RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Heras Wants to Leave Armstrong's U.S. Postal Team(64 posts)

Heras Wants to Leave Armstrong's U.S. Postal Teamkevinacohn
Dec 3, 2003 6:52 AM
MADRID (Reuters) - Tour of Spain winner Roberto Heras wants to leave the U.S. Postal team in order to lead a new outfit in next year's Tour de France, Spanish media reported on Wednesday.

Heras has been one of Lance Armstrong's most influential team mates during the last three Tours and played a key role in shepherding the American through the mountains on his way to his fifth straight victory earlier this year.

The 29-year-old Spaniard is reported to have been approached by the manager of the new Spanish-based Liberty Seguros outfit, Manolo Saiz, to lead the team in next year's Tour.

U.S. Postal team director Johan Bruyneel told Spanish sports daily Marca that Heras, who still has a year left on his contract, had begun moves to negotiate his departure from the American outfit.

"A few days ago his lawyer told us that he wanted to leave the team," said Bruyneel. "Apparently he has received an offer of a three-year contract to lead another team.

"We aren't happy with the situation, but if Roberto wants to leave there is nothing we can do to stop him."

Heras refused to comment.

"I can neither deny nor confirm the reports," he told Marca. "I don't want to talk about it."

The Spaniard was at the center of a similar row when he joined U.S. Postal from the Kelme team at the beginning of 2001 Following a bitter contractual battle he left the Spanish-based team after U.S. Postal agreed to pay a compensation fee.

Heras confirmed his status as one of the world's best specialist climbers with a brilliant performance on his way to victory in this year's Tour of Spain and some believe he is one of the few riders capable of challenging Armstrong in the Tour.
Not unexpectedPaulCL
Dec 3, 2003 7:08 AM
Wins the Vuelta, rides with his fellow Spaniards in Hamilton culminating in a World Championship. Maybe he felt like a member of a real "team" in Hamilton. From all reports, he is extremely quiet and distant from his teammates. Maybe he just wants to go back to his Spanish roots.

More power to him. Now we have Heras plus Ullrich plus Hamilton plus Vinkorov plus ???? to challenge Lance in '04. Should be fun!
Not unexpectedbill105
Dec 3, 2003 7:10 AM
2004 TDF gets better by the day
maybe he can win a stage nowmohair_chair
Dec 3, 2003 7:15 AM
If he thinks he'll challenge Lance, he's seriously delusional. Every time he rides a time trial he gets spanked, usually for multiple minutes. I'm sure he can beat Lance on some mountain stages, but there's no way he's a challenger at the Tour on GC. Lance will do fine with Beltran and Rubiera, and if Heras does leave, that will make a lot of money available for Postal to find a replacement.
I agree, Heras can't win the Tourkevinacohn
Dec 3, 2003 7:43 AM
Hell, Heras died on a couple climbs this past tour while Armstrong went ahead.
I was under the impression that Lance was able to go ahead..hrv
Dec 3, 2003 7:56 AM
only because riders like Heras died for him -- yes, no?

hrv
Yes, I suppose...kevinacohn
Dec 3, 2003 7:57 AM
But not once during the Tour did it seem to me that had they gone one-on-one Heras would've been able to top Lance...
You know there...Dwayne Barry
Dec 3, 2003 7:43 AM
are other races than the TDF, and when you're on USPS it's all about Lance and the TDF (with a little bone thrown to Hincapie for the early season Belgian classics). It's remarkable that USPS won 2 points-heavy Grand Tours this year and is still just barely one of the top-10 teams. That shows how little emphasis they put on other races/racers. Maybe Heras just wants a little more freedom than getting to ride the Vuelta with marginal support after doing his service at the Tour?

