RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


abici or argon 18(10 posts)

abici or argon 18capdog
Nov 16, 2003 8:04 AM
hey-i`m in the market for a new rig for the coming year.
anyone out there have anything to say about these frames??
i`m upgrading from steel to these "state of the art" combo materialed frames.....Or am I?
re: abici or argon 18lyleseven
Nov 16, 2003 11:20 AM
There was an extensive review within the last two months in either Cycling Plus or Cycle Sport on the Argon. As I recall, the review said it was "good", but implied it wasn't outstanding. You can now get Steel/CF frames if you are considering upgrading. Best of both worlds IMHO, as opposed to Alum/CF. Good luck!
re: Argon makes some nice bikeshudsonite
Nov 16, 2003 12:17 PM
Argon 18 makes some nice bikes. They look good and owners are happy with them.

I do not have any experience with abici.
Yep I just got..................Mike Tea
Nov 16, 2003 1:39 PM
......an Argon18 Platinum within the past two weeks. It's a nice bike - very rigid while out of the saddle but supple over broken road surfaces.

Argon market quite a few models to suit various budgets from full high end CF (like mine) to a lower grade full CF to aluminum with CF stays plus a full alum frame.

They are the house-brand of Cycles Gervais Rioux in Montreal.

I visually compared it to a CF Marinoni Vectra and the Argon won hands-down. Mine is a 2003 model and the red color doesn't exsist for 2004. The new ones are on their site.

I know nothing of the Abici.
That's pretty it just needs some ...Live Steam
Nov 16, 2003 4:12 PM
Campy :O) Enjoy the many miles!
I could have..............Mike Tea
Nov 16, 2003 5:34 PM
......had any groupset on it and I went into the store thinking "Chorus" (Record was just too out there). The bike was sitting there with 2003 DuraAce on it and I got a deal as it sat. The rest, they say, is history.
Understandable :O)Live Steam
Nov 16, 2003 7:47 PM
Hey it's a nice rig either way.
Yep I just got..................capdog
Nov 17, 2003 6:02 PM
Hey-nice looking rig!
So what kind of steal/deal did you get?
Email if you`d rather not post that info.

I live in the Boston area and these bikes are not sold in Mass.
Swiss made BMC bikes may be coming to the U.S. soon-they are something I`m looking at too.Its the Team Phonak race bike.
Thanx for the info all!
LV
Argon 18bikefreax
Nov 17, 2003 5:36 AM
I agree with Mike Tea. I have had an Argon 18 Platinum for a few weeks and the ride is very smooth over rought terrain but just screams up a hill or when you want it to. Step on the pedal and it goes. Have not had any long rides yet due to work and weather but hope to soon. I live in Missouri and the weather is not that great
Argon 18Mike Tea
Nov 17, 2003 11:01 AM
"I live in Missouri and the weather is not that great"

Whattttt? Isn't that "down south"? I'm up here in Canada and the pic below shows the storm that blew through here less than a week ago. That's outta my front door.

I've had my bike two weeks and have done at least a half dozen good rides on it. I just got back from a quick 25mls this morning. It rides like buttah!

Get out there man!