RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is this a great Deal on New 10-spped Dura Ace bike - <$1700?(32 posts)

Is this a great Deal on New 10-spped Dura Ace bike - <$1700?metalteeth
Nov 29, 2003 9:18 AM
I had an offer sent me to buy a Brand New bike with 2004 10-speed DuraAce for $1695. The bike weighes under 17lbs, has a 2.7 lb aluminum frame, carbon fork, Riychey Pro Wheels, Stem, Handlebar, and Seatpost. The DuraAce includes Brakes, Shifters, Crank, BB, Chain, Cassette, Frt and Rear der.
I have shopped this a little and it seems like a great deal. Best price I could find on all the DuraAce stuff alone was about $1500 by the time I got it to NY. These wheels seem to be worth $450 - so the whole thing sounds good to me. But it is winter, and I have to do this deal by Dec 31st to get it.
I was thinking of either getting a new bike or buying new parts for my old frame anyway, but the timing on this is not the best. Think the spring will bring better deals than this? Or is this that kinda off season thing I should jump on?
If it's someone you know to be reputable...merckx56
Nov 29, 2003 9:28 AM
then hell yeah, but it and get me one too! If it was just a random solicitation, it's a scam and you'll never see the bike, or your money again!
My old bike - and this new bike - and sellermetalteeth
Nov 29, 2003 9:51 AM
Oh, I did not mention - my old bike is a Mercian which I think rides better than any bike ever made - that is way I would probably just move the parts -- I think I would use the wheels as my old wheels are kinda beat up.

The seller is bikesdirect.com - who I purchased a bike for my wife from - I think thats why I got the email. She loves the bike she got from them and the service was good for online buying.

Mainly, my concern is that this deal is the best one I can get.
I'd rather have a high quality build kitgtx
Nov 29, 2003 10:19 AM
if you're going to keep your old frame, seems like it would be better to have hand-built wheels with DA hubs, a good seatpost, seat, stem, bars, headset, etc., than the junk that probably comes on that bike. My $.01. And are you sure this isn't just another bikesdirect.com ad?
How much is a build kit? Also what is wrong with Ritchey wheels?metalteeth
Nov 29, 2003 10:34 AM
I looked at a DuraAce 'kit' on ebay that was $1195 - but it had no wheels, bars, stem, seatpost, frame, fork, etc.
Maybe there is a better way to go. I thought I could sell the frame & fork -- I have seen this type thing on ebay for $100 to $300 or even more.
The Ritchey wheels I thought were good; maybe I am wrong. I will be glad to hear people's experience with those wheels.
I like my cuurent bars, stem, seatpost(as if a seatpost matters) -- and I like my saddle too. I assume maybe those items off the new bike can be sold also as new and bring a little bit.
frame is surely worth only $99. just look at those nasty welds.CORONADO FLYER
Nov 29, 2003 11:29 AM
the fork is cheap too. i have seen those forks for $69.

buy the group only or get a better bike. before you buy rear the reviews here on road bike review.

note the ritchey pro parts are the cheapest ritchey makes. look for wcs or a better Italian brand.
but where can I get a better deal??metalteeth
Nov 29, 2003 11:43 AM
you sound like a bike shop that does not carry this brand or can not met online prices - but even if I get $169 for frame and fork -- can I get anything for the bars, stem, seatpost, or seat? I have all those already.
Or can you recommend I way to get these parts for less? including a nice set of wheels --
by the way, I do not know, but I think you are wrong on the Ritchey stuff - I thought PRO level stuff was nice - you could be right - but to me the question is - what can I sell a Pro stem , seatpost, and handlebar for -- And I guess I can find that out on ebay

anyway, if you know of a better way to get the group and wheels; please let me know. Best I have found today so far is $1195 for group plus some wheels new for $300 - thats $1495 plus shipping. With whole bike I think I'm at $1695 minus $300 for stuff I sell. So also about $1400 - but no shipping charges.
make sure it is full dura ace on the motobecaneCORONADO FLYER
Nov 29, 2003 12:45 PM
i noticed this company tends to mix groups with lesser quality parts.

i know you can read the reviews on ritchey here on RBR. yes the pro stuff is the bottom of the line. i have seen the bar sell on nashbar for $13.99. you wont get more than $99 for the wheels.

