RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bikes manufactured in China/Taiwan(11 posts)

Bikes manufactured in China/Taiwanthegarzacomplex
Nov 18, 2003 8:37 AM
Looking to get back into road ridin' and most of the bikes in my price range (around 1k) are built in China and Taiwan except trek, cannondale.

Should that be an issue for me...I fear QC is not very high, and there seems to be one facility that is building for many different companies...Giant, Raleigh, Bianchi, Specialized, etc.
Taiwan--the best bike you've ever hadContinental
Nov 18, 2003 8:54 AM
If you've haven't bought a road bike in 10 to 20 years and if you spend $1000 on a bike from Taiwan you'll get the best bike you've ever had. Same quaitly in an American built bike will probably cost $100 more. Even for $600 you can get an excellent roadbike which is good enough for everything except competitive racing. QC on new Taiwanese and American bikes are way better than the prestigious European bikes of the 80's, and Shimano compenents in this price range now are better than top of the line Campy from the 80's.
I wouldn't be concernedScot_Gore
Nov 18, 2003 8:55 AM
The asian bike manufacturers are quite capable and build to the specifications and proscribed by the ordering company be it Giant, Raleigh, Bianchi, Specialized, etc.

My first road bike was a Japanese steel bike with Suntour components that I purchased in 1974. It's not like the asians are new to this stuff.

Buy with confidence, you will generally get what you pay for, regardless of country of origin.

If you're over 35, you might want to think back on how your opinion about asian produced electronic components has changed over the years. I think you'll find that bikes have been on the same curve, it's just not a noticable.

Good luck have fun with it.

Scot
Taiwan & Chuck's BikesPMC
Nov 18, 2003 9:08 AM
This thread is timely for me as I'm kicking around the idea of ordering this

http://www.chucksbikes.com/store/indexfr055.htm

from Chuck. It's a made in Taiwan carbon/7005 alloy mix.

I have boxes full of all the parts I need for a rain bike so the frame/fork would be the only purchase.

I'm attaching a picture of another bike I can get from chuck that's not on the website... looking for opinions on that also. The only difference is the shaping of the carbon tubes. Per Chuck, it should be stiffer with the funky shaped carbon top and down tubes.
wooof!hayaku
Nov 19, 2003 6:44 AM
I want that one! how can i get it?
wooof!PMC
Nov 19, 2003 7:16 AM
I'd just give Chuck a call and ask him about it.

He has a shipment coming in in the next few weeks with a number of that particular frames in S,M&L. We only talked about the Larges which he currently has 3 of in-stock. He didn't want to list them until he had decent stock.
re: Bikes manufactured in China/TaiwanBarton
Nov 18, 2003 9:38 AM
Should not be a problem. The level of QC will be determined by the bike companies (Bianchi, Raleigh, etc.). If the bikes were not up to their specifications, they would build them elsewhere. Also, many products from the Far East are of the highest quality (e.g. Lexus and Acura) so the capability is there.
I suspect Leader frames are Far EastLone Gunman
Nov 18, 2003 5:28 PM
Anyone try one of these yet? Saw one on a ride, appeared to be a copy of an S works Specialized.
re: Bikes manufactured in China/Taiwanflybyvine
Nov 18, 2003 10:34 PM
Don't forget that Giant is a 100% Taiwanese company. You would also be ammazed at the number of brands that you thought were "western" but are also 100% Taiwanese. I ready an article (will look for it) that suggests that 95% of all of the world's bikes (or some rediculously high number) are made in eithere Taiwan or China (mainland that is).

American Classic, Oval, FSA, Kalloy, Kinesis, Pazzazz etc all made in Taiwan (some owned some under contract). I also understand that all Italian carbon frames xpt Colnago & DeRosa are being made in Taiwan (but I amy be wrong). Taiwan's ability to produce Carbon products is second to none.

BTW, Vittoria and Shimano are made in Thiland (for this market anyway).

Cheers
Here is the linkflybyvine
Nov 18, 2003 10:38 PM
http://www.slowtwitch.com/mainheadings/features/bikebiz.html
re: Not a problem to buy a made in Taiwanhudsonite
Nov 19, 2003 6:03 AM
Taiwan is a very industrialized country that is the world leader in the design and manufacturer of many high tech products. From computer chips to carbon bikes, they have the skills, education and knowledge to build high quality products.

But like any country, they are able to build cheap or high quality products. Their inexpensive stuff is just that, inexpensive and of lower quality then there best stuff.

The best idea is to buy a brand that you trust. The brand that you buy will be backing up the bike with customer service and a dealer network. This is what is important. A good quality brand will give you a meaningful warranty and will support the dealer that you buy it from. Examples of leading brands that stand behind their products are Trek, Giant, and Fuji. There are others, but these are all safe bets for the $1000 price point. Another 'value' brand that puts together really nice product is 'Opus'. The distribution is not very strong in the US, but the bikes are very high quality, they look good and the price is reasonable.