RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


which camera do you use?(14 posts)

which camera do you use?rrjc5488
Dec 1, 2003 12:16 PM
Sorry for re-posting this, but i searched around for the cameras online, and couldnt get a review that mentioned action shots... so I was wondering if you all would be as so kind to post a sample action shot, with the name of the camera. Thanks alot!
re: which camera do you use?boneman
Dec 1, 2003 12:45 PM
Action shots, I still use film although as I can't justify laying out the coin for a full size digital SLR. Nikon F90s w Nikon D80-200mm F2.8 zoom, Fuji 800 color print film. Resolution down due to scanning and then size limitations on posting. Shot this year at the end of the Tour on the champs d'elysees.

My non-action shots are using a Nikon Coolpix 4500.
Another action shotboneman
Dec 1, 2003 12:51 PM
Same setup. 2001 Worlds in Lisbon about 200 metres from the finish.

This was scanned on an older machine. Quality would be much higher with a direct digital feed. The biggest problem is shutter lag. It's getting better but only the top machines have got it to where it doesn't matter.
Digital- kind of action, notboneman
Dec 1, 2003 12:55 PM
Shot right after the end of the TdF. Ran out of film and ended up using the Coolpix 4500.
re: which camera do you use?briburke
Dec 1, 2003 1:28 PM
Are you looking for a professional level camera, or a pocketable camera?

I bought a Canon S400 this summer, and have been happy with the results. With the correct settings, it'll do 2.5 frames per second (at a 2 megapixel resolution) with up to 10 in a row, so you can generally capture the shot you want. I generally do one of two things for action shots, either compose it before hand, or put the camera in continuous mode and shoot a bunch. Here's some examples:

Canon S200 in single shot mode:


Canon S400 in sequence mode:


And a great crash from the S400 sequence starting here:
http://www.briburke.com/ThreeSisters/slides/ThreeSisters0072c.html

All these are scaled down to 800x600 with a jpg quality around 90%.

enjoy!
Brian
Nikon F4 ...Humma Hah
Dec 1, 2003 2:31 PM
A 35mm film camera. Great for action shots because it has something like a 1/8000th second shutter speed available, carryies a flash attachment which can be set to either stun or kill at 50 ft, with lenses that change so I can go from about 28mm wide angle to 300 mm telephoto, or attach the 500mm fixed telephoto, with 2x teleconverter if I so desire.

And it only weighs about 4 pounds! A perfect camera to ride with on the cruiser!

Honestly, though, I'm probably more likely to grab my wife's little Olympus and stuff it in my shirt pocket.
Well, geez, why not a Sinar P3purplepaul
Dec 1, 2003 6:31 PM
At least it takes a digital back (up to 144 Megapixels).

Personally, I use a Casio Exilim. It takes great pictures despite its 2 megapixels, and is advertised on Casio's site as having 1/100th of a second shutter lag.

It takes video (not the best quality) and sound, and plays MP3's. And it's so small I never think twice about taking it with me (Casio calls it a "wearable camera").

I used to take heavy equipment everywhere but, at some point, I stopped taking pictures altogether because I couldn't stand lugging all that weight (reminded me too much of being a photo assistant many years ago). I totally love my Casio. And you can't believe how many people will stop you in amazement ("Is THAT a camera?").
For action Linhof Master Technika. Sinar P3 is too heavy nmdivve
Dec 2, 2003 4:32 AM
For action Linhof Master Technika. Sinar P3 is too heavy nmmapei boy
Dec 2, 2003 11:23 AM
I actually used to carry my Wista 4x5, a couple of lenses, filters, film holders, dark cloth, tripod, etc., etc. on mountain bike rides. Yes, it slowed me down considerably. But the pictures came out nice.
lots of action herecolker1
Dec 1, 2003 2:45 PM
water dropping from the shower. nikon d100
try againcolker1
Dec 1, 2003 2:49 PM
nikon d100
If digital camera, all Canon are good - I've tried a lot of themPeterRider
Dec 1, 2003 3:52 PM
I do image processing, so in my lab we have a bunch of digital cameras. Basically all the Canon are good
- if you want small, the digital elphs are perfect. I've owned the S230 and currently have the S400.
- if you want very good picture, the EOS-D60 (SLR). Too much fun to take pictures with that...
- if you want reasonably priced and good pictures, the G. series have good optics.
- if you don't like all the previous stuff, the S30-S40... are pretty good, they have probably better optics than the digital elphs. I've taken a few hundred pictures with the S30, very nice.

For an excellent website with reviews and sample images, www.dpreview.com. Of course their sample images are much better than what the average person (me) takes, and you need a trained eye to see some optical imperfections.

Pierre
If digital camera, all Canon are good - I've tried a lot of themDutchy
Dec 1, 2003 5:32 PM
Anything from Canon or Nikon will be a great camera that should last forever. Personally I would go with the Nikon F4, weighs a ton but has an endless list of available lenses. It was designed for action/press photography. I have used them at work, for years.

CHEERS.

Mark
If digital camera, all Canon are good - I've tried a lot of themcolker1
Dec 1, 2003 5:36 PM
and there's a leica rf camera. the legendary m series. light, dependable and expensive. those leica lenses are expensive.