Just because he probably can't challenge Lance at the Tour doesn't mean he has to stay his boy.
Dwayne, I find your posts interesting...........lanterne rouge
Dec 3, 2003 8:33 AM
and you are very well informed concerning the sport, but man, your dislike of Postal (and Lance) is so deep! I love the sport and all the races, but you have to concede that the Tour is a monster that ranks above all the others, and until he is defeated, Lance is the one to topple. I find it funny that alot of people will bash USPS for concentrating on the Tour (although, as you said in your post they won 2 Grand Tours this year with different leaders) you won't find too many people that criticize teams like Quick-Step for concentrating on the classics, at the expense of their performance at the Tour. It is often downplayed with the understanding that they are a team set up for the classics. I think Postal should be applauded for being able to put the apples all in one basket, so to speak, and pull off the victory in five successive years! I will concede that Heras' support in the Vuelta in previous years was marginal, but this year when Postal was a little more serious with the support they return with a victory for Heras. (I know Roberto did a phenomenal TT to win, but the Posties did alot of work to split the peloton on the windy flat stages to help him out.) Anyway, I will continue to enjoy your posts and take your Postal bashings with a grain of salt. :)
USPS Sucks!....Spunout
Dec 3, 2003 8:39 AM
They can't even ship a set of wheels to Canada from the US because the size is too big. Bah!

:-p

Okay, look at the team's UCI rankings. It just doesn't jibe that 2 grand tours does not a team make. There are better teams out there from the whole season's point of view, as the UCI rankings suggest. Much better for the sport as a whole, you must agree.
Canada Post Sucks!BowWow
Dec 3, 2003 9:16 AM
Could be Canada Post's size rules that hamstrings USPS? Oh, and CP really DOES suck - 2 weeks to deliver a letter to Phoenix, when the same letter sent from Babb, MT (look at a map - it may not even be on yours! It's got a bar, a store, and a post office. That's it!) gets to PHX in 2 DAYS!
Just wait until the new cycling team starts up! nmSpunout
Dec 3, 2003 9:26 AM
n
Canada is like a loft apartment above a really good party LOL!CARBON110
Dec 3, 2003 12:51 PM
Keep it down there eh !

:P
But ya gotta come upstairs for the REALLY good beer! nmBowWow
Dec 3, 2003 2:15 PM
What REALLY good beer??russw19
Dec 3, 2003 4:49 PM
I am not being a smartass, but what REALLY good beer comes out of Canada? I am being serious here, as I live in Florida and all we get is the crap like Labatt Blue and Molson Ice. If that's REALLY Good beer, then you all need to try drinking some better stuff. And no, I am not talking about Bud, that sucks. I am talking bout good American beers like Sam Adams and John Courage, or Newcastle from England, or Harp and Guinness from Ireland... McEwans from Scotland....

What's the good stuff from Canada, seriously...

Russ
Molson Export ale , nothing to do with blue&ice crapnoupi
Dec 3, 2003 6:24 PM
Oh boy. Russ, let us put you on the learning curveSpunout
Dec 4, 2003 5:13 AM
of Canadian beers. Ice and Blue are exported to Florida to reap big profits on high margin, cheaply made beer so that the real good stuff can stay here for domestic consumption.

That said, I have not been impressed with many Labatt or Molson products since a two-four (24) of Blue in a back lane before a high school dance.

There are wild things going on with smaller breweries, and it is true that once production ramps up the individuality goes down. I guess to be a successful corporate brewer in Canada is the kiss of death. Next thing you know, they will buy hockey and baseball (BLUE Jays) teams.

http://www.unibroue.com/products/index.cfm for instance.

Creemore springs, Muskoka, Steam Whistle. If you can get Sleeman's cream ale (avoid the RED) in a liquor store, try a six and let us know.

If you ever come to Ottawa, let us know. We'll head down to the Beer Store (institution of culture, in Ontario anyways) and begin your hands-on apprenticeship.

;-)
Sounds like a RBR outing?KG 361
Dec 4, 2003 6:16 AM
Can all of us Yanks come? =)
Oh boy. Russ, let us put you on the learning curverussw19
Dec 4, 2003 1:37 PM
Sounds like fun! I knew there had to be something better up there then the crap they send us down in Florida.

