RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


A few group ride etiquette questions ...(8 posts)

A few group ride etiquette questions ...HouseMoney
Nov 19, 2003 4:00 PM
The "venting" post below about group rides got me thinking. Started doing group rides this past summer (been road riding since last Nov.), and for the last 3-4 wks have been going on them with a particular shop that I really like. It's a much larger group than I was accustomed to, and rides at a generally higher ability level. Since I'm still fairly new to this group, everyone knows everyone else except me.

Here're two situations that I want to know the proper way to handle, w/o causing a crash &/or ticking anyone off:

(1) riding the outside of a double line (not a training paceline, but a decent-paced shop ride). The inside (closest to curb) rider drifts towards me, almost like he wants to ride betw/ the riders ahead of us instead of on the rider's rear wheel in front of him. Do I just say, "yo, please hold your line?".

(2) riders take turns pulling in front, which I did. At a later point while I'm in the middle of the pack (same double line, this time I'm on the inside), I realize I can't hang anymore at the pace set as my endurance fades (~ 2/3 into a 50 mi ride, shouldn't have done that 3-hr mtn bike ride the day b4). I mentioned this to the rider on my left, but wasn't sure how to make known to the group my intentions to fall back. I couldn't fall back to the right since I was already hugging the curb. The rider on my left would've cleared a spot for me to cut over, but I didn't sense the riders behind me would've appreciated that. What's the best & safest way to fall back from my position in a double line? Is it "fair" to the rest of the group to just hang in the back the entire ride until my fitness improves?

I intend to ask the ride leader next time I see him, but I wanted to know if there are some universal rules. The other rides I'd been on with this same group had been shorter (~30± mi) & I had no problems hanging at whatever pace was set. I'd done close to 50 miles b4, so I didn't anticipate any difficulties. Thanks.
re: A few group ride etiquette questions ...TJeanloz
Nov 19, 2003 4:07 PM
(1) Don't say anything. Unless there's some good safety reason for him to move over, it's not worth it to tell him to. You should get comfortable riding in close proximity - as long as he's next to you, he can't hurt you.

(2) I don't think most groups would have a problem with you sitting on the back, but it's probably best to clear it with somebody in the group (i.e. the ride leader) first. If you are completely blown, and on the inside, pull as close to the curb as possible, and give an indication with your hand that the people behind you should slide up. It shouldn't faze anybody.
group etiquette is crapishmael
Nov 19, 2003 6:10 PM
do whatever you feel like and tell them to go to hell if anyone complains
That's the spirit...baylor
Nov 19, 2003 7:41 PM
of someone who should ride alone.

Communication is everything in a group situation. Play by the rules, and if you don't know the rules (expectations) then ask. Only then do you have the right to tell someone to go to hell, and then only if they are manifestly unreasonable.

There's a reason it is called a "group" ride.
wellafrican
Nov 19, 2003 7:54 PM
on a group ride last sat and I went for a big hard pull, when I needed a break I pulled off to the left and was passed by the guys behind but I kept a pace and just sat in my own pace line and anyone trying to worm there way up to the front could not pass. So I hear "hey what I you doing" my answer ----- "RIDING MY BIKE" ------ ha ha ha I thought that was great.

Screw you I am riding my bike, oh jeez that was great. Like really this is a group ride, I do a lot of pulling on the ride and some breakaways, I keep the pace high, you just suck wheel and then wana ask me what am I doing ha ha ha ha..... riding my bike!!!

anyway. back to the original ? Yes communication is key, if you feel you are about to blow, make some hand signal to the others to pass you, they might be pissed but at least if you warn them early it might be better. You have to learn how your body feels and know when you might blow. Get a heart rate monitor and use it as a tool to keep you from blowing up.
wellThe Human G-Nome
Nov 20, 2003 9:07 AM
so, in your opinion, the guys on your group ride who can only hold your wheel and aren't as strong as you to the point where they can do their fair share of the work pulling can go suck a big one if they're wondering why you're acting like a complete jacka$$ in the paceline?

wow, some ambassador to the sport you are. the fact that you are strong on a bike realtively to your riding buddies means zero to me and will get you zero respect from any of my teammates or anyone i ride with. that's a seriously $hitty attitude you have.
answers....Bruno S
Nov 19, 2003 9:53 PM
1) If a rider is moving too close to you let him know that. Either by saying so "rider left", etc. or by touching him (putting your hand on his lower back or shoulder).

2) The correct way to pull off in the middle of a paceline requires you to ride next to the rider in front and telling the rider behind you to grab that rider's wheel. That way you don't create a gap. This takes practice because by the time you realize you are about to get dropped there is little energy to be able to pull yourself next to the rider in front. Other times there is no space to do this.

My advise is that for the momment don't worry too much about ettiquete or not taking pulls. Instead ride defensively concentrating in not being involved in a crash or creating a crash.
and anothergeorge_da_trog
Nov 19, 2003 10:02 PM
1)... not much you can do

2) like mentioned before, get over as far as you can and wave the guys on. Next time take a shorter pull.

george