RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Best Cycling Magazine ?(9 posts)

Best Cycling Magazine ?scopestuff2
Nov 16, 2003 12:57 PM
I'm a recreational rider, consistently riding since July this year. I'm training through the winter both on the road and with a computrainer. My goal is a sprint Tri in early spring followed by a Century ride. Then .... not sure what .... perhaps continue with Tri's, road races, certainly long club rides, etc. I'm 47 years old so my riding is just for fun and fitness. No unrealistic expectations.

All that said, if I were to subscribe to just one magazine - what would you recommend ? I like hard core stuff and details. Got a few copies of 'Bicycling' and felt like I got zero information from it.

Thank you in advance !
... given what you've desrcibed...Akirasho
Nov 16, 2003 1:07 PM
VeloNews is probably your best bet.

But, you might also wanna consider one of the Tri mags on the market as well (Triathlon and Inside Triathlon to name a couple).

Might also wanna try Asphalt for those times when you want to take the road less travelled...

There are other good mags out there, but they may not mesh as well with your portfolio...

Cycling Plus
Cycle Sport
ProCycling


Be the bike.
Love Asphalt Mag. Too bad it's only quarterly.JL
Nov 17, 2003 11:18 AM
Thank you for the heads up on that one when you replied in a similar post a few months back. Nice magazine.

Happy riding.

John
VeloNews..................Mike Tea
Nov 16, 2003 1:18 PM
......is the best magazine for me. Oh sure it's mostly a "newspaper" with many race reports but that's just ok with me.

They also have lots of training and equipment type articles - this month's is about stretching and strengthening. I'm a 27 year subscriber.

Try also their web-based magazine too - lots of training stuff there also.

Many of the other mags like Bicycling are just junk and fluff. I've had 'em all.
re: Best Cycling Magazine ?stratslingr77
Nov 16, 2003 3:35 PM
Without a doubt, my favorite cycling mag is Cyclesport. They consistently have great articles and a lot of information.
re: Best Cycling Magazine ?lyleseven
Nov 16, 2003 3:46 PM
I subscribe to about 5 cycling magazines and the one that I enjoy the most is Cycling +(Plus) out of UK. It has objective product reviews and plenty of good articles. Second place is CycleSport. Bicycling used to be a better magazine but is contaminated with reviews stating that every product is good or great instead of being candid.
For rec, racing, gear and training, Cycling + is hard to beat nmDave Hickey
Nov 16, 2003 4:40 PM
For rec, racing, gear and training, Cycling + is hard to beat nmhawker12
Nov 16, 2003 7:48 PM
Don't forget the brand new road magzine, "ROAD: The journal of road cycling and culture" The first issue is on the stands now. It's got strengths and weaknesses but worth keeping an eye on. In the old days (80s and early 90s) Bicycle Guide and Road Bike Action were the best.
Steve
More info neededLive Steam
Nov 16, 2003 8:01 PM
It really depends upon what you want to read about. If it is the Pro Peleton then Procycling is my first choice closely followed by Cycle Sport. Both are very informative about the pro road racing scene. Velo News will mix in a lot more - everything from MTB to women's racing to BMX, I think. That isn't what I prefer to read. Besides PC and CS have much better access to the pros and insiders on the circuit. As you said, Bicycling leaves a lot to be desired, but I still get it. It is the only recreational cycling magazine that I know of and there is always some ideas that I embellish on for our club newsletter that I edit. I get that and Cycle Sport through subscription and pick up Procycling at Barnes & Noble. It gives me an excuse to get out once in a while :O)