Russ
What REALLY good beer??gtscottie
Dec 4, 2003 12:54 PM
Dude you gotta come to Calgary and try the Big Rock beers. They make everything from a light to a dark. I like the honey brown. Sleemans also makes honey brown that is to die for.

See you soon!!
What REALLY good beer??Jon Billheimer
Dec 5, 2003 11:34 AM
Try Rickards Red, Big Rock Honey Brown, Alexander Keith's Pale Ale, ANY microbrew from Nelson, B.C. The list could go on and on. The problem here is that none of the good stuff ever gets exported to the U.S. market, only the mass-produced slop. Kinda like Bud marketing, eh??
What can I say, I like...Dwayne Barry
Dec 3, 2003 8:50 AM
pro bike racing and I think Lance's & USPS's nearly singular focus on the TDF has made what was already too "big" of an event into an even bigger 800lb Gorilla, and that ain't good for the monkeys.

I also don't like Lance's style of taking the "sure" thing at the TDF rather than playing a little more lose. I'd have more respect if he tried a Giro/Tour double and came of short than if he wins 6 TdF's. His whole attitude which shows in how he races that the only thing that matters is the TdF just isn't good for the sport.
On "good for the sport"kevinacohn
Dec 3, 2003 8:53 AM
Cycling, at least in America, is at an all-time high. What better for the sport than the competition and excitement that Lance creates on the sport's grandest scale?
Ask the Paris-Nice...Dwayne Barry
Dec 3, 2003 9:07 AM
organizers. Cycling is a European sport that almost exclusively relies on European companies or at least companies with business interests there to pay for teams and races. It's almost gotten to the point for teams where unless you can get into the TdF it's not worth a sponsors money. America is irrelevant for the continued success of professional cycling. We will always be a backwater because it's not part of our culture.

The fact that we've had two superstars over the last 20 years is a total fluke. How it happened I'll never know. If you look at the number of juniors and espoirs at US races it's pathetic. USCF must do well at developing talent because they don't appear to have the talent pool to select that even small Euro countries do.
On sponsors...kevinacohn
Dec 3, 2003 9:17 AM
To be honest, I don't know too much about the European companies that the cycling industry relies on, nor do I know too much about the main sponsors of many European teams. But aren't most of the main sponsors still around? Quick-Step, Saeco, Bianchi, T-Mobile... these sponsors haven't gone anywhere. I know ONCE has pulled out... I don't know why, though. But is the situation really that bad, or do the European sponsors just long for the attention they had before Lance came?
I don't think...Dwayne Barry
Dec 3, 2003 9:45 AM
it has that much to do with Lance per se, more that his singular focus on the TdF has made it even bigger than it was. I think if a race as old and prestigious as Paris-Nice almost has to stop, there is something of a problem.
Compare with other sports, or nature of cycling?orange_julius
Dec 3, 2003 10:28 AM
The nature of cycling as a sport is that teams cannot charge
for spectator admissions. Additionally, it looks like the
organizers of the races are the ones who sell the broadcast
rights. So cycling as a sport is more dependent on
sponsors than almost any other sport.

Obviously, comparing cycling to basketball is like comparing
Campy to Shimano, er... apples and oranges, but consider
what happens when playoffs is run right in the middle
of the season. Then maybe many teams will prefer to save
their energy rather than risk injuries and fatigue,
and there may be less interest in games following the
finals of the playoffs.

We have seen Spanish riders who focus more on le Tour than
their own national tour, and the lack of attention given
to the Worlds. Many riders call it quits after le Tour
because they are damn tired, and because they know that
le Tour is the biggest highlight of the year by orders of
magnitude.

Isn't there a proposal being considered by the UCI that
riders will be required to participate in a certain
minimum number of races to be allowed to compete in the
grand tours?

Maybe a good way to do it would be to give time "handicaps"
at the beginning of the big tours as a function of the
riders' performance throughout the season. Then the 2003
Tour will have started with Van Petegem in the yellow
jersey (if he had bothered to come) leading Bettini by
2 minutes, and Armstrong will have to make up a difference
of 15 minutes to these two guys. :-)
<b>Talent issue..</b>On why the US does not do better...FL_Rider
Dec 3, 2003 12:39 PM
Because out BEST athletes go on a play higher paid sports instead, like Basketball, Football and Baseball.
Also yes cycling is not as big in our culture as in other countries similar to soccer. This is why the US is not dominant is soccer or other traditional olympic sports.

