RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


OK, how long does it take to heal???(15 posts)

OK, how long does it take to heal???PaulCL
Nov 24, 2003 10:40 AM
Crashed a week ago Sunday. The roadrash on my knee and elbow have healed very well. Scabbed over, no pain anymore. No discomfort.

On the other hand, the biggest section of RR on my hip is healing SO SO slowly. The wound has shrunk from about 4" in diameter to 2", but it still burns like h*ll! I think the healing is taking longer because its' rarely exposed to the air (I can't go walking around without pants on!). I'm just tired of eating Advil and feeling that burning sensation all of the time.

Its' been over 4 years since my last crash and I just don't remember the healing taking this long. Of course, I was younger then.....

Paul
re: OK, how long does it take to heal???divve
Nov 24, 2003 10:57 AM
If you haven't already put some Neosporin on it for 2-3 days. On the other hand if you have been doing it, stop. When used too long (can't be as short as 2 days) the wound will continue to ooze crap and appear inflamed/swollen.
I'll try itPaulCL
Nov 24, 2003 11:12 AM
I've been using the neosporin daily for 7 days. The wound is shrinking, but still red, inflammed, and very painful. I'll give it a shot. thanks. Paul
Use NeoSporine or however it is spelled (nm)zero85ZEN
Nov 24, 2003 11:07 AM
Is the wound still draining?russw19
Nov 24, 2003 11:23 AM
If so, it will take about a week until after the wound stops draining on average for it to fully heal. If it is still draining and it's inflammed, you should see a doctor and get an antibiotic as it's probably infected.

Russ
NopePaulCL
Nov 24, 2003 12:14 PM
Just red, sticky (neosporin) and painful. My doctor, my wife, is sick of me asking her when it will heal. So like any good 'internet cycling board addict', I'm posting a question on a public forum about my sore, red hip.

I think it needs time and air. I'm just tired of having the Advil wear off at 5am. Paul
Is the wound still draining?ORdirtydown
Nov 24, 2003 12:40 PM
Be careful not to let it go on. I battled a staph. infection for 2 months this last summer. The first round of antibiotics didn't get it. It was my first case in my 40 years. I let it go on out of male ego ignorance.
Talk about ignorance and male ego...Lone Gunman
Nov 24, 2003 5:05 PM
I found out last week I've been walking around with a wrist broken in 2 places from a crash 5 weeks ago. Doc said, "look at it this way, you're 5 weeks ahead on therapy." "It would have been casted and then it would be all stiff and sore now as opposed to being a little sore."
I can't advise you to do this, butOldEdScott
Nov 24, 2003 12:15 PM
I have horses and other animals/livestock and I use lots of their meds on myself. Seems to work better than the pansy stuff they give humans.

For my last oozing road rash, I got rid of it in a couple days with this:

http://www.pelham-saddlery.com/thestore/prods/274550.html

Again, I don't advise that you use this. But check with a pharmacist to see if there's some kind of antibiotic/drying powder like this for human use. Seems like there SHOULD be.
Do you follow up with a bale of hay?........:-) nmTower
Nov 24, 2003 1:00 PM
Interesting ideaPaulCL
Nov 24, 2003 1:08 PM
HMMMM...my neighbor owns horses......but the last line got me ..... "Contains a deodorant to remove objectionable odors from foul or infected wounds" Phew! This way, I won't smell like roadkill!
Deeper = longer time to heal.T-Doc
Nov 24, 2003 1:22 PM
The abrasions on your hip are probably deeper, and therefore taking more time to heal...also the reason for the pain. No magic for faster healing...just keep it clean and moist with some type of antibiotic ointment...I like bacitracin...and it will heal.
Never let a scab formKerry Irons
Nov 24, 2003 6:57 PM
You can, and should, use an antibiotic cream until you have pink skin (no oozing, no scab forming). The warning on the tube is just lawyer talk. Typically it will take about 2 weeks for anything deep to heal. Never let it scab, keep it moist, and let it breath when possible. Lots of good buzz about a product called Tegaderm - talk to your pharmacist (chemist?).
Tegaderm review-My Experiencepitt83
Nov 25, 2003 5:59 AM
1.) I could buy individual pieces at $2.50 / ea rather than an entire box of 50 fo $60+. I got them at a pharmacy which specialized in hospital rehab products rather than the "Walgreens" type store.

2.) It worked great, when it stayed put. My scrape is on the ball of the knee and the tegaderm would stay put only when it didn't rub on tight pants. Wear khakis, sweats or shorts when possible and don't allow it to roll up. I had to use 2 per day.

3.) It's a good product and simpler to use than gauze and tape bndaging. Costs about the same.

Summary- 3 out of 5 stars. I'd use it again. Seems you'll know when it's time to quit using it. Two weeks later, the scaring looks greatly diminshed than I would have expected, so I guess it worked.
Tegaderm review-My ExperienceSadlebred
Nov 25, 2003 8:14 PM
Tegaderm doesn't stretch well and isn't really meant to be used on joints. On flat surfaces it works really well. My entire team swears by it. It's prevented many scars for me.

On joints, I use a good slathering of anti-biotic ointment and a gauze pad or two. I hold it in place with burn netting; you've probably seen it on pictures of injured European pros. It keeps the gauze in place, is easily changed, and can be reused. It's about $12-15/box at a health supply store. I've never seen it at a local drugstore/pharmacy. One box has lasted me for several years.