RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Where's all the reviews?(10 posts)

Where's all the reviews?BowWow
Nov 28, 2003 2:35 PM
I've just been looking through some of the reviews - or lack thereof. MTBR has TONS of reviews on more stuff than you can imagine, but we have very few reviews, even on the more popular stuff. The reviews on MTBR are invaluable in helping me decide on purchases to slake my MTB appetities, but the RBR Reviews selection is very thin. I wonder why? Are we too lazy? Is it easier to just post a question here? Having the reviews at your fingertips is sure helpful!

Steve
Perhaps not as many into road biking?AJS
Nov 28, 2003 3:04 PM
Seems like I see a lot more people riding MTB's than roadies. Maybe cost is an issue, and people might think they'll be more comfortable on a MTB, or that MTB's are easier to handle that road bikes.(?)
Maybe it's the worth of them...torquecal
Nov 28, 2003 8:22 PM
Buyer reviews suffer from some problems that can make them unreliable;

1) self-justification; i.e. "I just spent half a paycheck on this thingy so it must 'feel great', 'dampen vibration', 'shift ultra smooth', etc..."

2) buyer's remorse; i.e. "I just spent half a paycheck on this thingy and it doesn't do everything I imagined it would so it must be total junk..." even though it might be fully functional.

If you ask me, independent reviews are what we really need. The only problem there is finding reviewers that aren't being biased by advertising or endorsements.
That's the point!BowWow
Nov 28, 2003 11:51 PM
It's quite easy to spot the "honeymoon" reviews and the "disgruntled" reviews. It's when you have ten or fifteen reviews that the board begins to have value. When five guys complain about the same weakness, then the sixth guy refutes them, it becomes a lot easier to make a more educated choice. But when there are only one or two reviews you have a harder time weeding the good from the bad. AND, this site IS called "Road Bike REVIEW"!!!

C'mon, guys, pony up with your reviews!
Exactlydgangi
Nov 29, 2003 6:28 PM
The more reviews are posted, the more one can find relevant information. 1 or 2 reviews is not enough to statistically determine anything -- you just might find the only 2 people who hated a product that everybody else loved (or vice-versa).

But if you have 10-20 reviews, you can sort out the noise and look for trends -- every product has strengths and weaknesses, and only when you have a sufficient audience using a product for a long enough period of time can you come to an informed conclusion.

So yes, there will always be people who post reviews who are flamers, "self-justifiers", or whatever you want to call them. But then you also have many others who post honest reviews that are very useful, and the more of us who post useful reviews, the better informed we will be.

Thx...Doug
www.bicycletest.com...bicycle268
Nov 29, 2003 5:04 AM
$12 a year. basically an online magazine. You pay the $12 subscription and have access (via password) to reviews, tech articles and industry news. I think Garrett Lai does a nice job overall. The reviews are well written and are relatively objective.
re: Where's all the reviews?rogue_CT1
Nov 29, 2003 11:04 AM
Most of the stuff I use isn't even on the Review list. When are they going to update?
a couple of thingsgeorge_da_trog
Nov 29, 2003 11:53 AM
First off mtbers go though parts more often so they have more chances to review stuff. Mtber's are used to looking for a new this or that since they just busted one on the last ride.

Second there many more different styles of mtb bike parts. FS frames alone. How many different styles of suspension frames are there. Different technologies and designs. Then add forks to the whole thing.

There are a lot more questions to be answered.

george
Second thatdgangi
Nov 29, 2003 6:22 PM
I definitely second your notion. I got into road biking about 3 months ago. When I was looking for a bike I wanted to gather as much information as I could before making the final decision.

I am very familiar with MTBR and use their reviews often for informational purposes about a part I am considering purchasing. They have reviews for almost any part you can think of...and then some. My biggest complaint with MTBR is that there are *TOO MANY* reviews -- some of which are posted by kids or idiots who don't know a thing about what they are reviewing. On MTBR you have to sift through a lot of noise and flamers to find the valuable information...but at least it is out there.

After my experience with MTBR I was very surprised to find how few reviews are posted on this board. Funny enough, I never met a roadie who didn't give you their opinion, so I was surprised that more people didn't voice theirs here.

Anyway, I am trying to do my part -- I added 3 reviews last week for 3 of the products I purchased back in September.

Thx...Doug
IF ONLY THE MAGs WOULD DO SHOT OUTSwardinside
Nov 30, 2003 3:33 AM
Car magazines frequently do shot outs -- "we compare ten mid sized performance sedans"
If the bike magazines had the guts, they would do the same. This would drive up there sales and advertising would follow. It would also drive down medium to high end bicycle prices.
"We compare ten Road bikes at $2000"
"What is the lightest road bike under $3000?"
"We show you the best deal/ 6 Cyclo Cross/ head to head"

This is what consumers want to see - an honest comparison - uneffected by personal interests