remember the bike is built up sot even thought they are new you will run the risk of damage once you take opff the parts. it may even void the warranty with motobecane.

i would check tomasso, novara, or just check the hot deals here on RBR.
make sure it is full dura ace on the motobecanemetalteeth
Nov 29, 2003 2:53 PM
the parts are DuraAce on brakes, shifters, frt & rear der, chain, cassette, crank, and BB. That is what is listed; on the Wheels; they are Ritchey Pro -- as are bar and stem and seatpost. My research on ebay shows those type items selling for about $300 on the Wheels and $25 each on the other parts - plus seats go for $10 to $40. But I wont sell the wheels anyway, I'll keep them - BUT I will sell the frame and fork - which I think will bring $300 - from ebay research. maybe $200 or $400 - we'll see; if I do it at all; have to check on moving stuff to my frame.
it says 'pro' so you think its pro level?Grahamalicious
Nov 29, 2003 7:19 PM
I've got a beat old '97 Rockshox Indy, perhaps if i write 'rockshox PRO' on it people will pay more for it because its automatically pro level...

read the reviews here and see past the marketing....
pro level? it would be nice to get your facts correct B4 postngwardinside
Nov 30, 2003 7:23 AM
Ritchey has OE, Comp, PRO, and WCS in most items.
PRO is not the top; nor the bottom.
PRO weighes less and costs more than OE or Comp -- weighes more and costs less than WCS

Ritchey is also bringing out new items above the WCS -
which will not then make WCS sub standard
nasty welds - I agree - all welds look nasty - Lugs are nicermetalteeth
Nov 29, 2003 3:50 PM
I didn't get that post at first; but then I started looking at bikes on the web; and you are right. Even on company web sites, Trek, Specialized, Motobecane, -- you can see the welds and they are ugly. That is another reason to keep my Mercian. I have fantastic looking lugs with little cut outs - very nice to look at. Of course, I know ride is the key and that's why I will stick with a nice lugged reynolds frame.
Lugs are nicer - AGE OF ART IS GONE - live with itwardinside
Nov 30, 2003 5:36 AM
It maybe true that the old lugged frames from the 'golden age' of road bikes look more refined when compared to today's welded stuff; but a super good ride can be produced with good welded frames and at a much lower cost.
Ever wonder why todays bikes have more features and cost the same or less than those of 20 or 30 years ago? Dis-inflation produced in the same manner as it has been in computers and Tvs - etc
My neighbor got the same offer on $1695 Dura Acelocalhero
Nov 29, 2003 11:58 AM
I helped my neighbor buy a bike online and helped her set it up after it came. She just got the same kind of offer on a 10-speed DuraAce bike for $1695. (she thought I might want it). Anyway I thought it was an OK deal; but I do not see why anyone really needs to change from 9-speed to get 10-speed.
I think that Shimano is just trying too hard to think of new reasons to replace bikes that already work fine. My Trek is not even 3 years old and now they have a new reason for me to upgrade! I guess they are learning from the computer guys
My neighbor got the same offer on $1695 Dura Acemetalteeth
Nov 29, 2003 12:38 PM
You maybe right; but after over 15 years with a 12 speed bike I am thinking that moving up might be nice. Who knows, it could be that after changing from a 12 speed to a 20 speed that I will not see any improvement.
However, I think it's time for something new.
gvhbikes.comDrone 5200
Nov 29, 2003 2:42 PM
If I were you, I'd buy the kit from gvhbikes.com for $1695. You'll get the new D/A hubs with open pro rims, hand build. You'll also get better bars, stem, seat and post. You will do better with these on ebay than with the ritchey pro stuff.

Plus, you can talk to gary about what you are doing and make sure that everything will fit on your old frame.
gvhbikes.commetalteeth
Nov 29, 2003 3:24 PM
This seems like a good option also. I get different and maybe better wheels - but pay just a little more as I get no frame and fork that I would sell. But I could at least sell the extra bar, stem, seatpost and seat - I guess they would bring $100. Then I would be in for $1595 - but I may have to pay shipping - I will call the guy Monday and find out - maybe he'll keep the bar, stem, post, and seat and reduce the price.
you can comparison shop for individual parts hereDrone 5200
Nov 29, 2003 9:23 PM
http://www.comparisonpricing.com/

shimano or campy.
Ignore this post. it's just more bikesdirect.com spamDave Hickey
Nov 29, 2003 2:49 PM
I get so sick of their spam. Every couple of weeks there is a 'new" poster telling everyone what a great deal they got on a Motobecane, Fuji, bikesdirect.com deal.

