RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


homemade lube: whats used to make it?(14 posts)

homemade lube: whats used to make it?Gall
Nov 23, 2003 6:43 AM
Hello,

I know its been talked about on here in the past but I cant find the threads.

Could you all tell me the mixture for homemade lube.

Is the mixture as good as prolink?

Thanks for your feedback!

Gall
I use............Mike Tea
Nov 23, 2003 7:13 AM
.......a 50/50 mix of synthetic engine oil and mineral spirits.

The mineral spirits (paint thinner) is to thin the oil so that it gets into the chain internals where it does most good. Then the spirits evaporate leaving the lube behind.

I try to do it the night before so this has time to take place. I externally clean the chain before use to remove all excess lube that will pick up dirt. To do this I backpedal the chain through a slightly WD40 moistened rag followed by a clean rag.

I have no idea how it compares to Prolink.
3 cups of this and a little of thatPicshooter
Nov 23, 2003 8:54 AM
The mix that is often mentioned is either 3 or 4 parts (blenders option) mineral spirits to 1 part Mobil One Synthetic.

I started using a 4:1 mix a few years back and thats that.
No more expensive boutique lubes for me.
That's right . . .Look381i
Nov 23, 2003 10:43 AM
I use 3:1, but 4:1 is OK, and use odorless mineral spirits for a less obnoxious smell. Contrary to the earlier advice to clean the chain with WD-40, I use the lube itself to wipe the chain (with a heavy duty paper towel) and the residue that's left becomes the lubricant.

It does work best to wipe and lube the night before. The Mobil 1 apparently bonds with the metal, the mineral spirits evaporate and the drier chain picks up less dirt. I reapply about every 150-200 miles (once a week or so).

I've been making it for years and think it is quite similar to ProLink. If you buy the mineral spirts by the gallon at Lowe's or Home Depot, and the Mobil 1 at Autozone, the cost is about $6 total for 5 quarts, as opposed to $8 for 4 ounces of ProLink (that would be $320 for 5 quarts).
re: homemade lube: whats used to make it?Woof the dog
Nov 23, 2003 4:00 PM
Cut the bullshit and get T9. Prolink is too high maintenance, and if you are going to tell me that T9 or any other lube is too expensive... well maybe you should try a different sport, like running.

Woof
re: homemade lube: whats used to make it?Jack9
Nov 23, 2003 5:22 PM
There are no special additives in Mobil 1 that will "Bond with the Metal" The only claimed advantage to Mobil 1 is that very high temperatures it won't break down up as fast as regular motor oil. Unless you're chain gets very hot you are waisting your money and expecting to get some extra lubricating properties that aren't there.
Thats why I use synthetic, campy chains are expensiveSpunout
Nov 24, 2003 5:16 AM
and I wouldn't want my chain to wear excessively when I heat it reaches 600 degrees.

;-)

PS: Any one know what the micro-temperatures are at bearing contact surfaces for something like a chain?
homebrewtarwheel
Nov 24, 2003 5:24 AM
I had been using ProLink with good results until I ran out one weekend. Mixed up a batch of homebrew using 3 parts odorless mineral spirits to 1 part regular motor oil (Quaker State 10-30W). It works better than any chain lube I have tried yet. Keeps the chain clean and quiet, even in the rain. It's so cheap that I lube my chains at least once a week. I use my old ProLink bottle as an applicator.
Name one bike specific lube that makes you less tired?divve
Nov 24, 2003 5:31 AM
Mobil 1 with SuperSyn™ 0W-30, 5W-30 and 10W-30 exceed ILSAC GF-3 and are certified as "Energy Conserving."

...and not to be discounted are the ultra low molecular weight polyalphaolefins, optimizing oil binding and opacification, without increasing cloud point or viscosity.

Schweet!
What is an opinion worth?Kerry Irons
Nov 23, 2003 6:14 PM
Could you be more subtle? Many have used T9 and didn't come away satisfied. Clearly however, your experience/preference trumps the rest.
What is an opinion worth?Woof the dog
Nov 23, 2003 6:44 PM
Kerry, come on man, both of us are smart enough to know that I wouldn't do it in person AND sometimes the shortest answer is best.

Now, again, cut the bullsh!t and get T9. I am just telling you that you bullsh!t yourself, and the headache you get from JUST THINKING about stuff like this is really more expensive than any lube out there. Just fuhcking ride your bikes, people. As for lube either get Prolink or T9 which works pretty nice if you wipe the hell out of the chain every so often, just like with pro-link. Christ, if you spent over 600 dollars on a bike, spending extra 15 dollars for lube per year shouldn't be really that difficult.

you may disagree,
but hey, you asked for opinion.

Woof the dog.
costDaveG
Nov 24, 2003 4:43 PM
I can afford to buy Prolink, T9 or whatever. I use homebrew. One, because it works. And two, because I don't like to get ripped off. When I pay $2 an ounce for something that costed pennies to produce and works no better than homebrew I feel like a sucker. When I hear about "Metal Friction Reducing Technology" and other marketing BS I feel like I'm being taken for a ride. If I could notice a difference between the two I'd pick the better one even if it costs more. Since I cannot I will continue to stick with homebrew until I find something better
My...............Mike Tea
Nov 24, 2003 5:54 PM
......thoughts exactly. Talk comes cheap when it's used in advertizing and we have no way of proving all the fancy claims of expensive lubes.

Homebrew is at least as good as anything else I've ever tried and for a fraction of the cost. I though will never get the chance to find something better as I'm not about to change.

I gave a large bottle to a lady racer that I mechanic for and I asked her to try it for the whole season. She finally came to me and asked if I could re-fill her bottle as it was great stuff and better than anything she'd previously tried.

I hadn't told her what it was or my own opinion so she had no pre-conceived ideas. In fact she'd never even heard of homebrew lubes.

When I finally told her what it was she was quite surprised.
re: homemade lube: whats used to make it?giro_man
Nov 24, 2003 6:39 AM
The responses to your question provide useful information. Thanks for bringing up the subject. I have already e-mailed the recipe to my son.