RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Fondriest experiences/opinions(11 posts)

Fondriest experiences/opinionscw05
Nov 21, 2003 2:11 PM
I posted a fit question a couple of days ago with this same question but only got responses on the fit questions. I'm on the cusp of buying one of their frames but still hesitant as I've never actually ridden one or even seen one in person. Still curious what people's opinions on Fondriest frame quality, ride qualities, stiffness, customer service, etc. is, especially on the Status Carb and Carb Level frames. Seems like a great deal at $1250 and $1299 on these framesets/headset respectively, even if they are last years models. Thanks in advance for your time and opinions.
re: Fondriest experiences/opinionsafrican
Nov 21, 2003 2:29 PM
I am a fondriest owner. I have a team lampre sat u107 time trial bike. It flippen rocks. There is only one other fondriest in my area and he loves his too. He was on a group ride that got hit by a car. He got bashed up pretty good, but is back on the saddle on his fondriest that only has a couple of minor scratches. Ok off the subject, but we both love our fondriest machines. They are becoming more popular, not like colnago, (I have one too) they are everywhere.

Frame quality of mine is unreal, the paint (SAT - sliding art technology is insane). I have ITM CX2 aero bars on mine so the ride will always be different to a pure road bike.

Try get the FLY SAT bike, just try, or the MONUMENTAL SAT.

Put it this way, my colnago dream plus GEO bike people round here love it and tell me, my fondriest they just keep real quiet and stare at it - they are speachless.

Paul Tracey can't be wrong either, my bike is the same as his, he must know a fast machine when he rides one!!

Enjoy and post pictures of your Fondy when you get it.
Generally GOOD!!!funknuggets
Nov 21, 2003 2:49 PM
I visit this site way too much and see that most all of the responses and reviews of the new fondy stuff is really, really positive. I'm of the old school and have what seems a vintage fondy (99) and it is a stellar bike. Finish and paint is awesome, and it is as stiff a bike as Ive ever seen, but seems to ride better than a cannondale. I have worked with Will Atencio and he is fantastic to work with...

If I hadn't bought my Look 381, I would have bought another fondy. You should be happy with your new frame. Keep us posted with lots of bike porn of your new ride.

Chris
re: Fondriest experiences/opinionsGerbila
Nov 21, 2003 2:58 PM
I got into roadbiking recently w/ a Fondriest Madonna Di Campiglio. I do not have much experience on roadbikes (just mountain bikes), but my opinion is that the frame rides really well, not at all harsh. More objectively, I can tell that the quality of the welds is top notch! I have not seen better in person. When you consider the prices their frames are going for direct, I think they are a great choice.
re: Fondriest experiences/opinionsRon L
Nov 21, 2003 4:17 PM
I rode the following framesets in this order. The Carb Level Plus, Don Racer then Status Carb. The biggest problem is the fit.
The Carb level Plus was a medium or 55cm ref sized frameset.
The top tube was to long and the headtube was to tall; no spacers and I couldn't get the handle bars down.
The monobox rear carbon stays felt loose all the time and made noise.
Next I built the Don Racer small, ref sized 53cm. The frame has a 53.5cm top tube and a headtube tall for a small frame. The top tube is long for a small sized frameset but short for me but do-able. No problem with the headtube but the wheels base changed to the point of giving me a 2 inch toe overlap(not good). That lasted for about 3 weeks.
The Status Carb was more of a classic geometry and rode best of all. The geometry is not what they show in the charts.
If you are going to be more than 5mm from your ideal top tube length find another frame.

The Mizuno forks are the worst, they are more of a resin transfer and have a very plastic feel and sound. I dumped it for a Easton EC90 and later got rid of the frame.

I would keep looking
re: Fondriest experiences/opinionsafrican
Nov 21, 2003 7:15 PM
interesting about the forks. I have a profile ACD fork, it is aero bladed, and works great on my Fondriest. My bike is too small for me, but with spacers and a long seat post it works out perfectly as a time trial bike, as a road bike it would not work for me. Bear in mind my bike is a team time trial bike custom built for some Eye talian dude (Allesandro Cortivinos or something like that). Anyways I love mine and I love to hammer the thing.
re: Fondriest experiences/opinionspina
Nov 21, 2003 4:21 PM
I have a older 98 status, before the carb seat stays and it is still a nice bike and people still comment on the paint job. It has been a very durable bike and the paint job has held up excellently. I am in the 190's and have put many miles on it. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one and i think the price is very good for what you get. It rides just as nice as my De Rosa or Pinarello. If you pull the trigger on it i don't believe you will ever regret it.
Buy a Fondriest...You'll thank yourself!bikenj
Nov 22, 2003 2:55 PM
I bought a Status X-Carb in March and without question, it is the nicest frame I've ever ridden.

Now I'm a Fondriest addict and drooling over the new carbons. That Fondriest site is like bike porn.

Their customer service is out of this world and I've heard it's only going to get better. So, if you get your fit issue resolved, go for it!!

And the prices on the leftovers are great.
Buy a Fondriest...You'll thank yourself!peter108
Nov 24, 2003 1:35 AM
I bought a Status Carb last Spring(it was an Interbike display model and got it for a good price yet still not as good as the price now) and I love it. The geometry works for me so that's a great start. The ride is unbelievable! As mentioned before Will Antencio is great at customer service. If you can reslove the fit issue you'll love the bike, but make sure it fits otherwise find si=omethin else that does fit you.
great...C-40
Nov 24, 2003 8:16 AM
I bought the lowst level MDC as a second bike. Also ride a Colnago C-40. Although the geometry is substantially different than a C-40, it rides and handles great.

I did find the front-center dimension to be nearly 1cm shorter than advertised on the 51cm size frame. This created a small amount of toe-overlap, but it has not been a problem.

Be sure that the geoemtry suits you before buying. From some of the posts, it's obvious that some folks aren't smart enough to evaluate the geometry before buying. I knew when I bought mine that the TT was 1.5cm shorter and the headtube was 1cm shorter than my C-40. This was easily handled with a 1cm longer, 90 degree stem. The fit is now quite similar to my C-40.
I also have a C40 and was considering a FondriestBonked
Nov 25, 2003 11:03 AM
as a 2nd bike. What is the size relationship between your C40 and the MDC?

Thanks!