RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Studded tires(8 posts)

Studded tiresride_hard
Nov 19, 2003 8:58 AM
I want to continue riding during the winter months. The conditions vary widely where I live ... ice one minute, slush/snow the next, and roads that have been plowed (but not down to the road surface). Anyone know anything about Nokian tires? Any other suggestions?

Thanx-
I have the answer...but it'll cost you :DCARBON110
Nov 19, 2003 9:09 AM
I put hours into training...and this winter I will be in Vermont for most of it. So, I lucked out on getting a nice cross frame from my coach. You can get one cheap after croos season is over.

I'm throwing it together but the biggest concern I have about riding in snow whent eh temp is 10-30' F is keeping my feet warm and staying up right on dirt roads or slush filled streets.

My solution. But some Nokian or Mich. tires and find a screw at your local hardware store that has a flat smooth back so as not to cause flats on tubes. Carefully screw in to the tire at points I cant show you right now with out my digi. But dont use to many or to few and plan on it taking 3 hours to finish one tire if you are careful. This way you wont worrie much about flats and youll never fall down due to ice.

Otherwise there is one Mtn Bike tire out there that has 300 studs in it but they are short nubby studs. Thats the only alternative. As for feet, 2 pair socks (special winter climbing/wic socks) and the best shoe covers money can buy : Neoprene Casatelli. O yeah you better not use your Nike racing shoes but use HEAVY Sidis or Shimano that are solid and keep the air in. There is a iwnter shoe being produced and available, not sure who makes it but I can find out but it is suppose to be water proof
Screws don't work.Alexx
Nov 19, 2003 1:58 PM
Nokian tires have CARBIDE steel screws (very hard metal, and they won't wear out), whereas screws are mild steel. 5 miles on dry pavement, and your hardware store screws are worn flat.

Now, the best way to keep your feet warm and dry is to put a plastic bag over your heavy socks, then put a light sock over that. No moisture will get through, and neither will the wind.
See Icebike.comjanzen
Nov 19, 2003 9:12 AM
www.icebike.com (nm)
Couple of friends are happy with themSilverback
Nov 19, 2003 9:16 AM
We don't have enough bad weather around here for me to justify buying them (wait a day or two; it'll thaw), but a couple of my riding buddies have used Nokians for two years. They like 'em a lot; no complaints at all. The hills around here are laced with century-old irrigation ditches that freeze over in winter, and when conditions are clear and cold, these guys will ride on the ice. It's pretty neat--they can go six or eight miles on a dead-level surface, sometimes herding trout in front of them.
One warning: They're both using them on beaters, mid-'80s touring bikes that have more room in the fork and under the rear brake than most modern bikes. Be sure you have space.
There may be more on this at www.icebike.com. Haven't checked the site this year, but it's usually a reliable source of winter riding information.
Clearance issues...biknben
Nov 19, 2003 10:06 AM
The limiting factor is probably the frame clearance. Nokian studded tires are available in 700c but I believe they are at least 30c wide.
NokiansRay Sachs
Nov 19, 2003 10:27 AM
I have the 700c version of Nokians that I stick on my cross bike in the worst of winter. They're about 35mm wide, so good luck on a standard road bike, but they'll fit most cross or touring bikes. They're great on ice. I've ridden across town on days when cars were sliding all over the place and I had no trouble accellerating, braking, cornering, etc, as long as I didn't do anything too abruptly. The bad news is they're not much good in snow or significant slush. I've actually had better luck with really skinny road tires that tend to sink through to the pavement better. The Nokians are just wide enough to swim all over the place, but not wide enough to be stable while swimming.

I've read that their really wide mountain bike tires do very well in snow, but my experience with the 700c tires hasn't been very good except on hard ice. I've seen a few other similar opinions from others on-line about these tires as well.

Hope this helps,

-Ray
We use them.MB1
Nov 19, 2003 11:55 AM
In the winter we keep them mounted on our ATB's for snow and ice. They let us ride on iffy days when most folks can't ride.

The 26" tires we use are ok on snow, great on ice but really have a lot of rolling resistance on dry pavement.

We had the same tires for 3 winters now and they look barely used. Even though they were fairly expensive they have turned out to be a very good value.