Maybe if our best athletes were cyclists we would do better. Granted being a good athlete will not always generate being the best in the said sport but it help. I wonder how many gifted american athletes that grew up with a passion for cycling would be great? Little by little America is embracing Soccer and Hockey and the US is getting better and making strides in these sports, maybe someday this will help in cycling too.

Sure you can make millions in this game, but for how long and how many actually do hit the big time pay wise?

Just my thoughts!
straying off topic, but regarding soccer...russw19
Dec 3, 2003 5:19 PM
The US has a remarkable soccer program when you consider how low our young professional league is. The US made it to the Quarterfinals in the 2002 World Cup, and yet the thing holding us back is our professional league and the fact that US players play college soccer before turning pro.

In Europe if you are a good footballer (soccer player) you may start with a professional team in their youth development at 14, whereas in the US Freddie Adu is a phenom for being good at 14...over in Europe Michael Owen was in Liverpool's youth development system at 13. He made his professional debut in the Premiership, one of Europe's top leagues at 16, and his World Cup Debut before his 18th birthday.
In the US, the problem is that if you are good, you play in high school... even if you are a great high school player, you are still playing against other 16 and 17 year old kids... not other top pros, so you aren't learning enough... then you go on to college to play. College ball is more about running than actual skill and you are playing against other 18 to 22 year olds (average) who are not going to turn pro. The handful that come out of the college ranks to play professionally and make up the US's Olympic and World Cup pool are now 23 years old making their professional debut. They are now 6 years behind top Europeans who turned pro for their club reserve teams at 17 or 18. And on top of that the learning curve is much much higher in Europe than the US. That is why most of the US's top players played in Europe at one time in their careers.

The US had a respectable WC in 1994 for not having any professional league to speak of. We did more than half of the other nations and made the Second Round. Then we formed the MLS and under pressure from US Soccer which is heavily invested in the MLS the US National Team took 15 MLS players from it's 18 man roster to the World Cup in 1998. And in 1998 with inexperienced players, we finished DFL! Thanks MLS!

In 2002 the US took 7 players to Korea/Japan that had only MLS experience, the other 11 either currently played or had played overseas and we had the most successful World Cup in our history. And European level of play experience made the difference.

The Woman's game is another story because there is no professional leagues around the world. And the one's that are "Professional" are professional in name alone... the talent level as a whole is no better than a collection of the best amatures, and that is also why there is parity amoung nations that have a "professional league" like the US and those that do not, like China.

Russ
<b>Talent issue..</b>On why the US does not do better...FL_Rider
Dec 3, 2003 12:55 PM
Because out BEST athletes go on a play higher paid sports instead, like Basketball, Football and Baseball.
Also yes cycling is not as big in our culture as in other countries similar to soccer. This is why the US is not dominant is soccer or other traditional olympic sports.

Maybe if our best athletes were cyclists we would do better. Granted being a good athlete will not always generate being the best in the said sport but it help. I wonder how many gifted american athletes that grew up with a passion for cycling would be great? Little by little America is embracing Soccer and Hockey and the US is getting better and making strides in these sports, maybe someday this will help in cycling too.

Sure you can make millions in this game, but for how long and how many actually do hit the big time pay wise?

Just my thoughts!
Yes...Dwayne Barry
Dec 3, 2003 1:06 PM
that is what I'm saying, there is a very small talent pool to select from in the US because almost no juniors take up cycling as a sport. I wouldn't be surprised if a country as small as Belgium (size and population of Maryland I believe I've heard) has 4 or 5 times the number of juniors competing in cycling. How we have managed to produce two superstars in Lemond and Armstrong is really amazing given the number of kids that race bikes in the US.
<b>Talent issue..</b>On why the US does not do better...FL_Rider
Dec 3, 2003 1:10 PM
Because out BEST athletes go on a play higher paid sports instead, like Basketball, Football and Baseball.
Also yes cycling is not as big in our culture as in other countries similar to soccer. This is why the US is not dominant is soccer or other traditional olympic sports.

