RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anybody know how the "my 2 cents" expression originated? nm(8 posts)

Anybody know how the "my 2 cents" expression originated? nmKaboom
Nov 20, 2003 2:40 AM
... from what I've heard and seen...Akirasho
Nov 20, 2003 5:23 AM
... get it??? my two senses (hearing, seeing)??? my two sense... my two cents?

Dunno if it's true cuz I just thought of it... but it's kinda neat eh?

Oh, and to make this topic relavent to the General forum... does anyone hear own a bicycle?

Be the bike.
I suspect it's from pokerScot_Gore
Nov 20, 2003 6:42 AM
I'm sure you've played penny annie (sp?) poker and found yourself saying "here's my two cents" over and over again.

The analogy works for discussions, your opinion is your opening bid on the subject and everybodys got an opening bid (opinion) and mine has no more value than yours.

Could be wrong, but it's what I've always thought it meant.

Scot
correctamundoterry b
Nov 20, 2003 6:56 AM
From the Origin of Phrases Web Site

http://members.aol.com/MorelandC/Phrases.htm

"Put my two cents in" originates from the older "put my two bits in" and has its origin in the game of poker. When playing poker you have to make a small bet before the cards are dealt called an "ante" to begin play in that hand.

Gotta love Google.
m2¢coonass
Nov 20, 2003 5:22 PM
Meaning
Offer an opinion.
Origin
Poker games often required a small bet to be made by a new player before they could join the game. Notionally offering two cents (or two bits) late came to be used as a way of entering your opinion in a conversation.

To make the "¢" character symbol:
a) hold down the Alt key right of the Space-bar.
b) enter 0162 on the keypad to the far right (not the top keys).
c) Now release the Alt key.

Other interesting symbols:
0176, 0177, 0178, 0179, 0188, 0189 and 0190.
My 25 centschar
Nov 20, 2003 7:16 PM
Uh, I thought 2 bits equalled 25 cents.
Piece of eight equals 12.5 cents

IQ test
complete the following sequence:
Shave, Haircut,

Alt Charlie
no sense about it
I wonder what it would be with inflation (nm)spluti
Nov 20, 2003 6:47 AM
Don't know, but it's asinine.hrv
Nov 20, 2003 7:51 AM
So someone posts their thoughts, then states "just my .02".
Duh, really? Who the heck's else .02 would it be - you're the moron who just posted, get a life! It's the most unnecessary , not-needed-information known to man.

hrv,
in need of coffee

p.s. just my .02, in case anyone was wondering