 5:22 PM
Every bike is stiff, light, responsive, and comfortable.
Oh, every bike also looks sexy.

What a wonderful world!
re: Anyone read KG486 review in...daman4886
Dec 3, 2003 6:45 PM
Well, I just bought one, getting it built up now, Ill tell you how it is in two days.
re: 03? 04? Where?...6was9
Dec 3, 2003 10:16 PM
If I get it I'll probably get it either from Total or Bethel.

Velo News say "great bike for courses requiring nimble handling and acceleration as well as lots of climbing." Bicycling Mag said something like it handles too twitch for most riders... all this talk of twitch, nimble handling etc concerns me a bit as though I might end up with too technical and specific of a frame.

Also there are some, although very rare, yet present, horror stories about Look 86 series frames cracking around rear dropout/ chainstay/ BB area; I am not as concern about this(there would be a whole lot more complaining rants and reviews if it were a serious problem) but it's still in the back of my mind since I've seen the similar complaint a number of times. I apologize if I scared you a little. Mind you that Look modified the frame by adding more CF and bulking up the BB area in the middle of 2003. Some later 03 models are same as the new 04 version without the 04 decal and SL fork.

It would be assuring to hear someone say that this frame is highly durable and perfectly ridable in average riding situation as well.
its an 03daman4886
Dec 3, 2003 10:45 PM
Thanks for the info, I had no idea they changed the BB area in the middle of 03, i also do not know if mine has the new BB or the older one, although it looks like its pretty beefed up. Look also offers a 5 year warranty, so i think cracking would be covered, so i'm not worried about that, and i doubt it would happen. I actually got my bike from gear works cyclery, in mass. it was listed on ebay, great deal. I also checked out Total cycling, but they didn't have the color I wanted. The review from Velo News does not worry me, I can't imagine a bike that handles "too well". I guess I'll find out though soon enough.

If anyone has on 04 with the SL fork, It would be interesting if that is a big improvement over the hsc 4 fork, or just a little weight, it didn't seem worth it spending the extra money.
don't worryhudsonite
Dec 4, 2003 6:02 AM
The prototype kg486 and the production kg486 were a little different. There were changes to the frame to make it stronger and stiffer. There was about a 100 grams of extra material added to the frame between the proto models and the production models.

To the best of my knowledge all production models were of the stronger and heavier design. If there were to be problems, the 5 year warranty is very comprehensive. If something happens, they will fix or replace it.

You will love the ride of the KG486.
No difference, just price?6was9
Dec 5, 2003 2:29 AM
So there is no difference between 03 and 04 besides the minor decal change and SL fork? Another $500 for that? I am pretty positive that they've beefed up the BB area even more(and few other places) after the initial production model release. It is now down for me to decide on 04, or go with 03 and save 300. If I go with 03 I am going to end up with the same fork that I have on KG461 though(I got HSC4 on it.) Mike at Total said that he's not sure which 03 version he's got in stock.
Yeshudsonite
Dec 5, 2003 10:19 AM
If you goto the Look web site and read the French forums, you will see that Look responded to this question a month or two ago. Now if you don't speak French, they basically said that the difference between 04 and 03 production frames was the fork. Everything else is the same. They also go on to say that the original prototypes weighed less than the 03 production models, because the production models were 'beefed' up in key areas after test rides by JaJa.

So '03 production and 04 production frames differ only in the logo's. The '04 forks are a little different, but I don't think it really matters (in my opinion).