Why don't you guys just run an ad instead of posting this bullsh!t spam...............
Ignore this post. it's just more bikesdirect.com spammetalteeth
Nov 29, 2003 3:05 PM
I have no clue as to what you are talking about or weather its true or not. But what I am is a guy trying to get new parts for my Mercian to update it after over 17 years on the same old parts I bought it with. And some of the input here and on bicycling.com has been good - including what looks like advise of whereelse to shop -- and I am actually getting close to an idea on what to do. If you really would like to help, can you advise me on which parts might not move on to a 1985 Mercian that is Reynolds with 12-speed currectly.
forget all that Shimano 10 stuffdesmo
Nov 29, 2003 3:51 PM
A '85 Mercian needs a Campy Centaur or Chorus 10 speed group with 32H Open Pros. Keep your threaded steel fork and go with the Chorus theaded headset or a Chris King. I would not worry about buying 2004 stuff and would look for a deal on '02 or '03 parts, it will make no difference. Buying a bike to switch parts is ridiculous. You have to pay shipping, and get rid of all the leftovers. Complete false economy. It will cost far less to buy only what you need (and you can be sure of the right BB, etc. I can't think of anything that would look more wrong than than that hideous Shimano 10 crank on a pure class frame like the Mercian. No flames, I'm sure it's a great gruppo but not for this application. I've built up a few vintage frames with modern Campy mix parts and the end results have always been more than sweet!
forget all that Shimano 10 stuffmetalteeth
Nov 29, 2003 4:08 PM
Not a bad idea. I currently have Campy Record and it has been really good. I just thought I might like something new and with indexing and shifting on the brake levers. Maybe Campy is the way to go.
And maybe I can get a New Older Campy bike and move the parts off that or buy a Group somewhere? Any Ideas? And heck, it does not need to be 10-speed - could be 9 if that's easier on the wallet.
However, I would say - I do like the look of that new DuraAce crank - just an opinion I know - but it looks great to me.
I'll check on the Campy options on ebay. thanks
and if you know of a deal on a kit
pleazse post
agree nmgtx
Nov 29, 2003 8:06 PM
Ignore this post. it's just more bikesdirect.com spamdgangi
Nov 29, 2003 6:13 PM
Why come out and attack somebody who might be asking a legitimate question just because you *think* they have an alternative motive?? If you think the post is spam just ignore it and move on. There is no reason to throw in comments like this -- comments that could be construed as offensive to somebody new at road biking. This makes you look like an ass and reaffirms the opinions that many have of "roadies" as pretentious snobs.

BTW - 3 months ago I purchased a Fuji bike at Cycle Spectrum, the store-front for BikesDirect.com. I was so thrilled with my new purchase that I posted a few pics of the bike on this board. Does this make me a spammer?

Thx...Doug
Doug, I agree. I came across too harsh but....Dave Hickey
Nov 30, 2003 6:10 AM
We are being spamed by bikesdirect.com. I have absolutely nothing against Fuji bikes. It just bugs me when an poster asks a new bike question and the bikesdirect.com employee doesn't identify himself. Most of the other "insiders" on this site are very clear about where they work so you can an objective opinion.

Looking at the above post, It is probably not bikesdirect.com and I apologize for my harsh post.
Why apologize?cydswipe
Nov 30, 2003 6:33 AM
Dave I respect the fact that you are a watch-dog against these spammers/trolls for on-line bikes. Legit posts or not, a lot of questions lately are for these "shops". Since there are a lot of new posters here, I don't mind at all the fact that someone warns against not getting fitted at their LBS or at least researching these places. Harsh post?, maybe, good intentions?, damn right!
Why apologize? IN ORDER TO BE POLITEwardinside
Nov 30, 2003 7:20 AM
Maybe he just realized he had gone off topic and not attempted at all to help a new poster. Maybe he realized that once you go down that road - that every new post needs to be called a troll or spamer.
Who is to say that a post asking to compare a Trek 2300 to a Fuji Team is not put up by a Fuji dealer? Or a Trek Dealer? Or by someone else who later will answer that you should go to ebay and buy their bike?
Better to post facts that are know and leave the detective work to the pros.