Maybe if our best athletes were cyclists we would do better. Granted being a good athlete will not always generate being the best in the said sport but it help. I wonder how many gifted american athletes that grew up with a passion for cycling would be great? Little by little America is embracing Soccer and Hockey and the US is getting better and making strides in these sports, maybe someday this will help in cycling too.

Sure you can make millions in this game, but for how long and how many actually do hit the big time pay wise?

Just my thoughts!
it's sure not "good for the sport" of mountain bikinglitespeedchick
Dec 3, 2003 9:30 AM
Ever since Lance started winning the TdF, my mtn bike group is 1/4 the size it used to be. They're all f-in' roadies now.

Hell, even me sometimes ! ;-)
All time high? What about the late 80s?Spunout
Dec 3, 2003 9:31 AM
Nothing compares to the Coors Light classic and all of those goings-on, with Hinault racing and everything.

Even in Canada. The kids had Steve Bauer and Curt Harnett to cheer for. The pickings have been slim recently.

Go Michael Barry! Wait, he's on USPS. Wait for Lance! Wait for Lance!
and don't forget tour Dupontcyclopathic
Dec 3, 2003 10:26 AM
after all it had the highest out of Europe UCI ranking of 2.1
He's not gonna win six. (nm)macalu
Dec 3, 2003 9:26 AM
I agree to a point.lanterne rouge
Dec 3, 2003 12:48 PM
I agree that Lance's focus on the Tour is not good for European cycling. It has done wonders for the sport in the States. The Tour is what drives Lance and he does race for a living so I can understand his focus on the one thing that furthers his ability to make money (the Tour).That being said, and considering I like bike racing as a whole, I too wish that Lance would ride the Giro or Vuelta. And remember (as I am sure you are aware) he did contest the classics in the first part of his career and did quite well. He was the number 1 ranked rider in the world when he signed with Cofidis. I find people wanting Lance to race the classics akin to people wanting Mozart to write pop music. It just doesn't make sense. When you are good at something you stick to it. You have to give some credit to Lance for doing what he has done, both past and present. To me he is not a one trick pony, he has just had two "seperate" careers due to terrible circumstances and he has overcome. That alone deserves alot of respect. And please understand as I said in the heading to my previous post, I like your posts, I find them both entertaining and informative.
Dwayne, I find your posts interesting...........Jon Billheimer
Dec 3, 2003 9:47 AM
Dwayne's comments are not Postal bashing. He's just presenting things from Heras' point of view. Like Tyler he's being given a chance to be a team leader on another team whose focus will be broader than the Tour. Being on Postal IS about Lance winning the Tour. A lot of riders can be happy with that as the defining characteristic of their career, e.g. George Hincapie, but other guys given the chance may want to spread their wings and see what they're capable of in a broader context. Obviously Heras probably can't win the Tour, but he may get support as a leading rider in other races. Also, there's the cultural angle. He'll probably be more comfortable on a Spanish team.
Jon, I think you misunderstood my post.lanterne rouge
Dec 3, 2003 1:04 PM
Maybe it was my fault for wording it the way I did. I read all of Dwayne's posts, because as I stated, I think he is very well informed when it comes to the sport of cycling. My point is just that most of his posts have a definite bias against Postal and specifically Lance (overall, not just this post), and I was just pointing that out. In specific to this post, I think I illustrated how Postal is criticized for focusing on the Tour when other teams are not so criticized for focusing on their specialties (eg. Quick-Step and the classics). With regards to Roberto, he signed for Postal knowing that he would be working for Lance and getting paid well to do it. I have no problem with Roberto trying to win the Tour or any other race he contests with a new squad (I happen to agree with you that he will be happy to be back on a Spanish team), just as I have no problem with Tyler doing the same. I think it will make for a more exciting Tour next year, and I will be there to watch it in person!
hardly marginalmohair_chair
Dec 3, 2003 8:43 AM
The reason Heras won the Vuelta this year was because of the support he got from the team. Describing that as "marginal" shows you weren't watching very closely. Rubiera was off his game, but the rest of the team came through bigtime, including shredding the peloton for a minute on a flat stage in the last week! That's something that doesn't happen very often in any race. USPS kicked butt for Heras, and I'm sure he knows that.
The reason Heras...Dwayne Barry
Dec 3, 2003 8:57 AM
won the tour was because Nozal cracked in the final TT probably in no small part because he rode like a domestique rather than a co-captain far longer into the race than he should have (chalk another one up to Sainz' brilliant tactical mind).
that's rather myopicmohair_chair
Dec 3, 2003 9:39 AM
Heras won because Nozal lost? I guess if you have a need to phrase it negatively towards USPS, that's how you'd do it. The Marlins didn't win the World Series, the Yankees lost. Tampa Bay didn't win the Super Bowl, the Raiders lost. The Allies didn't win WWII, the Axis lost.

