RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


large rider(8 posts)

large ridercornboy
Nov 20, 2003 10:14 AM
Hey everyone, I could use a little help here. I'm new to road riding and want to purchase my first road bike. I'm 6'3", 225 lbs. I know fit is the most important aspect, but I haven't had a chance test ride any bikes yet. In the meantime, can anyone recommend any bikes that will not only take my weight, but also the torque generated on a hard climb without the frame flexing too much. I'd like to stay under $1000. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt
at that price point, think wheels & tiresPmbH
Nov 20, 2003 10:23 AM
It's tough to get a complete bike at $1000 and be picky about frame flex. When shopping, look for 14g spokes, brass nipples, and other touches that make stronger wheels. Also tires in a 25 or 28c size will help if you ride roads with less-than-perfect surfaces.
Other things to watch out for at your size: Make sure the bike has appropriate size-specific parts: wide handlebar, long crankarms, etc.
Some companies try to spec a cheap carbon fork on a low-end bike to entice buyers. Some of these can be VERY flexy, like the carbon w/steel steerer tube forks that Trek put on some lower end bikes a few years back.
Find a good shop that will spend a lot of time with you, and happy shopping!
good luck for 1kColnagoFE
Nov 20, 2003 10:29 AM
Look at the oversized AL bikes like Cannondale. I think that would be your best bang for the $ if you need a stiff bike. I'm 6'2" and about 25 pounds lighter than you and lower priced frames in a large size often flex like crazy. Make sure whatever you get has fairly beefy wheels. I'd go conventional 36 spoke all around for training wheels.
I'm in your size; your predicimentpitt83
Nov 20, 2003 10:58 AM
I'm 6'4, 230. I look really carefully at these things.

1.) LBS first: If you don't have a good BUSINESS relationship, it'll never work. Let me explain here. I have, whom I consider, a friend who owns and LBS. I don't shop there often. I don't care for his business sense. I was buying a CX bike this fall and he refused to swap out a paired-spoke gipemme wheel for a 32hole 3X 14Ga and I pay the difference. That broke the deal on a bike which I would have bought. I like the owner, but not his business sense. You'll need a shop which will consider swaps at cost.

2.) Material: Agree that oversized AL is likely where you'll be. I had a Specialized for 3 years and it was great.

3.) Components: You're going to want 105 or better here (Centaur or better? Not a campy guy). Tiagra and Sora will likely get chewed up and wear quickly.

4.) Cyclocross bike: These are designed for more "punishment" than you average road bike. Consider it at least. They're also comparatively inexpensive for what you're getting. The C'dale and Jamis are both nice.

If I were in your budget and looking, maybe Trek 2000, maybe Allez will probably get you there. But, try and make sure you can swap out wheels as these will likely be what breaks first and you'll be sorry you didn't
Tall orderAndy M-S
Nov 20, 2003 11:54 AM
It's going to be difficult, so I'm going to suggest a slightly different strategy.

First, find out what size you need--and measure the relevent dimensions (ST, TT, etc.). Then go looking for a moderate to low-end used frame or bike.

Look for something made with a good (but not overly light) steel, like CroMor. Look in the $150-$300 max range. You should be able to find a reasonable frame, maybe some OK downtube shifters, etc. I picked up a complete, virtually untouched Bridgestone RB-2 for $150 last year. The same shop has a Raleigh sport-touring bike, oversized AL, 7-speed STI-equipped, for $400 in excellent shape. Seems like nobody buys used bikes, so the prices are low and you can get a lot of bang for your buck.

The key is to talk to people here and friends who ride for a sense of what bikes are of reasonable quality and which aren't. If your LBS sells used bikes, that's a good place to start...in any event, a knowledgeable friend is a good idea as well.

Then call up Colorado Cyclist or Excel and get a nice set of wheels built--Ultegra/CXP33, with (my opinion, others may differ) 32x or 36x 14-15-14 double butted spokes. These will be very solid wheels, and will cost around $200-250.

That leaves the rest for componentry. The crank/BB will likely be fine, but you'll need cassette, chain, derailers, shifters, and -- maybe -- brakes. If you look at the 105 category and maybe buy some used stuff, you should be able to do it fairly easily.

Also, remember to sell off any components you remove on eBay. The RB-2 frame paid for itself that way, when I sold its old drivetrain and wheels on the 'net.

You may also want to replace your saddle/stem/handlebars as part of the process, but take is easy...you don't need to do things all at once.

Save out enough money for a decent pair of shoes and pedals (Specialized often has large sizes of their MTB shoes for extremely good prices--like $10/pair!). Add a pair of shorts and you're all set.
Weight's not a big issue, but height will be.Cory
Nov 20, 2003 12:15 PM
I'm an inch taller than you, and have drifted down from 260 to 220 in the last few years. 225 is within the capabilities of sensible (no fewer than 32 spokes; 36 is better) wheels, and you won't have problems there.
What will be tough, though, is fit. Most bike shops will try to sell you a 62cm frame, or even a 60, because that's what they stock and there's not much alternative in that price range. Don't believe that a longer seat post will make a too-small frame fit you--if you have to reach down 6 inches to the handlebars, you're not ever going to be comfortable and you'll never ride as far or as enjoyably as you could. IMO, it's worth looking around, waiting as long as necessary and buying used (e-bay?) to find a frame that fits. The 5'9" guys in the bike shop will tell you that's a 62, but I'd be surprised if you weren't more comfortable on a 64.
As somebody else said, though, they're very hard to find in that price range. Another reason to buy used.
62 in some brands (ie Lemond) could fit him (nm)ColnagoFE
Nov 20, 2003 3:44 PM
A few suggestionsbigrider
Nov 20, 2003 12:56 PM
There is a lot of good advice above, here is my suggestion

Your shape will dictate your bike needs, long legs or long torso, maybe a medium build. Find out what you are before you do anything and what bike geometry fits. Seek out a friendly road group and pick their brains. Filter it and keep the stuff that is commonly agreed upon as fact and the rest as opinion.

Since your two parameters are stiffness and 1000 bucks

You could buy

Schwinn Fastback with 105 $700 Aluminum
Scattante CFR with Ultegra $1299 Carbon Fiber

These are at supergo

Viner Comp up to 64cm $550 Frame and Fork (Steel w/carbon fork)

Bianchi SL 63cm $550 Aluminum with Carbon Fork

105 Build Kit if you buy frame and fork $725

gvhbikes.com

Some of these suggestions are over your price point. If you want to stick to 1000 buy aluminum with 105 and trade or sell the wheels and build up what was mentioned in the other posts.

My final suggestion is to be sure of what you want. Too often the parameters we set are the wrong ones if your road riding becomes your joy. Hence, you will hear a lot of people steering you away from low end aluminum because it ain't the cat's meow on a long ride. They will also try to get you to buy better wheels that will hold up for you but won't be on bikes in that price band.