RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Need recommendations(11 posts)

Need recommendationslotterypick
Nov 18, 2003 9:28 AM
I'm looking for a good (great bib short).

I read the reviews and each short had lovers and haters, and worst of all it was not completely down to fit but manufacturing.

Is there a short that's super comfortable and well made.

I'm 6'2", 184 (yahoo! down 10 since I started) and riding approximately 30 miles a pop. Thanks for your thoughts.
this years favs are pearl and nike (high end on both) nmandy02
Nov 18, 2003 9:33 AM
Switching my allegiance from Assos to Biemme ...HouseMoney
Nov 18, 2003 10:14 AM
I like the fit & comfort of my Assos F1.13 bibs. However, as others who have reviewed them have mentioned, I just noticed some fabric pilling on the inner thigh area on one of my shorts (so much for my positive initial review; time for an update). I just bought them this summer and I'm guessing I only have ~400 miles on them. Narrow saddle, skinny legs, so there shouldn't be much rubbing going on.

About a month ago, I purchased Biemme bib shorts. IMO the chamois is more comfortable than the Assos and I can buy 3 Biemme bibs for the price of one Assos F1.13! Only time will tell if they'll hold up longer than the Assos, but at ~ $60, I'm not that concerned if they don't.
1st ride in Biemme Bib Knickers this morning...JFR
Nov 18, 2003 1:12 PM
...and I LOVE them. They are my first bib experience, so any comparisons I could make would be as compared to shorts (mostly PI shorts).

The pair I bought (at the SF Velo Swap) have the FX chamois and I found it to be SUPER comfortable.

The material and contruction seem top notch (but I'm no expert).

I like the Biemme chamois and bib fit so much in fact, that my next set of bottoms will almost certaily be Biemme bibs.
Yep, have their knickers, too ...HouseMoney
Nov 18, 2003 4:14 PM
In fact, bought the knickers b4 the bib shorts. Liked 'em so much I figured I'd stray away from Assos & give the shorts a try. Purchased the Biemme bib tights, also, and wear bib shorts underneath.

BTW, just retired the Selle San Marco Aspide saddle after ~500 mi (same amount of time it took me to ditch the Selle Italia Nitrox). Giving the SI SLK a shot, now. 1st ride @ 50 mi wasn't too bad!
I love my Santini Twist Gel bibsbikeridah
Nov 18, 2003 10:26 AM
Well made, comfy "gel" chamois that doesn't shift, ~$75 online, and comes in several colors (also 2 leg lengths). Am told they are releasing a shorts-only version next year.
"Twist" is a concept I don't like associated with my shorts nmPdxMark
Nov 18, 2003 10:58 AM
I love my Santini Twist Gel bibsPMC
Nov 18, 2003 1:39 PM
The Santini Twist Gels are very comfy but I've had issues with the stitching coming undone around the edge of the chamois on two pairs. They haven't come apart yet but if they do, I'll be in trouble!! Long term durability may be questionable.
re: Need recommendationsPaulCL
Nov 18, 2003 10:30 AM
I have three different brands: (I'm 6'1" 185lbs+)

Voler Bibs: inexpensive. Comfy. great pad. great choice

L. Garneau: more expensive. tighter. But I like them more than the Voler, but not by much

Campy Technos: I think Technos. About $55. Fit like Garneau's. Comfy. Stood up to pavement surfing on Sunday

I just bought the Campy's so they only have about 500 miles in them. The Volers and Garneau's each have 1000's and have stood up well
Performance Ultravindicator
Nov 18, 2003 1:36 PM
It's a very personal thing, obviously, but out of my Volers, Biemmes, Santinis, and others, I'm liking my Performance Ultra bibs the best these days. Very comfortable for distances from 10 miles to 100 (probably more, but I haven't tried). And at 2 for $90 on sale, they're priced right.

V
re: Louis Garneau, Sugoi, RNHhudsonite
Nov 19, 2003 5:51 AM
There are lots of good shorts out there. Louis Garneau and Sugui make some very good shorts that I use on a regular basis. Look good and feel good.

But if you want something very comfortable, you might want to try to get a pair of rnh baggy cycling shorts. They do not look as cool as the others, but they are super comfortable. All day comfort.

http://www.rnhclothing.com/baggy/bottoms.htm

I found them by accident last year when I got stuck on a trip without shorts. The LBS had these and said I would like them, he was right. Most comfortable shorts for cycling I have ever used. Not the sexiest, but they keep your sitbones and your crown jewels happy and healthy.