Nozal cracked because USPS kept the pressure on the whole time, and increased it in the last week. And it wasn't just Nozal who cracked. GdG cracked. Frigo and Gonzalez cracked. Everyone fell away under the pressure (Valverde and Sevilla being the exceptions), and Heras was left alone. Don't forget that Heras gained back five minutes in four stages, and he didn't do it all on his own. Nozal didn't give it to him, either.
Uh, yeeah, I'm going to have to...Dwayne Barry
Dec 4, 2003 5:52 AM
disagree. I don't remember Postal being at the front of the race and keeping the pressure on. I remember ONCE controlling the race, often doing a bad job when the mountains came and the climbers attacked. I only remember seeing Postal at the front when they (and ONCE) split the race in the crosswinds. Nozal cracked because of all the climbing in the last week and the pressure from all the climbers. In fact, I quite distinctly remember thinking where are the Postal guys on multiple occasions. Beltran and Heras were isolated on multiple stages well before the last climb.
up Alpe-d'Huez?cyclopathic
Dec 3, 2003 9:54 AM
sure he'd get spanked in that ITT
He already signed for Liberty according to Belgium news. nmdivve
Dec 3, 2003 7:57 AM
butbill105
Dec 3, 2003 8:09 AM
I thought Heras was out of shape or not as healthy in the past in the 03 Tour? Maybe why he didnt look real good. Plus, it might be exciting him vs Lance in 04 because arent there 2 uphill TT's in the last week?
I think..divve
Dec 3, 2003 8:40 AM
..the TdF 6 situation for Lance is potentially very dangerous. There might not be a single racer today that could challenge him for the overall win. However, having good racers taking turns attacking him whenever it's critical that he doesn't loose time over X opponent will be very strenuous to him both mentally and physically.
Serious issue for Lancelyleseven
Dec 3, 2003 8:15 AM
This is a serious blow to USPS no matter how you look at it. It's not about Heras winning the TDF, its the support for Lance in the mountains that has been lost. Yes, they may find a replacement, but much of the good talent that could help Lance has already signed elsewhere. If you asked Lance, he would tell you this is a major development.
begs the question...funknuggets
Dec 3, 2003 8:19 AM
As everyone said, not unexpected... but now the bigger question is... who will Postal go after to replace Heras. With the money they toss about and the media attention, would be a nice, nice spot for an up and comer... heck, look at recent years with the exits of Boonen, Hamilton, and Heras... all becoming quite popular and big players for their respective teams. So, with the deficit of a fantastic climber, the bigger question is who will Postal go after? Any predictions?

