RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Shimano RSX(8 posts)

Shimano RSXcyclepath
Nov 26, 2003 10:53 AM
Does anyone know about this groupset, in puctuiclar the brakes, I found a deal on it and could't find reviews because it is no longer made. Thanks in advance.
It is fair...funknuggets
Nov 26, 2003 11:00 AM
came on relatively low pricepoint bikes. I would say it was one step below 105 back in the late 90's. I actually have a few RSX components on my trainer bike, although I did put old 8 speed ultegra shifters cause I felt the RSX was pretty sloppy after a few months of use. I think generally speaking, they are decent, and probably a step up from Tiagra or Sora... or whichever is the plastic STI.

The RSX crank is a noodle, so if you mash or plan to race, Id consider an upgrade there.

But, if it is going to go on a commuter or a rainbike, it will probably fair pretty well.

So sayeth the funk
Chris
I have it on my cross bikePmbH
Nov 26, 2003 11:12 AM
My cross bike is currently a Cannondale T500 from a few years back, slightly modified for crossing. The one item I don't have are the brakes, since I'm using V-brakes.

I think it was Shimano's attempt at making a touring-specific gruppo. Pricewise it was placed below 105 as someone else stated, but it's more on the heavy/overbuilt side. I would say the components are heavier than Tiagra.

Otherwise, it's typical Shimano fare. Shifts well, durable, easy to set up, etc.

I saw the comment that the crankeset is flexy from another person who responded. I'm 200 lbs and crossing on my RSX crankset... Yes, it is a little flexy, but it's holding up just fine. I would say this gruppo splits the difference between a road and MTB set.
I have it on my cross bikecyclepath
Nov 26, 2003 11:22 AM
I plan to put it on a training/touring bike.
To the brakes...funknuggets
Nov 26, 2003 11:34 AM
as said before, they are fair and functional. Basic dual pivot, silver finish... yadda yadda. They will be fine. At first I thought they couldnt stop at all, and wasnt sure if it was a function of the sloppy shifters, or cable flex or what, but when I went to ultegra and upgraded wheels, things seemed to help considerably.

They seem durable. Most notable upgrades (to me) would be right sti shifter and rear derail.

Chris
Works fine, no complaints in 8 or 10 years, maybe 10K milesCory
Nov 26, 2003 12:41 PM
I have RSX on an old Allez that used to be my main ride and now is a winter/commuter/beater. It's worked fine with minimal maintenance for a long time. Only swap I've made is to replace the downtube shifters with barcons, because I had them around and like them.
re: Shimano RSXChen2
Nov 26, 2003 1:18 PM
A friend of mine had/has RSX components on a Giant. Her triple crank-set has smaller rings on a 110 BCD pattern. I think the rings are something like 28-44-48. Her 7-speed RSX STI shifters failed without a lot of miles and I replaced them with 105's. The crank-set, derailleurs, and brakes are still working fine, probably has 10,000 miles on the bike. It's my understanding that RSX was also available in the common 130 BCD crank and ring set.
~Al
cheap and heavy but works just fineDaveG
Nov 26, 2003 1:35 PM
I have an RSX triple (with the smaller BCD) on my touring bike. It looks a bit cheap and its heavy but its worked just fine for many years.