RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Suggestions for a Steel Framed Road Bike(18 posts)

Suggestions for a Steel Framed Road Bikebayou06
Nov 18, 2003 4:02 AM
I've made up my mind to buy a used steel frame bike for overall road racing. I am leaning to steel because I don't want to make the investment in Ti or Carbon now. I have a aluminum C'Dale Tri Bike that is fast but very stiff. This is fine for Tri's and TT, but I want something a little more compliant for road racing. With SO many makers/builders, I am looking for suggestions. I am looking to spend $500 -$800. TIA.
there can be only onehayaku
Nov 18, 2003 5:22 AM
spend the extra for this! Beeeeaaauuutifullllll!

the 2003 model was sweet too, you should be able to get a good deal on that from somewhere.
You've been watching Highlander again ;). Nice looking bike -NMJL
Nov 18, 2003 6:39 AM
Second the Cervelo - smooth like buttah!!! nmBowWow
Nov 18, 2003 8:30 PM
re: look at Burleybill105
Nov 18, 2003 5:46 AM
Burley makes several road frames. The Wolf Creek, the MacKenzie and another I think. Also, I think Ritchey is stoppoing production of their steel road frames so you may get a good deal on those. You can get a new Burley for less than $800.
Yep!Chicago_Steve
Nov 18, 2003 6:14 AM
Checked out a Burley several weeks ago at a local shop and came away pretty impressed... Also check out this email exchange I had with them... Funny stuff!

Dear Burley Tech Support,

I have a Burley Bravo and am looking at getting a new frame in the spring. With the newer carbon frames and carbon chainstays are their any issues with the trailers stressing the seatstay/chainstay? Any feedback would be appreciated...

Regards,
Steve H...

Hey Steve,

Get real, get steel!
Just kidding, snuged down properly you should have no problem with scaring the stays of your new bike. I know some who put black electrical tape at the points of contact.

By the way, if you are looking for a new road bike check out Burley's line of OX Platinum bikes. We offer 105, Ultegra & Dura-Ace packages from $1500. to $3500. all USA made right here in Eugene, your choice of the colors in our line. Now that's a deal.

for the Cooperative,
Steve
are they built by Kinesis? nmgtx
Nov 18, 2003 7:30 AM
I don't think so...Chicago_Steve
Nov 18, 2003 7:47 AM
Good question...

I know Kinesis is more known for their work with aluminum (Santa Cruz, Mountain Cycles, Ellsworth, etc...). A quick scan of the Burley website yields little information BUT after checking their job page I found the following.

Burley is accepting applications and resumes for for potential seasonal positions. Currently there are no positions open at this time however, we are building an applicant pool for future potential openings. Seasonal positions are generally full-time with no guaranteed duration. The following is a general list of positions which may be opened soon:

Industrial, design and mechanical engineers in our Research and Development Team

Assemblers, parts fabrication workers and highly-skilled T.I.G.-welders in our Bike Shop Production Team

Assemblers, Machine Operators and Parts Fabrication Workers in our Trailer Frame Shop Team

Sewing machine and bar-tacker/pattern-tacker operators and Quality-Control (product inspection and packaging) Operators in our Sewing Team


The two frames I have inspected had good welds and were feather light for steel.
I don't think so...gtx
Nov 18, 2003 7:58 AM
I'd heard that Kinesis also did steel for some companies, but I don't know who. Maybe Burly is thinking of bringing the frames in house but from the ad copy, which seems to use the word "design" a lot, it sounds like they are currently outsourced.
Hmmm... You might be right!Chicago_Steve
Nov 18, 2003 8:54 AM
http://www.kinesis.com.tw/branch.htm

They show CroMo Steel frame production in their US facility in Portland. What's interesting is the production Qty that they show for each facility... Only 1K frames/month for their US plant.

Either way, Kinesis makes some pretty nice stuff. I've got a Superlight mountain bike and the welds are pretty nice!
I thought...gtx
Nov 18, 2003 9:08 AM
that the SC bikes were built by Anodizing, Inc. (also in the Portland area, and which maybe related to Kinesis in some way, not sure)

Anyway, I'm pretty interested in this growing Portland bike industry. Pretty cool if there were more affordable, vaguely production-like steel frames being made stateside.
There's a lot of speculation....Chicago_Steve
Nov 18, 2003 10:02 AM
There's a lot of speculation on where the SC bikes come from!

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.ef836c5

Mountain Bike Action had an article earlier this year that linked SC to Kinesis. Anodizing, Inc. (new name SAPA) seems to do a lot of frames too. I've always heard their name more associated with extruded/monoque construction (ie- Ellsworth Isis/Joker, Marin Mt. Vision/Wolf Ridge, etc.)... It seems as no one wants to own up to who actually subcontracts their frames...
NoSkooter
Nov 18, 2003 9:43 AM
I live in Eugene and Burley makes thier own bikes. I have a few friends who ride them and think they are great.
500-800 on frame or bike? nmcyclopathic
Nov 18, 2003 8:00 AM
quite a few optionsweatherx
Nov 18, 2003 9:05 AM
surly pacer--less than 400 bucks @ yer LBS
khs flite 800 (853)--590 bucks @ getawaybikes.com
tommaso 853 frame--400 bucks @ getawaybikes.com
soma smoothie (631)--somewhere around 430 bucks, cambriabike.com
kogswell geared--340 bucks. kogswell.com
re: Suggestions for a Steel Framed Road BikeMShaw
Nov 18, 2003 9:34 AM
Buy used.

Look for the bikes that fit your general build, and go for it! You can get a top of the line steel frame slightly used in your price range.

Landshark
Tom Teesdale
Strong
Steelman
Indy Fab
Soulcraft
Vanilla
Hollands
Sycip

There are more, but as long as you're getting an 853 frame, its hard to go wrong.

Mike
re: Suggestions for a Steel Framed Road BikeingLatour
Nov 18, 2003 10:21 AM
If you're interest, I have a really nice Marinoni, handmade for sale. The bike is in excellent condition and i'm asking 760 US$ shipping included in USA and Canada

Made of Columbus SLX tubing, this bike is in very good condition and has always been meticulously maintained.

Here's the spec:

Handmade steel Lugged frame made of Columbus SLX:

59cm (seat tube) X 57.5 cm (top tube).

Gruppo: Campagnolo Athena Ergopower 8 speeds.

Crank: 175mm, 39-53,

cassette: 12-23.

Stem: 3T Stratus 110 mm.

Bar: 3T Start 46cm (outside measure; =44 c-c)

Pedal: Look PP-296.

Saddle: Specialized S-Work BG (also available Selle Italia Turbomatic 2).

Wheels: FIR EA-60 36 spokes.

Tires: Véloflex Pavé

Bottle cages: Elite Ciussi aluminium.

The frame has been repainted at Marinoni factory in 2002

This bike is in an overall really good condition an has a really nice, racy and classy look.

If you want pictures email-me; ingLatour@hotmail.com
re: Suggestions for a Steel Framed Road Bikebayou06
Nov 19, 2003 4:22 AM
I appreciate all the good feed back. Now that I have some decent frame maker names, I start the search for a good used steel frame to build. Again, thanks all.