Chris
I wonder if they tried Danielson. Too late now! nmSpunout
Dec 3, 2003 8:33 AM
They did nmcollinsc
Dec 3, 2003 8:41 AM
It is a shame they didn't sign Danielson when the had a chancebigrider
Dec 3, 2003 8:36 AM
I mean here is one of the new American hopefuls and that can climb. He would bring more publicity to the team and potentially be a contender in the European Pro scene in the future. I get the feeling when Lance is done, USPS is done. Does anyone have a feel for the sponsor's commitment for the out years?
Spunout, Dejavu all over again nmbigrider
Dec 3, 2003 8:38 AM
Whoa! Look at the time stamp, I beat ya by 3 minutes!Spunout
Dec 3, 2003 8:40 AM
Wait, maybe there is a rule on RBR now that the minimum anyone can lose is limited to 2.5 minutes.

LOL!
begs the question...mohair_chair
Dec 3, 2003 8:39 AM
It's hard to know exactly who is available, but I think there are still guys from Team Bianchi who haven't been picked up. Good stage racers like Angel Casero, Félix Garcia Casas, and David Plaza are ideal candidates. In the USPS system, a guy like Casero could return to top form.

Surprisingly, it looks like Giovanni Lombardi is available. He's a strong rider for classics and grand tours, much like Hincapie is, although more successful!

The end of Saturn has left a few guys available, and I think Trent Klasna is one of them.
begs the question...innergel
Dec 3, 2003 9:15 AM
Didn't Lombardi sign w/ Fassa Bortolo to lead out for Alesandro Petacchi? Or am I thinking of someone else? If it's the guy I'm thinking of, he's not really a replacement for Heras, being a sprinter and all.

I always thought that Heras would take over USPS, or whatever they become, after Lance retires. Doesn't the USPS contract runs out after this year? So it seems to be a logical progression for Heras to take over. It would be better for US Cycling for an American to take his spot, though. Klasna is a great rider, but isn't he a bit on the downside to take over?
I always thought Tyler would come backkevinacohn
Dec 3, 2003 9:20 AM
I always thought that maybe Tyler would sign a one-year contract with a team for 2004, maybe CSC again, before returning to US Postal as the new team leader after 2005 (assuming Lance retired).
Somewhat unrelated, but where's David Miller now?kevinacohn
Dec 3, 2003 8:44 AM
I know he's not a climber - yet, but he has amazing talent and to the best of my knowledge was a FA after this season. Anyone know what's going on with him?
he's faded into obscurity...mohair_chair
Dec 3, 2003 8:47 AM
Except for winning the World Time Trial Championship just a few weeks ago, and before that an amazing road stage win at the Vuelta, and before that, the final time trial of the Tour de France, not to mention losing the TDF prolouge by hundreths of a second after dropping his chain, he hasn't done much. He's lucky to still be with Cofidis.
Yup. Now the loser saysSpunout
Dec 3, 2003 9:33 AM
he has his sights on TdF prologue, Olympic TT, RR and then the 4000m pursuit.

Watched him in Hamilton, for a FA he sure lets his legs speak well for himself!
re: Heras Wants to Leave Armstrong's U.S. Postal TeamWiaruz
Dec 3, 2003 4:55 PM
How about Cadel Evans? He could join USPS for next year, help LA to # 6 and then take over as team leader when LA retires.
About Armstrong retiringkevinacohn
Dec 3, 2003 6:30 PM
We're all assuming he'll retire after 2004. If he wins a sixth, why would he? He's devorced now... cycling really is his whole life. I wouldn't rule out him staying on for a bit longer.

That having been said, I do think he'll retire after next season.
Appears to be a done deal...Dwayne Barry
Dec 4, 2003 6:06 AM
Heras is going to Sainz' new team Liberty Seguros. I think T-mobile and Ullrich might have a thing or two to say about Evans fulfilling his contract and riding for them this year. BTW, I think it's somewhat unique to Spanish law that a rider can always buy his way out of his contract if he so desires. OTOH, the reports seem to indicate that Heras had a buy-out clause (didn't Boonen have the same?). The market is not good for even finding a poor replacement for Heras.
Onward and upwardgeorge_da_trog
Dec 3, 2003 5:47 PM
I wish him well. It'll be fun to watch him race as team leader next year.

george