By the way - which is better a Fuji team or Trek 2300?
LOL! Good One! -nmcydswipe
Nov 30, 2003 9:40 AM
Why apologize?dgangi
Nov 30, 2003 10:58 AM
Because it is the right thing to do. Why do we need a "watchdog" on this board? Just ignore posts from people that you think are not legitimate and they will go away. But chase down an innocent person and they will go away as well...to the detriment of all.

As a newbie I find it very hard to read a lot of the posts on this board -- they are either mean, condescending, or accusatory. Good intentions or not, there is no reason to shove your viewpoint down other peoples throats.

Biking is supposed to be fun and this board is supposed to be a place we can all share that joy or learn about our hobby/sport. One would not come to this conclusion by reading a large number of posts on this board.

Thx...Doug
Why a watchdog...russw19
Nov 30, 2003 11:48 AM
To protect you and I. I am not jumping in on either side of the fence of the original post.. I don't care if that was made by a "legit person" or a "bikesdirect employee" as far as what they said goes. The only thing that would bother me is that if it was made by a bikesdirect employee then they are cheating you and I by posting cleverly disguised adds in the forums and not paying to advertise like the rest of us do in the classifieds. If someone comes here and posts a link to their ebay auction, people jump on them...

So then why a watchdog, I think if someone is using the good natured intent of this board, where cyclists come together to try to help one another, as a launching pad for an add campain, then screw them. Someone should speak up. Competitive Cyclist may have annoying flashing Dogma adds, but they are paying the bandwidth bills so you and I can have this discussion.. if bikesdirect is trying to use these boards to advertise, then let them take out an add.

The funny thing is that this post is strikingly simaler to the post made last month by colectorvelo who was defending Motobecane bikes just a little to staunchly for many here to believe he didn't work for them. If that's the case, take out an add. Or just load up the reviews section. But if someone is trying to sneak an add in, why should you and I have to pay $3 to sell our bikes or wheels here?

That's my opinion on why a watchdog. If you don't like that someone else is looking out for the collective best interests of this board, take your own advice and ignore them. I choose who on here I ignore, and I assume you do as well, so just leave it at that. I didn't jump in this thread to say the original poster is or is not trying to pass off a free add.. but I won't tell someone who thought so that they are wrong for speaking up about it either.

Russ
Ignore this post.! they are all from one of 3 types!wardinside
Nov 30, 2003 3:26 AM
The posts can be amazing. Someone posts a deal at coloradocyclist and someone else rants about nasty lady on the phone that just was so unprofessional.
Someone posts a deal from bikesdirect and some assumes its a spam - without addressing weather its a deal.
Someone posts how to get a good bargin from a bike shop
or what their costs are and they get flamed for destroying the whole bike induastry.
Only 3 types of people seem to be on this board; those who are industry insiders, those who are true road bike freaks, and the innocent 'newbie' who wants to learn something.
Unfortunately, the insiders have an ax to grind and the road freaks are so over the edge they cannot remember the actual joy of cycling nor the value of a bike compared to other consumer items.
About 3 weeks ago, I ran into a group of 6 riders who had just ridden from Florida to southern California; Only one of them had a bike that was less than 2 years old. That was the only bike that Indexed! There was a Bridgestone, a Peugeot, and 4 others that I will not mention or else I will be a 'spamer'. These people seemed to have had a great time - I am just glad that they did not come on RBR and ask for advise before they left (if you know what I mean)
Ignore this post.! they are all from one of 3 types!dgangi
Nov 30, 2003 10:50 AM
Thanks for these thoughts. As an innocent "newbie" myself, I often find it hard to read the posts on this board because some people can come across as so damn mean. It seems like a minority of the readers on this board are truly into cycling for the joy of it. These people are the ones who never seem to tire of people like me asking seemingly stupid questions and post very informative responses...without coming across as condescending or accusatory. I wish everybody was like this, but alas this is not the case.

So now I have to skip through a lot of negative, angry or accusatory posts just to find something meaningful and informative. It makes for a rather dark experience, and one that won't change unless certain people either stop posting or rethink their attitude.

Cycling is supposed to be fun. One would not come to that conclusion by reading much of the posts on this board, and that is a shame.

Thx...Doug