RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


which digital cameras do you use?(19 posts)

which digital cameras do you use?rrjc5488
Nov 30, 2003 3:39 PM
I'm looking to buy a digital camera that will be good for action shots (such as cycling). I was wondering which digital cameras you use for these pictures I see on here. I'm also on a budget (400 or less if possible). thanks
olympus stylus 400..colker1
Nov 30, 2003 4:02 PM
mine is a digital slr and i love it but it's expensive and the olympus 400 will do the job, it's sleek, light and easy to carry on your bike. digital cameras are fun.
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-P8mickey-mac
Nov 30, 2003 4:08 PM
3.2 megapixels, 3x optical zoom. It typically retails at about $400, but I got it at a discount from a friend who works for Sony. It comes with a lithium battery with good life and is small and easy to use. You also may want to check RBR's sister site photographyreview.com for reviews of digicams.
I have the P7. Awesome for a jersey pocket! nmAsiago
Nov 30, 2003 7:32 PM
Cannon Power Shot S200torquecal
Nov 30, 2003 4:09 PM
is what I use. It's small, very easy to carry and has a lot of features that make it great for scenic shots of my rides (features like a panoramic shot capability).

However, it's terrible for action photography. The shutter delay can be tough to guage, especially in shadows, or low light. Even in bright sunlight it can be tricky getting a feel for exactly when it's going to snap a pic.

But for scenics, snapshots, and fairly static people pics it's a great little camera with tonnes of features.
re: which digital cameras do you use?lyleseven
Nov 30, 2003 4:12 PM
I use a Canon Power Shot A70, but for real action photos you need a more expensive digital camera. Not many of the point and shoot will take fast exposures, or I should say instant photos due to lag between shutter button and actual shutter release. The camera takes great photos.
... an old Fuji MX 700...Akirasho
Nov 30, 2003 4:17 PM
... it's a 1.5 MP camera that while serving me well for the past 4 years, has been passed by on the tech train... and I'm looking for a new purchase myself... considering the Canon EOS digital Rebel (have visited this site's sister forums) because of it's lens interchangabilities... any comments?

Be the bike.
digital slr's:colker1
Nov 30, 2003 4:51 PM
real cameras with sharp, precise (not as precise as a manual film wind/mechanic camera) shooting. dig. slr's operate like slr cameras: no film options, no tv screen. you'll use the viewfinder which is almost as big as a 35mmm (1.5 smaller, much bigger than a point and shoot ccd).
main difference to point and shoot is their bigger ccd size: there's a lot of talk about pixel and number of pixels but ccd size plays a lot in delivering images. it's like using medium or large format photography wiht it's big lenses. the magic of a hasselblad, pentax 6x7 lies in negative size (avedon uses 8x10in film cameras!). with big lenses you have less depth of field and more volume, space in your photos.
the big ccd's were rare and expensive, $5000 camera expensive. they tricked down to $2000, then $1500 and with canon rebel, they arrived to the $900 range. others, like nikon, pentax et al will follow.
go for it.
Sony Cybershot UDave Hickey
Nov 30, 2003 4:22 PM
It's great for rides bacause it's extremely small. It's 2 megapix and with a 64K memory stick, it holds over 100 pictures at maximum pixel setting. The only down side is it doesn't have a zoom but for ride shots, it's great.

Including the memory stick, I paid $225.
Nikon Coolpix 4300KG 361
Nov 30, 2003 4:25 PM
I really like this camera-I got it for less than $400 and it shoots at 4.3 megapixels which gives a good quality picture. The 3200 is less and still shoots at 3.2 megapixels which yields a good quality picture. It fits in the hand nicely. My only complaint is that it doesn't have an automatic lense cover-I use a clear filter to protect the lens.
My pics are taken with a Casio Exilim...biknben
Nov 30, 2003 5:04 PM
I got it over the summer for $400. A 4.0 MP version has come out recently which retails for $400 but can be found for $350ish.

It's the size of a deck of playing cards. It has an optical zoom and a large LCD screen (for it's size). It's on-screen menu is very easy to navigate.

Only issues: If you plan to take high resolution shots, get additional memory. I believe it has 16 MBs built in. The delay makes action shots a bit tough but I find it to be similar to other models I've tried.
I've been using a Casio Exilim also!GeoCyclist
Dec 1, 2003 5:27 AM
The Exilim is great fit for a jersy pocket, and the battery life is really good. This camera is very easy to use! I've shot all of my Yamaguchi ride report photo's with this model camara.
re: which digital cameras do you use?toomanybikes
Nov 30, 2003 5:21 PM
I use a Canon G2 - which I think is about to be replaced under warranty with a G5.

I have also used my daughters Kodak 6230 which has impressed me greatly as an easy to use and responsive camera. If I were buying a Kodak for me I think I would get the 6330 just because it is 3 Mp instead of the 2Mp on my daughter's.

Response speed is going to be largely determined by the speed of the memory card you buy. Make sure you get a Panasonic or lexar (Make sure the Lexar says Made in Japan on the package) then it will be a Panasonic - Don't get Sandisk - too slow.
Canon Elphterry b
Nov 30, 2003 5:55 PM
I have the S300. Nice little camera, fits in a jersey pocket, takes nice snaps. Mine is 2.2 Mpixel, I think it's now offered in 4 Mpixel.

For my more esoteric needs, I use a Canon EOS 10D. SLR, 6.3 Mpixel, much smarter than I am.
Canon Digital Elph S400dgangi
Nov 30, 2003 7:47 PM
If you want a 4MP pocket camera that takes awesome pics, there is none better than the Canon Digital Elph S400. Read up on the reviews and do your homework like I did - this camera kicks ass. Some other cameras are a bit smaller...some others are a bit lighter...but none of them take photos with the quality of the Canon. There is no equal.

Happy shooting...

Thx...Doug
Canon Digital Elph S2304bykn
Dec 1, 2003 1:47 PM
The S230 is similar, with a smaller pixel count (3.2mp). It also is now being discontinued I think and can be bought for under $300. I've had mine for almost a year and love it. Small enough to take anywhere.
I Like My Leica Digilux Zoomstephenb
Nov 30, 2003 8:31 PM
Minolta DiMAGE Xtcyclopathic
Dec 1, 2003 8:41 AM
small short pocket size, fast start up time, internal lenses, easy to carry and snap pictures while riding. Highest rated ultracompact, and ~150$ cheaper then Casio.

when you decide on camera, check for reviews and best price on CNET. Some online stores sell cameras cheaper then you can get on eBay good luck
Canon S50 5 megapixel w/ a few extrasFez
Dec 1, 2003 11:24 AM
Have 2 Lithium Batteries and a 1GB compact flash type II card. Even at the largest setting, I could fit 800+ pictures on one card. I could fit many more if I reduced the picture size. Has a large LCD display for its class of camera.

Pretty nice and compact camera for me.

My only beef with it is its only 3X optical zoom, but it seems like you have to get a much bigger camera body for more zoom.