RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sunglasses --- what's your opinion(17 posts)

Sunglasses --- what's your opinionpmf1
Nov 19, 2003 7:45 AM
Winter is when I wear sunglasses the most often. I use clear lenses for cold and night/commute riding. So I have to have a pair with clear replacement lenses. I've had a set of Rudy Project for some time that are about to go and need new ones. Anyone got opinions on these two (Zeal vs. Oakley)? I'd appreciate it. I kind of hate to spend $120 on glasses with only one set of lenses and then have to turn around and spend $30-$40 a set on additional lenses. Each of these come with 3 sets of lenses.

Here are the Zeal glasses -- seem like a good deal

http://www.excelsports.com/new.asp?page=8&major=4&minor=9&description=Blast+Sunglasses&vendorCode=ZEAL

Here are the Oakley glasses -- cool, but kinda expensive:

http://www.coloradocyclist.com/common/products/productdisplay2_v2.cfm?PRRFNBR=27804&S=24283,24285,27325,29765,24292,24284,29766,27804,27854,24298,27076,27293

Thanks for your opinions.
Low budget solution...spluti
Nov 19, 2003 8:11 AM
Take a look at these. I'm going to try them with the prescription insert. They come with three lenses. Let me know what you think.
I'm tired of expensive designer glasses
http://www.practicon.com/modperl/practicon/view_services.cgi?request=detail&prod_num=70-39720&subcat_id=102
re: Sunglasses -like bikes you have to try them onandy02
Nov 19, 2003 8:16 AM
I don't buy glasses online unless I know how the fit.

In the winter I prefer a larger lens to keep the wind out.
re: Sunglasses -like bikes you have to try them onboyd2
Nov 19, 2003 8:22 AM
I am an engineer in a manufacturing facility, so I have lots of safety glasses laying around. Every few months I pick up a pair from a supplier or at a conference. I have found a pair that I really like for biking. The smith and wesson brand wrap-around safety glasses are perfect for me. Good coverage top and bottom, wrap around (important for contact lens wearers) and they are free for me! You could probally find a pair for $5 at home depot. Otherwise look at a supply house like McMaster-Carr or MSC. It really does not make sence to me when people spend over $10 for clear glasses.
I too work in manufacturing and use safety glassesMilliet
Nov 19, 2003 1:11 PM
At our plant, we are actually encouraged to take home and use saftey glasses. I order them out of the store room and have tried many types including the S&W you mention. Also like the Harley Davidson line. I particularly like the M frame knock offs with medium tent. I have at least a half dozen at home and at work. They work great.
I'm cheap too and use either safetyglasses or cheap sunglasses.bimini
Nov 19, 2003 1:23 PM
I too work in manufacturing and use safety glassesjaybike
Nov 19, 2003 7:50 PM
Check out crewsinc.com. I use the 'Tremors', they are shaped like the Oakley M-frames. they wrap around, have a rubber nosepiece and earpiece and sell for under $10.
Deals on Oaklays can be found on eBay...biknben
Nov 19, 2003 9:04 AM
I'm a big Oakley fan. Mostly because they fit me well. I have M-frames (both folding and non-folding) and an assortment of lenses. I like the long ear socks that wrap around the head. Offers a solid secure fit without being tight.

A quick search for "Oakley M" brought up 4 pages of auctions on eBay. It's worth a look.
Deals on Oaklays can be found on eBay...MShaw
Nov 19, 2003 9:46 AM
I'm with you on the Oakley thing.

I've modified my Oakley wearing by going down to TJ/Mexico and picking up some Faux-kleys. $8 gets me a pair of fake glasses that I can put my real lenses in.

I haven't ridden anything else since the mid-90s, so can't comment on the rest.

Mike
I used to have some fake Oakleyspmf1
Nov 19, 2003 10:41 AM
Got them from a street vendor in DC. The frames were uncomfortable. The ends of the arms pushed into the back of my head and felt really annoying after a few hours.
I have Fakelys and Oakleysbigrider
Nov 19, 2003 11:17 AM
My Wife bought me Oakleys for 120 bucks for my birthday and I almost crapped my chamois. I buy the Fakelys by the case and pay less than 5 bucks a piece. This is the kicker. I cannot tell the difference wearing them. The only noticable difference is the frames break more often on the fake ones because the plastic must not be as strong.
Faux-kleyslitespeedchick
Nov 19, 2003 11:40 AM
That's exactly what my husband does. Fake Oakleys frames on the street in NY (throw away the lenses) + real Oakley lenses saved from all the Oakley frames he has destroyed over the years.

'course, I'm not so hard on mine. I still have the first Oakley frames I ever bought, just replace the lenses for $30 every couple of years when they get too scratched to see out of.
Sunglasses - my opinion...No_sprint
Nov 19, 2003 9:46 AM
I've got tons of them, Spys, Ray Bans, Rudy Project, Oakley. I always revert back to my favorite and easily interchangable, Oakley M Frame.
Some good sources for eyewearLive Steam
Nov 19, 2003 9:48 AM
http://www.sportsmansguide.com/
Excellent for good deals if you can find what you are looking for.

http://www.peepers.com/
http://www.sporteyes.com/
here's my problemcapt pearl
Nov 19, 2003 11:10 AM
I need something that
(A)blocks wind when in the drops (love my optic nerves, but not quite tall enuff),
(B)mutliple lenses
(C)doesn't look like big safety classes. I'm shallow, I know, but I can't get over the looks of rudy projects or oakley m's
(D)doesn't cost an arm and a leg. sunglasses are "consumables" by definition. they don't have an infinite life (if you're busy having a life!)

I want some glasses that have clear, amber, tint and I hate (wont!) spend big bux for something I'm going to lose or destroy (avid mountainbiker). Am looking at the performance stuff, several options there. I may just go with safety glasses, if I can find some that don't scream "forklift" (not that I dislike forklifts or forklifters, mind you) and don't have dark nose pieces - I find that very distracting.

so, lemme know if you find anything great.

-capt p
re: Sunglasses --- what's your opinionGregJ
Nov 19, 2003 7:13 PM
Check at Campmor.com or at Performance for Bolle's on sale. I recently bought some I am very pleased with them, they came with 3 different color lenses and they are comfortable and they were around 39 bucks. I have had a few pairs of Oakleys, they always broke and they are way overpriced, they are not the company they used to be.
Thankspmf1
Nov 20, 2003 7:43 AM
I'll check them out.